HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP Pavilion dv7-7012nr Entertainment Notebook PC

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Pavilion dv7-7012nr Entertainment Notebook PC

HP Pavilion dv7-7012nr Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating:
4.541 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(37 reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 37 reviews
5 Stars
29
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
33 out of 37(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Pavilion dv7-7012nr Entertainment Notebook PC
Review 1 for HP Pavilion dv7-7012nr Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Lap Top

PostedOctober 24, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Jacksonville, Florida
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The back lit key board is worth it alone. This thing has all power you’ll ever need for most any tasks including Auto Cad.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Pavilion dv7-7012nr Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedNovember 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Commerce, GA
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had my HP Pavilion dv7-7012 laptop for about a week and I love it. I love the style of it and love that the keyboard is backlit. It doesn't say that in the add but it is. I swore I would never have a laptop but broke down and bought one and I am very pleased with this one. You can't add memory to it but I will never have to anyways. It is big enough for my use. So far a very nice product. I love how it doesn't get hot. All I can say is that you won't go wrong with this laptop.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Pavilion dv7-7012nr Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best laptop I've ever used.

PostedNovember 3, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Pennsylvania
Gender:Female
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am a college student that needs to use demanding software such as AutoCad, and this laptop runs all of my programs smoothly. The high-end CPU combined with extra RAM allows me to create more complicated models without performance lag.
Not only that, I am able to run Skyrim on ultra-high settings. I have also watched a few blu-ray movies and the high resolution screen makes movies look amazing. The audio is also far better than anything I've heard on a laptop.
All in all, I love my new laptop and I would highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Pavilion dv7-7012nr Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Pavilion dv7

PostedNovember 2, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Petersburg IL
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
On my second laptop, the second one is better then the first one they sent me but this one is still dodo. Won stay connected to the internet wifi or wired.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Pavilion dv7-7012nr Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fast, Beautiful Screen, and loud

PostedOctober 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Tennessee
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
When the only thing I can complain about is fingerprints. It is a winner. This laptop is fast and handles tasks with ease. As other reviewers have said the beats audio is good on the external speakers but better with headphones. This is the first laptop I have had that my wife complains that I need to turn it down. The. HD screen is gorgeous. You won't be disappointed
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Pavilion dv7-7012nr Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Laptop is terrific

PostedOctober 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Durham, NC
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Been using the laptop about 3 weeks. I do accounting & tax preparation so I may have 3-4 large programs plus the internet open at any time and I don't notice any delay in processing or jumping between programs. Video is crisp, clear and easy on the eyes; Beats audio is amazing. The laptop is heavy but I don't go portable that often and battery life is roughly 5-6 hours with heavy use. Overall for the price and features, this is a beast that will last awhile - totally happy with this laptop.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Pavilion dv7-7012nr Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

MOSTLY A BALANCED SET OF FEATURES

PostedOctober 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Andover, MA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased this computer to improve the performance of Adobe Lightroom 4.2 and to increase the size of my hard drive. It is also important to me to have some room for expansion in the future so that I am not purchasing a new machine more often.
The dv7-7012nr is well balanced in most of it's components and features. The Windows experience numbers are all near identical except for the hard drive. That can be fixed by adding a solid state hard drive, which I plan to do in a few years. These numbers do not include the nVidia geforce 650m video card, which in itself is quite amazing.
Battery life is very impressive if you are not playing 3D games.
Overall this is a very capable machine that will satisfy my needs for many years to come.
There are some annoying aspects to the machine that should not be overlooked.
First, the finger print reader software software is setup to be your one stop place for passwords. Given a recent article about the password security of that software (from a 3rd party vendor) I uninstalled it and now the light flashes upon turn on for a while. This is a problem for most of the windows machines that have finger print readers.
Second, the 80211n adapter is underpowered compared to the other components of the machine. It is rated at 72Mbs. This low speed will not allow me to access the internet at 33Mbs that my carrier provides unless I connect via a cable. A card with 144Mbs will apparently work with the machine and still provide the USB ports. That should have been the card in this machine. Frankly, It would be more appropriate to provide an even faster card since cable providers will continue to increase network available speed and cloud backups will become more widely used. I currently have to plug in to the network when doing backup to our NAS.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Pavilion dv7-7012nr Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Packs a punch

PostedOctober 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I focused on this laptop because of the blu-ray player - we've got so many blu-ray disks now, that was something I really wanted built-in and not something I'd plug into a USB port. Anyway, with the i7 processor and 8GB of RAM, I can have MS Visual Studio compiling, World of Warcraft battling and a DVD playing and none of them miss a beat. Another plus is that there weren't so many extra applications installed that I needed to spend the first few days uninstalling anything. This is a really sweet laptop, especially for the clearance price!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Pavilion dv7-7012nr Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product and fast delivery

PostedOctober 18, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:OH
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ordered this HP laptop and it arrived within a couple of days! Very pleased with it so far as it has lots of "bells and whistles."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Pavilion dv7-7012nr Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Laptop deal!

PostedOctober 18, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Valencia, Ca
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been a computer user for 25 years, and I must say that this is the best laptop for the price anywhere. This laptop runs flawlessly and super fast. Everyone who says its a slow boot time has no patients. My boot time the longest is only 45 sec. Screen is awesome, GPU is so nice. I can play all the latest games with no issues, full graphics and audio with no problems.Beats audio is a plus for the best sound Ive heard from a laptop. I highly recommend this product from HP..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Pavilion dv7-7012nr Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent features in a great package.

