HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP Pavilion g7-2220us Notebook PC

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Pavilion g7-2220us Notebook PC

HP Pavilion g7-2220us Notebook PC
Overall rating:
3.273 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
3
7 out of 11(64%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Pavilion g7-2220us Notebook PC
Review 1 for HP Pavilion g7-2220us Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product-terrible touch pad

PostedMay 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Cortland, NY
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This laptop is a great size for a variety of uses. Initially I thought it was Windows 8 that was the problem however it is clearly the touch pad. The touch pad is terrible. It is extremely sensitive. I have chosen to use the desktop often because of the high sensitivity of the touch pad. I plugged in a wireless mouse and now fine the laptop to function better. I would recommend it IF you also get a wireless mouse.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Pavilion g7-2220us Notebook PC
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

numerous restarts

PostedJanuary 3, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I chose the HP Pavillion g7-22220 because my Slimline Desktop has been such a great piece of equipment. I can't say if its the new OS, Windows 8 or the machine, but this machine has had to restart on numerous occasions. Also none of my libraries are working.
very disappointed so far.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Pavilion g7-2220us Notebook PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Having some issues.

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I just received my computer over the weekend. I previously had a Dell which I was VERY unhappy with. So far with this HP, some of the buttons do not seem to work such as the button to turn the computer on/off and the button which opens up to insert my disk. I have to keep pushing the buttons several times. Also my fan comes on and causes my computer to freeze. The setup instructions are not clear at all. The way the picture is taken and the diagrams are drawn, I cannot tell which buttons the diagram are pointing to.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Pavilion g7-2220us Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

works great. much better than the old PC we had

PostedFebruary 4, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
works great. much better than the old PC we had. Speed, visuals and mobility makes this the best PC the family ever used.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Pavilion g7-2220us Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pretty Good Laptop

PostedDecember 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Port Washington, NY
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Well, i have to say, this isn't a bad product. Had this for about a week, and no major problems. Its got very fast startup, textured touchpad, nice speakers. Battery life isn't as great as you would think. Bout two hours on "High Performance." All i don't like is the finish, its a silverish black, leaves alot of visible fingerprints. But otherwise, good laptop for the money. And if you want to do some small scale gaming on it with steam, i think i wouldn't want to run anything with higher requirements than Deus Ex.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Pavilion g7-2220us Notebook PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

not too sure about Windows8

PostedNovember 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Defiance OH
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Its been a week and I'm not too sure about windows 8. so far, its slower and requires more mouse clicks than 7 did for the same functions (logging off, restarting, etc..) Maybe if I had a touch screen. The mail app doesn't (or at least hasn't) synced with my address book so I can't send new emails if I don't remember the address. I do like the live feeds on the apps, but I'm pretty certain the constant draw on my already marginal wifi just slows me down more.
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Pavilion g7-2220us Notebook PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Initially ok, now DOA

PostedMay 3, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Chicago, IL
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Functioned good out of the box. DOA after 5 days.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Pavilion g7-2220us Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great plus product and overall customer service.

PostedMay 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Spencer, Mass.
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
From order, delivery, and initial power-up, all went well. My fun began using Windows 8 for the first time, after using XP for 10 yrs. Fun meaning a real challenge.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Pavilion g7-2220us Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Laptop Deal

PostedJanuary 28, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Dallas NC
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I would recommend to others. Great deal & features.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Pavilion g7-2220us Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very pleased

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Ala.
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my first notebook and it works very well for what I use it for. I've had to work a few things out but nothing major. I've got a desktop with windows 7 and I'm so glad I went with windows 8 it took a couple of days to play around and figure things out but overall I really do like 8
Also this is my 1st HP PC ...so far very pleased
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Pavilion g7-2220us Notebook PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not worth it.

PostedDecember 24, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:MN
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought this computer to surf the net, check emails and make webcam videos. The webcam has a delayed 3-5 second video caputure issue that literally had me waiting after each word I spoke for it to "catch up". Also, Youtube videos were not as quick to launch as I thought they should be and once they did launch the computer would at times freeze during the video. And after one day of use, the computer started experiencing Micrsoft issues and literallty shutting down every couple of hours. I'm not sure if that was a Windows 8 issue or this computer in particular. Either way, I was not satisfied with the performance so therefore returned this machine. My company usings HP computers and they normally work pretty well and so I'm going to spend a little more money for a more advanced HP model and I hope like heck that this one works as expected. One plus about this computer was the 10-key. If you're like me and you work with #'s alot, then a 10-key keyboard is an absolute bonus with any laptop. Other than that, I can't think of anything else that would be favorable about this machine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.