HP Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for hp HP SimpleSave 500GB Portable Hard Drive

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP SimpleSave 500GB Portable Hard Drive

Automatic, hands-free backup in 4.92 x 3.15 x 0.63" enclosure
Overall rating:
2.929 / 5
2.9
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 14 reviews
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
5
7 out of 14(50%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP SimpleSave 500GB Portable Hard Drive
Review 1 for HP SimpleSave 500GB Portable Hard Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product for general use

PostedFebruary 3, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:Under 25
I received this as a gift just after I bought a desktop to replace my old laptop. I needed a portable hard drive to transfer all my files (mostly music and some documents from school) from my laptop to my new desktop. It works great! I have since backed up other family members computers, and routinely back up my desktop, my mother's desktop, and my sister's laptop, and still have plenty of space left over! It is very simple; just plug into a USB port and it pops up asking to backup your computer (which you can choose which files you want to back up), or choose to view already backed up files from it so you can easily transfer between computers. Also, everything that's backed up is nicely organized by computer then folders to files, which makes transferring exactly what you need easy. I love this hard drive because it is so simple!
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP SimpleSave 500GB Portable Hard Drive
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Won't Work

PostedNovember 30, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I don't know if it is the product or something that it doesn't like on my computer but I cannot get this to work. I plug it in and it does nothing. I click on the simplesave icon and I get a flash of the beginning screen and then it disappears so I have no way of knowing what, if anything, is being backed up. I would love to throw it in the trash but it's paid for and not returnable I'm sure now that I opened it. Has anyone else had this problem?? I'd love help from anywhere.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP SimpleSave 500GB Portable Hard Drive
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good but there is better

PostedNovember 4, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Brighton, MI
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
i bought this product about a month ago to keep my games and school work all in one place and take the stress off my laptop and it works but there was this annoying program that i had to do away with as well as when i play more expansive games such as wow or fallout it tends to lag now and then. Overall i like it and it is really handy to have never leave home without it but if u want to play games u will need to buy a usb 3 cord
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP SimpleSave 500GB Portable Hard Drive
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This is a disposable product!!! don't buy it.

PostedSeptember 19, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I payed more than the average price for this HP product expecting a robust solution for backup my files.
It worked fine but only once, second time (just 3 months after purchase) it just crashed and was imposible to recover!!! my laptop can't explore it, check it or format it.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP SimpleSave 500GB Portable Hard Drive
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

JUST DIED

PostedAugust 30, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
THIS HARD DRIVE DIED AFTER A YEAR. I LOST EVERYTHING. SEEMS LIKE I NEEDED A DIFFERENT HARD DRIVE TO BACK THIS ONE UP.
IT WAS GREAT WHEN IT WORKED. VERY CONVENIENT. I PLUG IT IN AND IT BACKS EVERYTHING UP AUTOMATIC.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP SimpleSave 500GB Portable Hard Drive
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

SIMPLESAVE 500 GB

PostedJuly 19, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Philadelphia, Pa.
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This product works very well for multiple backup needs with hardly any fuss or worry. I got this product to store dvd digital copy movies so I can view them on my HP Mini 110. (Mini 110 doesn't have a dvd drive) So the plan was to have my movie library on my Simplesave. Movies went onto my regular pc, uploaded and played with no problem from my Simplesave hard drive. The problem started when I couldn't play any of the movies from my Simplesave through my Mini 110. Windows Media Player 11 wouldn't play it because of a protection issue. Mind you it played well on my regular pc.My point being, if you have issues with the Simplsave hard drive chances are it's due to software issues from a product and/or file that you're trying to save.Not Simplesave. There might be some file types that might cause an issue but overall Simplesave is a good product for basic use.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP SimpleSave 500GB Portable Hard Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HP Simple Save Portable 320GB Drive

PostedJune 29, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:USA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've had no problems with the drive. Backed up 65GB data including an ISO Image of drive. The drive was not hot at all during or after backup. It's still relatively new so I may add in future but so far I would recommend without hesitation. I think it's important when writing review to state which OS you are using. I am running Windows 7 professional 64 bit and hardware to match.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP SimpleSave 500GB Portable Hard Drive
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Get Rid of Auto CDROM on USB Drive

PostedMay 8, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
The automatic recognition of a partition on the USB drive seems to render it completely incompatible with SBS 2008 in that the computer gets a Device Not Recognized error consistently. There appears to be no way to get rid of this "feature".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP SimpleSave 500GB Portable Hard Drive
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't waste your money

PostedMarch 30, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Too simple by far! Rejects all files and documents with what it regards as a long path or name.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP SimpleSave 500GB Portable Hard Drive
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

HP Launcher hassle

PostedDecember 20, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
This drive won't let me remove the HP Launcher virtual CD - I only want to use it as a drive with my MAC computer - but this stupid virtual CD icon sits idly on my desktop. LAME! get a fix for this HP, and you will be redeemed - TONS of people are annoyed by this.
otherwise, it seems fine. i mean, they are all the same right? we just want it to be cheap.
and small.
and not too ugly.
and quiet.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP SimpleSave 500GB Portable Hard Drive
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

SimpleSave 320gb

PostedNovember 18, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
I purchases the SimpleSave for my photos. It backed up my laptop very simple snd fast, but when I try to use it on my desktop (HP Touch Screen) I can't get it to start.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP SimpleSave 500GB Portable Hard Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great drive

PostedSeptember 12, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:40-54
I am not very comuter savy! so I was very pleased when I was able to set this up and make it work after reading the short intoduction. It backed up my whole system in about 20 min. and going forward it shoud do it much faster as it only updates changes.
The drive is quite portable and comes with a case that fits the unit and the usb. The unit got only luke warm and seems to be built solidly. Great peace of mind to know that I don't have to worry about losing my business documents if I crash. You have to tell it you are unpluging it but other than that it is idiot proof.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for HP SimpleSave 500GB Portable Hard Drive
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
3.5 / 5
3.5 / 5
1 out of 2 recommend this product