HP Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for hp HP SimpleSave 1TB Desktop Hard Drive

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP SimpleSave 1TB Desktop Hard Drive

Automatic, hands-free backup in 6.26 x 2.13 x 5.12" enclosure
Overall rating:
3.471 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(34 reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 34 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
4
1 Star
8
21 out of 34(62%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP SimpleSave 1TB Desktop Hard Drive
Review 21 for HP SimpleSave 1TB Desktop Hard Drive
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not so smart and not so simple

PostedOctober 8, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Bergen County, NJ
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I purchased this to back up my database. Simplesmart doesn't give me the option to do that. The HP site doesn't even recognize the product name and sent me in circles. I have my product number and the information on my packing slip. There is no support listed and no way to get help without this. The Simplesmart was shipped earlier than my computer and by the time I figured out the backup wasn't backing up my database, my 21 days for return had expired. I would hope HP will come up with a patch to allow me to use my Simplesmart for purpose it was purchased.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for HP SimpleSave 1TB Desktop Hard Drive
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Looks good, but....

PostedAugust 27, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Arizona
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I bought this HP SimpleSave partly because the design is beautiful. I was very happy with it until I had trouble with my computer and had to reformat the drive. Then, guess what? Everything I had backed up on the drive was inaccessible. The drive would no longer recognize me as the owner. I spent 2 hours on the phone with a Second Level HP customer support person and at the end they could do nothing except blame Microsoft, saying Microsoft must have some kind of security feature that won't allow me to access the drive. In order to use the drive I had to reformat that too. And, of course, in doing so, I lost all of my backed up data, pictures, documents etc. For me, this makes the drive useless. I mean, what use is a backup if it works only when your computer works as it did when you connected it? The only time you really need the backup is when your computer fails. So if you buy a new computer, you can't put the data from your old computer on the new one either. SO WHAT USE IS IT???
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for HP SimpleSave 1TB Desktop Hard Drive
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Software Update FAILURE

PostedAugust 10, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Arizona
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:25-39
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
1TB HDD.
Plugged in unit to perform a backup. Unit told me there was a software update available. Clicked "ok". Update failed. SimpleSave software crashed; not able to get SimpleSave software running anymore.
Software has stopped working. Tried to "safely remove USB mass storage device" but error appeared saying the device was still in use. Tried restarting computer - no luck. Tried powering down computer, then unplugging power to HDD, then unplugging USB, then turning on computer, replugging HDD power, then replugging HDD USB - no luck.
Can still access files already stored. Can still save and delete files manually. Cannot open "Launcher" (application file in the "CD image" drive). Cannot perform backups.
The SimpleSave "software update" seems to have killed the backup software.
Could not find any info regarding software updates for this drive on the HP website.
Operator error was NOT a factor in this experience.
Just sent the above report to HP tonight. I offered to copy and email the folder "HP SimpleSave Application_patch" to HP. Will be interesting to see if they want it or not.
When the software actually, works, it's great. Does have a character limit for file names, but that's not a big deal. Nice that you can use it both to do backups and to use it as a place to save anything you want.
I just wish that the backup software still worked. I plan to post again if HP actually fixes the "update crash", along with info to help you through the process if you ever experience the same thing.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for HP SimpleSave 1TB Desktop Hard Drive
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Was SO slow. Beyond words slow.

