HP Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for hp Beats by Dr. Dre Studio High-Definition Headphones

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp Beats by Dr. Dre Studio High-Definition Headphones

Beats by Dr. Dre Studio High-Definition Headphones
Overall rating:
4.667 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
14 out of 18(78%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Beats by Dr. Dre Studio High-Definition Headphones
Review 1 for Beats by Dr. Dre Studio High-Definition Headphones
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

not worth it

PostedJuly 11, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:nj
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
these are not worth it you could get a pair of better head phones for half the price all the people who give the good reviews have no idea what there talking about. I recommend audio technica phlips
senhhiser
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Beats by Dr. Dre Studio High-Definition Headphones
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Spectacular

PostedJuly 9, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I read many, many reviews days before i decided to purchase these headphones and hardly anyone was displeased. So many people used various words to describe these headphones, and I of course agree to the fullest extent that these are by far the best headphones I have ever heard or owned. I wasn't to happy about the price but I always say you have to pay for quality and the quality of these headphones is supreme!!! I recomend these to anyone that is willing to pay the high cost. My friends were skeptical because of the price, but every single one of them instantly smiled when they placed these comfortable headphones around their ears and cut on the music. Big smiles at that!!! I too also found a happy place from the clear sounds and deep bass generated by these headphones.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Beats by Dr. Dre Studio High-Definition Headphones
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The REAL thing.

PostedApril 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Upstate New York.
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I thought I would be clever, do research, compare. The buzz was the "Beats by Dr. Dre Studio High-Definition Headphones" were the best. Reviews everywhere also indicated they were outstanding. I found a website that had the look and feel of a source of real "Dr. Dre Beats" saving me considerable cash. I purchased a pair (Same as what I found on the HP Store). They arrived by slow boat from China. They looked REAL, but missing batteries and wired Left Right backwards. They sounded better than anything I currently owned, I was "happy". I should have stopped there. Only I was curious about ratings of 1 or 2 when I discovered the whole world of "Fake". Fake everything including "Beats by Dr. Dre". I concluded my original purchase was a "Fake" from who knows where. I wanted "REAL" Dr. Dre Headphones. Ordering from HP Store was simple, fast and arrived in a couple of days (fast). On arrival, I had my first Beats Studio on the table to compare. Box - Looks same. Inside - Looks same, this has 2 Duracell sealed (wrapped together). They look identical... Performance - Originals sound good. The New "REAL" from HP was exactly what everyone was raving about. Crisp, Clear, Clean and the Bass ‘outstanding’. Left is Left and Right is Right. Ear pads noticeably softer, headset much better fit. I trust HP to assure what I buy is “REAL”. I have tested the others at my local stores and even the “Big Brand” doesn’t compare.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Beats by Dr. Dre Studio High-Definition Headphones
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

OUTSTANDING

PostedMarch 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Dre Beats STUDIO by MONSTER are everything they are sought to be! Extreme Clarity as well as the feel of to 12" subs right next to your ears! Very awesome product and would recommend to anyone! Link it up with a Beats laptop and you'll enjoy them even more. A little pricey but still well worth it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Beats by Dr. Dre Studio High-Definition Headphones
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

ABSOLUTELY WORTH THE MONEY!!!

PostedDecember 31, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Spokane, WA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These headphones have blown my mind!!! I have owned some pretty high end headphones, from BOSE to Sennheiser, and none compare. The sound quality is amazing. It is clear, crisp, and clean. The bass that comes out of these things is incredible. You feel like you are at a concert or in a high quality sound booth. If you can afford it, I would absolutely recommend this to you because they improve the sound quality of any device, but when paired up with my beats Pavilion dv6 it is mind blowing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Beats by Dr. Dre Studio High-Definition Headphones
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing

PostedAugust 23, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Mount Pleasant, MI
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:Under 25
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The headphones are awesome; however, expensive. If you're on a budget, then buy another pair, but these headphones are top quality. For those willing to blow the money, it's worth it. I love them so much. They're weightless and comfy. The bass is truly impressive as well. Listen to Lil Wayne's "A Mili" even if you hate his music, the beats bring out the hardest hitting tracks.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Beats by Dr. Dre Studio High-Definition Headphones
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Skeptic into a Believer.

