HP Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for hp HP 500GB Personal Media Drive

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP 500GB Personal Media Drive

Standard 3.5" Serial ATA drive enclosed in a portable sized (8 x 4.6 x 1.5") enclosure
Overall rating:
3.2 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 25 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
3
1 Star
8
13 out of 25(52%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP 500GB Personal Media Drive
Review 1 for HP 500GB Personal Media Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hefty Drive!

PostedMarch 24, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:40-54
I had this drive for a couple of weeks and can't vouch for it's reliability but, I was surprised at its heft! It feels like a solid brick. It has a partial metal casing and hard plastic ends and sides. This is HP's big drive and seems built for heavy duty use and comes with a built in fan and a can be used with a locking device.
The drive can be used separately with the USB cable or fits directly into the Personnel Media Drive bay on HP Desktops that have this feature. It has been strangely discontinued in HP's newest full-size desktop computers which have nothing there now. The space where the PMD use to reside in these cases are just left empty.
The PMD comes with HP's SureStore backup that seems half-baked. The English guide is not listed on the Surestore Options page, though the documentation shows it there. You must dig through the file folders to find it. Surestore will not back up files not listed so you must be really careful. If you are a novice get someone who knows about computers to use SureStore if you are only going to use it as the sole backup. The software is compeletly "clunky" and I still cannot find anyway to delete previous backups. SureStore is a separate application on the PMD drive and must be selected to work. The monitor feature is suppose to work after you press "Done" in backup mode and not exit the app.
There are two lights on the front. A blue light to signal it's on and a yellow light to signify when it's writing to the drive. Make sure you grab the drive right (there is a built in grip) when slipping it into the drive bay because it can fit both ways and inverting it horizontally (x-axis) the wrong way will get it somewhat stuck in the drive bay. There is markings on one side of the case to prevent this, just pay attention when doing it and it will slip right in solidly.
The drive spins at 7200rpm and not 5400rpm so it should be speedy and I recommend you buy the HP's heavy-duty nylon case designed for it if you frequently move the drive around and remember to use the USB eject option in Win7 before removing the drive.
Conclusion: IMO if you want the more robust speedier drive and are not concerned about portability get this instead of the Pocket Media Drive.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP 500GB Personal Media Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT 500GB HD for my xb4 Media Docking Station...

PostedJanuary 30, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:25-39
Perfect fit ("like a glove") into the side of our xb4 Notebook Media Docking Station while it serves as a backup to my dv5. 500GB is MORE than enough for my mp3 collection (260+GB). Highly recommended item!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP 500GB Personal Media Drive
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Stopped working

PostedMay 14, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:Under 25
The drive stopped working a year after i bought it.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP 500GB Personal Media Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product!!

PostedMarch 19, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
I received the 500 gb Media Drive in less than a week. It works perfectly!! It does not make any extra noise that others have commented about and it very user friendly. Was able to back up my entire hard drive in a timely manner! I just selected pretty much everything and clicked "ok" and let it run. Do not know the exact amount of time it took, because I did not monitor it that closely, but I do know it was less than a half an hour and I have a lot of files and information on my PC. I am thinking of getting another to save even more information or as a backup to this one. And thinking of getting one for my parents who want to start putting all their music on the computer, and this would save their hard drive from filling up too fast. Great product, works great!! You will not be dissappointed!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP 500GB Personal Media Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedJanuary 17, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been using the HP media drives in the last 3 HP computers that I have owned. I love this because I can drag and drop files into the drive and the transfer is quick. I also like that you aren't confined to just using this product w/media drive PCs. I have laptops that I often transfer the files that I have backed up to. Overall if you are looking for a simple way to transfer and back up files on your PC this product is a must have!!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP 500GB Personal Media Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Most useful device ever

PostedSeptember 15, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Christchurch, NZ
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a simple way to expand available disk space on my Media Centre and, by storing my CDs on this drive, I am able to play music from a laptop connected to my stereo.
Downside is this is a very hard component to find outside the US.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP 500GB Personal Media Drive
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

doesn't work as advertised

PostedMay 6, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Drive incompatible with HP machines.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP 500GB Personal Media Drive
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Would buy again

PostedMay 3, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
I've had 2 300G drives in constant use for 3 years. I run a full backup to one the 1st of every month then an incremental every night. The next month I start over with the other one and keep switching off. Zero problems, no noise, etc. Excellent packaging - it feels like a brick. Very convenient.
Cost is mediocre, but not bad. I wish it was available in 1T size.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP 500GB Personal Media Drive
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bad customer service/Bad drive

PostedApril 13, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Started whining and fan making bad noise after 2 months. called tech support, no one speaks english . They told me that a media drive has no fan. had to get to supervisor to acknowledge they had builtin fan. Not dependable.......Stay away
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP 500GB Personal Media Drive
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

No good if you upgrade to Windows 7!

