HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for compaq Compaq Presario CQ5320F Desktop PC

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

compaq Compaq Presario CQ5320F Desktop PC

Style and quality at an affordable price Genuine Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit AMD Athlon II X2 240 Dual-Core Processor (2.8GHz) 3GB PC3 10600 DDR3 SDRAM 500GB hard drive SuperMulti DVD burner with LightScribe
Overall rating:
4.333 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
8 out of 9(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Compaq Presario CQ5320F Desktop PC
Review 1 for Compaq Presario CQ5320F Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better Than I Expected

PostedApril 20, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:Under 25
I purchased this tower to replace an 11 year old home-build that had a 1.6 Ghz intel processor, 8 gig Hd and 512 mb ram that was temporarily replacing my wife's dead HP laptop. Believe me, they tried to sell me computers that were 100s of dollars more than this one, but this one fits the bill. I'm not a gamer, so that wasn't a concern for me. It does surfing, videos and everything else I would ever want to do with a computer. It works great and I have no complaints. It took a little while getting used to the simpler Windows 7, but I like it a lot now. The only thing I wish it had are SD card slots and another USB port in the front.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Compaq Presario CQ5320F Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Bang For the Buck!

PostedApril 19, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
I just bought this computer yesterday and was very pleasantly surprised. I am used to buying parts and building my own desktop PCs, but when I looked at the price of parts vs the Compaq, it wasn't even close.
There are only 3Gb of RAM, but it is DDR3 and you can always upgrade to 4Gb later. The CPU is only a 2.8 but it is dual core 64 bit. It runs in the 40% range with a few programs open, but never locks up a program.
I wouldn't use this computer for gaming, but for an everyday home computer (500Gb HDD for photos, music, etc.), this is more than competent and a great buy for the price!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Compaq Presario CQ5320F Desktop PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Low-end Box

PostedMarch 6, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
I bought this machine for my wife who Facebook's, e-mails, etc., a bit of Office '07 too. It is a great machine for the money. Responsive and dependable. The only options I'm going to add are a reasonable (read: cheap) video card and max the RAM to 4GB.
Very happy with the machine!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Compaq Presario CQ5320F Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful

PostedMarch 5, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:40-54
I purchased this product in February of this year with a 20" screen and we are very happy. This is my second Compaq and I love it. It is fast and the pictures are clear. I love the fact that I now have internet TV. The kids love it. I have to asked to use my own computer. I would recommend this desktop.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Compaq Presario CQ5320F Desktop PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Hardware OK...OS crippled

PostedMay 3, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
The OS comes with more bloatware than I imagined ever could happen. Each time you boot the machine, you are greeted with more "pay for this offers"...even if you're not connected to the internet. These massively get in the way of productivity. As yet, I have not figured out how to turn off all the nag screens. Because of the bloatware, many extra OS resources are taken up.
Also, as an inexpensive machine, it is very disappointing that it does not have legacy ports. Most people buying a cheap machine will want to continue using their existing peripherals, like a parallel-port laser printer.
So, you will add cost - you'll have to buy a new printer, or a USB to paralllel adapter, and you'll need to spend about $120 for a fresh clean copy of Windows 7 Home Premium x64, just to get rid of the bloatware.
Otherwise, the hardware is just fine. You can't do gaming with it, but at this price, you would not expect to.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Compaq Presario CQ5320F Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A GREAT basic machine for small business and home

PostedFebruary 25, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
What a terrific machine! A very biased reviewer at PC Magazine needed to be corrected by me. "No, Mr Evans, you shouldn't compare this Presario to a Netbook!" Having said that, I find the unit ideal for personal use and for small business. Contrary to the reviewer who feels it can only be used for web surfing, email and word processing, this Presario is faster and more responsive than my Slimline s5150t with an Intel chip of the same speed. Yes, the graphics could do better, and the power supply may need upgrading if you replace it, but, all in all, it is a GREAT basic computer that has no frills and needs none!
As I wrote at PC Mag.:"Let me say that some of us actually use computers to do WORK, rather than play games, watch TV and videos or surf the net!
The Persario CQ5320F serves a small business rather well at a very inexpensive cost. No, we don't need card readers or HDMI ports to do business tasks, desktop publishing, Photoshop editing, audio production or the sundry other tasks any office and workshop does everyday. The machine is very fast and responsive amd for anyone who likes QUITE over the mashing roar of video games, THIS MACHINE IS PRACTICALLY SILENT. What a rarity!!!!
If you need an inexpensive computer (like this one) that equals or surpasses one at $600-800, look elsewhere. But, for the price, you won't find a better basic machine than this one.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Compaq Presario CQ5320F Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I agree: good price + value

PostedJuly 9, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Chicago
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
While I don't play games on my computer, I needed to replace my 9-year-old Dell (Windows XP). It was time. Was sluggish >>I use my computer for documents (work & personal). Some music downloads. Tons of Web surfing. Burning music. Some pictures & editing >In upgrading I was looking at having all the bells & whistles, Windows 7, DVD burner, better memory, bigger hard drive. Basic stuff. But at a reasonable price.
I contemplated a new computer for about 6 months. Went to Best Buy to physically look at options. Read Consumers Report reviews. Did my homework. >>Zeroed in on this model. Called Compaq and Dell. The Compaq (HP-owned) folks were so much more helpful and friendly. Bought over the phone. Got the Office software package and an 18" flat screen monitor with built-in speakers.
Bottomline: I'm TOTALLY happy with the purchase! Fast. Easy-to-use. Very ergonomic. Separately, I bought a wallet-sized, portable external backup hard drive (320 GB). Love that too. Works good for between home and work.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Compaq Presario CQ5320F Desktop PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Average Computer

PostedJuly 6, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Glendora CA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fair to say for the price it is average computer. Have had machine for 3 months and have had "blue screen" crash and had to reinstall using the build in recovery. Reason never found, have Norton 360 installed but did not help. No problems since this crash. DVD tray does require using a slight push on tray but no problem. Software offers as noted by another reviewer can be turned off. Do like the Windows 7 OS. Reasonable machine for every day computing(internet surfing, has MS Works for communication needs and fairly fast response time). As my computer needs have slowed down as my age increased, this computer serves my basic needs. After buying some photo editing software I am satisfied with product(as long as no more crashes).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Compaq Presario CQ5320F Desktop PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Design Flaw

PostedMay 27, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New York, NY
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:25-39
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased this exact same model at STAPLES for $300 one month ago.
Well, so far so good. A week after I bought it. A DVD got stuck in drive. I called tech support. They were very nice and patient. A young sounding girl was my tech person. She made me open the PC and take out the DVD Drive. I had NEVER opened a PC before. It still did not eject and she gave me totally unenessecary advice. I found out after I got off the phone wih support that all I had to do was stick a pin in a tiny hole located on the face of the drive. Then the disk ejected. The PC is built in such a way that is is very difficult to press the eject button once the dirve opens.The best way is to close the dirve manually, by pushing the drive door closed by hand. That seems to be a big design flaw. The support /diagnostic features on this PC which are exclusive to HP are great. Unlike the DELL which doesn't have this feature. All my older software works fine on WIn 7. For $300 I haven't seen anything come close to this computer. I really enjoy this and thank HP for putting out such a fine product at an affordable price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.