PostedJuly 7, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New York, NY
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:Under 25
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
At first when I heard of this product, I was very skeptical. My thoughts were, how can a pair of headphones be so different than the average $20 - $30 headphones. So I decided to order these with my HP Pavilion Dv6z Quad Edition laptop. These arrived two days ago and when I unboxed them and put them on I was just simply shocked! I couldn't believe the bass on these pair of headphones. The sound is crisp and clear. I put on some Coby Bass Boosting headphones,(also over the ear headphones), just to see the difference and although the bass was ALMOST equal, the vocals were a bit all over the place. The Beats by Dre Studio headphones on the other hand had the right balance of everything. I honestly have fallen in love with these headphones and won't ever go back to the regular ones I USED TO OWN!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Beats by Dr. Dre Studio High-Definition Headphones
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

An amazing product

PostedJune 9, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:Under 25
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just got the headphones in about 4 days ago and the headphones are even better than I'd expected.
For the last few years, I have been using the apple ear buds that came with my Ipod and just assumed that what I heard was the full song and that any lost quality was due to file compression. The first time I put on my Beats headphones I was simply amazing by how much clearer the music was, and moreso by how much of that detail I had never been able to hear before.
I was also impressed by the noise cancelation ability of the headphones. I have tried a few pairs of headphones claiming to filter out outside noise, all of which largely failed to do so. So when i purchased my pair of Beats headphones, I figured the noise cancelation feature was really some marketing thing they threw on to make it look better. Again I was shocked when I tried on the headphones and was unable to hear someone call my name from 4 feet away.
A response to some negative feedback:
I remember a few months ago I had considered buying a pair of Beats headphones and reading reviews about poor build quality. This has not been the case for me. Some people claimed that headband part of the headphones broke by simply putting on and taking off the headphones, but unless you have a very large head, try to bend it backwards or otherwise mistreat it, I do not see any issues here. There is a fair amount of flexibility in the headband, allowing me to easily put on and take off the headphones.
Additionally, some complained that the cable connecting the headphones to the audio source broke easily. The cable is much thicker than the cable on any other pair of headphones I have seen. Based on this, I think that if the cable does fray of tear on these headphones, you would have run into the same problem on any other headphones you could have bought. Additionally, the headphones come with two cables anyway (although only one has a button to take iphone calls while listening to music). So even if one do break one cable for some reason, you still have a backup. And if you somehow manage to break both cables, you can buy a replacement cable for $24.95 from the monster cable website. And finally, if something is going to break, personally, I would rather it be the cable which is a cheap fix rather than having something important like having a speaker stop working (which happened in a pair of Bose headphones I had several years ago).
The only real criticism I can think of is that the headphones are too good as what they do. The headphones are so well engineered that they focus the soundwaves directly into your eardrum instead of allowing the soundwaves to hit the exterior cartilage and the ear canal on the way to your ear drum. As a result, listening to music for more than 5-6 hours per day can cause some mild discomfort and possibly hearing loss with longterm exposure. (although I will admit that I tend to have the volume turned up a little louder than I should and others who keep the volume lower may not experience this).
So in conclusion, I strongly recommend these headphones to anyone looking for a better listening experience. As long as you take care of your headphones, I see no reason for them not to provide years of listening pleasure.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Beats by Dr. Dre Studio High-Definition Headphones
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great sounding headset but...