PostedFebruary 5, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:25-39
This was so slow with everytask i tried. Even to copy files to it i actually thought it was freezing. Could not use it to stream audio or video. could not extract large files on it. could only use as storage and would have to transfer anything i wanted to work with off of it to actually use.. So i ripped it all apart and installed the hard drive internal, now the stupid thing works great!! USB problem??? maybe
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for HP SimpleSave 1TB Desktop Hard Drive
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed

PostedNovember 5, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Arlington, TX
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I connected this drive to my router modem's USB port. I was really happy with it at first. I had a low cost, low power consumption file server for my network. I wish it didn't need external power but I think that is going to be hard to find on a 1 TB external drive.
The first thing I noticed was the blue light. The drive is in my bedroom and when the drive goes into sleep mode its like a flashing neon sign outside my window.
I loaded up some movies on the drive. After about a week of use, I look at the file list and all but one movie is gone. I connected the drive to my computer and did an error scan. The files were recovered. It was a minor glitch.
I continued to use the drive. I added some personal files and documents I had written. .while watching a movie it just stop streaming mid movie. I reconnected the drive to a computer directly and its telling me the drive is unformated. I can't even error scan it because some how the index is gone. For now, everything is gone unless I can get some software that can recover the files without partition information.
What good is a backup drive that loses files.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for HP SimpleSave 1TB Desktop Hard Drive
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Was, best purchased ever

PostedSeptember 11, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Charlotte North Carolina
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought this product about nine months ago and it was working great until I got an update for the software. I'm running vista platform, and after the update the product no longer functions. I have e-mailed customerservice several times and have gotten no response. So much for a HP total care. Very disappointed in HP's (NEW)SimpleSave Software.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for HP SimpleSave 1TB Desktop Hard Drive
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible! Lost precious memories!

PostedAugust 3, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:25-39
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This product worked fine for a couple months, but just suddenly crashed and I've likely lost all my family pictures and videos that were stored on there. HP customer service did not care that I lost this data and were not very helpful. Only the hardware is warrantied, not it's performance.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for HP SimpleSave 1TB Desktop Hard Drive
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

don't buy unless you want to manually run backups!

PostedMay 22, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:chicago
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought this product at the same time I purchased an hp desktop and selected it for ease of use. I wanted to plug it in and forget about it while it backed up my data. On May 21st I noticed that it hadn't backed up any data since Aprtil 8th. Usually, when I finish working I let my computer go into sleep mode and wake it up the next day with I click of the mouse. I called tech support and was told that when the computer goes into sleep mode the simple save stops backing up and requies either a reboot of the computer or a restart of the simple save program to get it backing up again. Not so simple. It might as well be drag and drop. Very disappointed with this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for HP SimpleSave 1TB Desktop Hard Drive
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Unreliable Tempermental at Best

PostedApril 8, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Product is very tempermental. Has not been smooth sailing since I bought this. Yesterday computer would not recognize the device. Today it recognized it but when I tried to restore some of my files it said I did not have access. If you buy this don't rely on it--you may need to back up your back up.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for HP SimpleSave 1TB Desktop Hard Drive
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

HP SimpleSave external hard drive

PostedFebruary 23, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
I was able to successfully save the initial back up, but it doesn't seem to be restarting successfully after it is in actual operation. Is there supposed to be something in my Vista Start programs that actually starts this program up when Vista Boots. I put a test folder and file in my C drive to see if it would take care of updating this on the drive, but it hasn't done it. There is just not sufficient information from HP on how the drive starts up after it is installed. Where is the information about this. The back up software is installed on the HP drive per instructions, but there doesn't seem to be any further information from HP about running it during the day to provide back up of new and changed files.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for HP SimpleSave 1TB Desktop Hard Drive
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Simplesave Does Not Work

PostedFebruary 6, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Will not connect to Vista computers. Software available on HP website does not work. Drive does not "spin" when powered on. Customer service is not available on weekends so I can't fix it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for HP SimpleSave 1TB Desktop Hard Drive
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

SimpleSave 1TB

PostedDecember 14, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
The SimpleSave 1TB hardrive does not meet the published performance specs. The backup software user manual which comes with the drive states: "Automatically backs up changes whenever the computer is idle for 5 minutes". After nearly two weeks, and nearly 4 hours on the phone with HP tech service, the function could not be established on my XP computer.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for HP SimpleSave 1TB Desktop Hard Drive
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
2 out of 2 recommend this product