PostedOctober 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Blackfoot, Idaho
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I looked at all of the major latop manufacturers for many months before deciding on this HP. The features available in this package along with the warranty were the major selling points. The value for this computer is excellent. I love being able to run multiple monitors from the laptop. It makes multi-tasking extremely quick. I have not had any issues with this laptop. It set up right out of the box in only a few minutes. I bought this mainly as a desktop replacement, but the weight is still light enough that it isn't too heavy to take along when I travel. This laptop boots up and shuts down in a fraction of the time other laptops take. Overall I am extremely pleased in the value of this laptop.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Pavilion dv7-7012nr Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Real slow boot time...sluggish performance.

PostedOctober 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:San Leandro, ca
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I just purchased this laptop and the boot Time is 4 minutes! Then after it finally opens windows 7 it runs so slow. I am ready to format the hard drive and do a complete re- install. There is something buggy wrong itch either the software or hardware.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Pavilion dv7-7012nr Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Multi-Purpose Computer

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Kingsville,MD.
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I will start off by saying I am an average computer user. This computer is outstanding for general use. The screen gives you a clear.crisp picture for editing photos or watching videos and movies.The screen size is perfect for working on digital scrapbooking (I had a 14.3" screen HP laptop). The Beats audio has a great sound and the speaker is the entire length of the computer. The backlit keyboard is a must have feature for those places without adequate lighting. I like the feel of the keyboard keys, I read some reviews that people didn't like them but I have not had a problem. I didn't think I would use the simple pass feature, boy I was wrong! This feature is great for signing into accounts and not having to try to remember which password to use or having to type your information in each time. The computer is very easy to pair up with all your wireless connections (internet router, printer, mouse etc.). The computer runs fast for internet use, I don't do gaming so I cannot tell you its performance there. Webcam is good for video chats. This computer has great performance packed in it for its price. This is my second HP laptop and HP contiues to give you the best computer at the best price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Pavilion dv7-7012nr Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I AM TOTALLY IN LOVE WITH THIS LAPTOP!!

PostedSeptember 11, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Louisiana
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just upgraded from a very old (2006) hp dv5000, which was great at the time, but I'm back in school and I needed something new, faster with lots more space and memory. This laptop exceeds everything I imagined. I have been researching laptops for months and I finally decided on this one. I bought it elsewhere, so I wasn't able to customize it, but the only thing that it was missing that I wanted was the backlit keyboard and after using it for a week, I'm fine without it. I got the 1TB hardrive and I'm so happy with that. The screen and color are amazing! I'm a big music and movie buff, so Beats Audio is off the chain!!! I love the 10-key numeric paid on the right side and the keyboard itself is very comfortable to use. The entire laptop is very sturdy, very well put together and there's nothing flimsy about it. When I buy electronics, I buy the best, especially if I'm going to spend a large amount of money. I can't say enough good things about it...I just love it !!!!! I've been an HP customer for years (love the HP printers too!) and I will continue to be one for years to come!! Thanks HP for making a fabulous laptop!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Pavilion dv7-7012nr Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Geate product

PostedSeptember 8, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Kent, WA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance of the all functions is prompt and accurate. Under 50 sec its ready to go after ON button pressed. This is with 750 Gb HDD. Next week I'll replace it with SSD Intel 520 series 180Gb and will get even better.Kent, WA
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Pavilion dv7-7012nr Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best I have Had

PostedAugust 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love Everything about it!!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Pavilion dv7-7012nr Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fast, Sharp, Stylish

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Central Virginia
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was my first computer purchase that was not a Dell. I must say, what took me so long! This laptop is fast to start up, fast internet browsing, stylish, and has a lot of nice features. HP has a really great help and tips section. You don't have to be a techy to understand it! I'm very impressed with my HP.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Pavilion dv7-7012nr Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Most fascinating laptop in the world

PostedAugust 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Arecibo, Puerto Rico
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
No regrets on buying this laptops. Killer features that are out of this world. It fits all my needs. The sound is superb, PERFECT! to say the least. Marvelous screen. It boots at an amazing speed. Anxious to test out the graphics card in engineering. An is quite light in weight so is easy to carry around, on hand or backpack. Only thing to worry about this laptop is when you put it on a table and when you pick it up, gotta be extra careful. Do not wanna waste some $1k+ through out the window. And the fingerprint reader works to perfection. Playing music made me act like a DJ and match some tunes and beats together. Overall AWESOME LAPTOP for AWESOME PRICE!!!!. Totally recommend it, and don,t worry about the touchpad you'll get used to it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Pavilion dv7-7012nr Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great computer

PostedJuly 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Arizona
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
many excellent features on avery fast computer
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Pavilion dv7-7012nr Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

High Performance for sure !

PostedJuly 16, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Portland , OR.
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have saved and researched laptops for years now , not wanting to be dissapointed.
I am Very happy with my choice . It is Lightening fast and I Love the HD screen. I feel like I have
a superior Laptop to anyone I know, It feels Very sturdy , which is important to me . I will use it as a Desk Top that I can carry around the house. I dont have a lot of experience with a touchPad but I am surprised at how well it works. I was affraid of the finger print reader , fearing I would lock myself out of the computer . But I just Love that thing. I had the impression that Laptops were getting really Cheap and Flimsy. This thing is Solid and I am Very happy.
Ive had it about 2 months now .
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.