PostedJune 5, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
the built quality is flimpsy. The headband is made of plastic which in time will loosen and the earphone will detach. For such a price you would think the built quality would be equal to the sound it produces.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Beats by Dr. Dre Studio High-Definition Headphones
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

made for the envy

PostedFebruary 1, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:AZ
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
I've never had a high end head set. So when i bought my new Envy 17 I also bought in to the Beats hype. And i'm glad I did! These Beats studios have a pre-amp built in to the right ear piece so the sound is strong even when using a phone or MP3 player. And being able to answer my phone through the headset is great.and the mute pad is a great feature also.Very satisfied.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Beats by Dr. Dre Studio High-Definition Headphones
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

High quality sound - Excellent product

PostedOctober 3, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New Jersey
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was originally hesitant to purchase these headphones due to the cost. Thanks to a great sale on accessories by HP, I know have a great product that is well worth it. I know realize what a bargain I got.
I have paired the headphones with multiple laptops and my desktop and also used them with my stereo system and iPod. I've received high quality audio from all.
The sound quality is very pure. I'm amazed at how much more I hear on each of the songs played. Background sounds with normal headphones come through with amazing clarity. It's a pleasure to use them for travel as they do a fine job of blocking out peripheral noise. Highly recommended!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Beats by Dr. Dre Studio High-Definition Headphones
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great the best thing ever

PostedSeptember 5, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:Under 25
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
these are the best headphones i have herd in 5 years i use to have like these little ear buds and i still do i listen to the monster high def one's at bestbuy i was like OMG these are great on a 1 to 10 scale they are a 12
the only thing Dr.Dre and lady gaga should do is make lil jon some headphones so his music can sound like the loud and powerful crunk
which means the speakers have to play loud and handle a lot of powerful base
so they is the next sponcer for Hp Beats Audio
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Beats by Dr. Dre Studio High-Definition Headphones
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comfortable HeadPhone

PostedApril 10, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Age:40-54
The beats by Dr. Dre are comfortable to wear and you won't have to worry about static or malfunctions. They last without wearing down or tearing up. All in all they are worth the money, the sound is clear.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Beats by Dr. Dre Studio High-Definition Headphones
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

beats studio headphones

PostedDecember 10, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:25-39
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I own all the beats headphones (studio, tour, and solo). I received the studio headphones with the beats envy laptop. They are good headphones, but the beats solo have waaaaaay better sound. The tour headphones have the best definition if you can get comfy with the earbud settings. My gripe with the studio edition is that the bass couldve been a bit more comprable to the solo (which sound more like 300 dollar headphones). Also, i'm not a fanatic of the whole battery compartment. They die in a couple of hours. and the size of the headphones isnt practical for daily use. But on the positive, they still have better sound then any other headsets i've used that are non beats. Plus theyre comfy.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Beats by Dr. Dre Studio High-Definition Headphones
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well Worth The Investment

PostedSeptember 13, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just purchased Headphones and every penny was well worth it. Bass is unbelievable and sound is clear. Hooked it up to my ipod touch and the music was amazing. Tones was crisp. Can not go back to regular headphones after these. Only for serious audio heads. Thumbs Up!!!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Beats by Dr. Dre Studio High-Definition Headphones
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Takes Headphones To A New Level

PostedSeptember 12, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've used this product for 6 months and am still as enthusiatic about them as I was the day I bought them. They are light weight and comfortable to wear for extended periods of time. While they lean toward the bass-end of the listening spectrum, the sound is not too "thumpy". I've had to replace the original red cable and did so at no cost - customer service was excellent. Being a powered headset they require AAA batteries which is unfortunate. Carry extra batteries with you. The case is just as classy as the headphones. I'm a musician, so I look for the best in sound reproduction. These hit the mark. They work nicely with home stereo, computer, smart phones and MP3 players.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Beats by Dr. Dre Studio High-Definition Headphones
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

PostedJuly 7, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:25-39
This is the awesome headset with subwoofer support.....
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Beats by Dr. Dre Studio High-Definition Headphones
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Greatest of all time

PostedJuly 4, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Age:25-39
Hands down the best headphones ever.
The lows are crisp and not distorted and give the music real depth.
The highs are delightful and balanced.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.