PostedMarch 28, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
This drive turned out to be pretty useless! I bought it for a computer with Vista and purchased it only 7 months ago. Now I've upgraded to Vista and not only is the software obsolete, but the files type (.qic) can only be read by that software and Windows 7 won't even recognize the drive. Waste of money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP 500GB Personal Media Drive
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Works but............

PostedMarch 18, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:40-54
Since my HP computer keeps crashing (conveniently two months over warranty) I try and use this drive to restore files. Problem is that sometimes it doesn't recognize the device and since it doesn't come with adapter it is useless. I think it is also the source of the HP desktop having problems as it gets exceptionally hot. Lastly, HP won't support the device as part of the desktop so if you have a desktop support package forget any help if there is a problem.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP 500GB Personal Media Drive
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Great idea if only it was not making noise

PostedFebruary 23, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
noisy and whines
Overall Rating: 2 out of 5
"The drive ordered Oct 2008 started whining a few times
before the warranty expired, now it is constant.
This drive is only used once per week for backup.
Now I wonder: how long will the drive last.
Sincerely,
Richardao
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP 500GB Personal Media Drive
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Had 2 now have none

PostedFebruary 23, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
I purchased the first one and it started making noise and then went out. Lost all my data. Sent me another one under warranty and that one also started whinning as well. Second one lost all data as well. Both went out in less than 5 months of use. Wouldn't recommend for constent use. Maybe use for back-up on a periodic basis.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP 500GB Personal Media Drive
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Gave out too soon

PostedFebruary 3, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:25-39
I loved my personal media drive until it quit working 1 month after the warranty ran out. The fan started making noise and then both of my computers quit recognizing it. I have the data backed up elsewhere so I tried to format it and restore it to factory settings but it keeps saying it can't be formatted because it has malfunctioned. There's nothing HP can do because the warranty is out.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP 500GB Personal Media Drive
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

noisy and whines

PostedJanuary 29, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:40-54
I have two of these in different sizes and while I love the convenience of them, both of them have started whining, one more than the other. Of coarse, this doesn't happen until after the warranty runs out but I must say its very disappointing. I'm certain that the noise it is making is coming from the fan but theres nothing I can do about it. It is really rather loud. I won't be buying any of these anymore.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP 500GB Personal Media Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Have 2 of these - love them!

PostedJanuary 20, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have 2 HP computers that have drive bays for the Personal Media Drive. I have 2 of the PMDs also, and may buy a couple more. They are fast when plugged directly into the bay; they are quiet; and I really like the way they go on standby when the computer does, unlike some of my other external HDs. Great product-- an external / removable drive that acts more like an internal! They can also be used (with the included cables) on any computer that has a USB port!!
One more thing ... instead of using a 1 TB or 1.5 TB drive I would rather use several of these and have multiple (redundant) backups. I keep one in the safe and rotate them for backups.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP 500GB Personal Media Drive
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Leave your laptop at work

PostedJanuary 6, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Instead of carrying my laptop back and fourty everday I have all of my files on my media drive. Connects easily to my laptop using the cables and slides right into my HP desktop.
Backing up the files were also easy so my desktop and my portable media drive are always in sync which is where i do most of my work. No dealy on my laptop accessing files and I could also easily keep the lapto in sync as well
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP 500GB Personal Media Drive
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible!

PostedDecember 3, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:40-54
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Loaded it up with photos and Music. It locked up and I lost it all. HP support - hard to understand - impossibly inept.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP 500GB Personal Media Drive
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

PostedSeptember 3, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great feature of HP CPU's..... No wires or adapters to hide...just slide it into the pocket and your in business. But if you want to use it with an other computer there's no problem because it comes with the necessary adapters to plug into any computer that has a USB port. I keep mine inserted in the CPU all the times so that I can backup data whenever. Runs quiet.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP 500GB Personal Media Drive
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

hp media drive--test cables!

PostedAugust 19, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:55+
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This is a tough review. My hp desktop began to malfunction..then finally crashed for good after a week of tech help. I did move files from this hard drive to some flash drives before the final crash. I hooked up the hard drive with the cables to a laptop, but even tho it blinked and purred, the laptop would not recognize it, and hp tech help could not figure it out either, concluding either the cables dont work or the hard drive also got corrupted. I won't know for sure until I get my tower back from repair and slide the hard drive into the bay again. If the media drive is bad, I have lost over 7 years of pictures and other files.
So back up your back ups!!
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.