HP Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for hp HP Deskjet 2540 All-in-One Printer

hp HP Deskjet 2540 All-in-One Printer

HP Deskjet 2540 All-in-One Print/Scan/Copy
Overall rating:
4.06 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(50 reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 50 reviews
5 Stars
29
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
4
1 Star
5
39 out of 50(78%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Deskjet 2540 All-in-One Printer
Review 1 for HP Deskjet 2540 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good printer which installed easily

PostedSeptember 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:South Haven. MI
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my second HP home printer. Both have been easy to install and use. Yesterday I helped my brother install another home printer brand and spend 2 hours doing it. I even needed to call their support. I have never had to call your support to help with either of my HP printers.
The only problem I have with HP is the timeframe your printers last. My first one only lasted 2 1/2 years. I have had other experience with HPs where the duration the printers last are shorter than what I would think it should. It's always cheaper to buy a new printer than to see if I can fix it or can get it fixed. I think for $70, which is the average I have paid for your printers over the last 10 years, that I and my family would get more than 2 to 3 years of use.
Also as an FYI I'm the family 'computer consultant' because I worked 38 years in IT until retiring about a year ago.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Deskjet 2540 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I am pleased with the performance.

PostedSeptember 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I do wish the usb cable was longer so I could place my equipment differently on my desk. Otherwise so far the performance of this printer suits me fine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Deskjet 2540 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Product description incomplete

PostedSeptember 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Mount Shasta, CA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This printer does not work with Google cloud printing. The web site does not tell you that. I had to call both Google and HP tech support to find this out. I had to return this printer and get an Envy 5530 for my HP Chromebox to connect to my printer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Deskjet 2540 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I like the comb

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Maryland MD
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The combination printer/copier is great
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Deskjet 2540 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Printed then stopped printing...

PostedAugust 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Purchased this printer from Target in April and printing was great until June when it stopped altogether! Tried several times to uninstall and reinstall the software to no avail. Looked on forums and found printer is not working for others. Will call Tech Support for more information and if there is no assistance, I'd have to purchase another printer! Its very frustrating I have to go through this.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Deskjet 2540 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Disappointing

PostedAugust 7, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:ky
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I own an HP tablet, laptop, and this is my 3rd printer. My first all-in-one was stellar. This one, in particular taking advantage of the option to use USB, to be router wireless, or router independent, has wasted ink and paper and still cannot switch among the options. It functions counter-intuitively and is so frustrating, I've just given up and opted for usb. I've used the diagnostics, the Dr, and the answer resources and cannot get it fully functional. I'm just FRUSTRATED and disappointed.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Deskjet 2540 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Printer is good but could not connect to WiFI

PostedAugust 7, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Maryland
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Printer is good but could not connect to WiFI. I was not able to get anyone on the phone to help and their tutorials did not solve the problem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Deskjet 2540 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent buy

PostedAugust 2, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
For everyday home use this is a great product at a great price. In the UK this printer cost 58.88 dollars equivalent!! Easy set up. My iPad and iPhone found air-print immediately (the reason I made the purchase). Highly recommended budget printer. Only downside is it should be in black, not grey - but hey it's 58.88........
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Deskjet 2540 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Product is not what is advertised as!!!

PostedAugust 2, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:STATEN ISLAND NY
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Product is called ALL IN ONE, ITS NOT, NO FAX. WASTED A LOT OF MY TIME RETURNING THIS PRODUCT AND BUYING A HP 4630 TRULY AN ALL IN ONE. I PAID FOR INSTALLATION OF MY NEW COMPUTER INCLUDING THIS PRINTER AND ULTIMATELY HAD TO INSTALLED THE TRUE ALL IN ONE. WHILE HP HANDLED THIS PROBLEM CORRECTLY TIME IS MONEY AND I WASTED A LOT OF TIME.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Deskjet 2540 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product .. love it!

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Sarasota FL
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Couldn't be more pleased with this all-in-one printer, copier, fax. Delivered in record time, easy setup using the web .. absolutely great service and a great product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Deskjet 2540 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

HORRIBLE!!!

PostedJune 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This is quite simply the worst printer I have ever owned. I have had nothing but trouble with it from the 1st time I used it. The ink cartridges are a pain to install, heaven forbid we switch internet companies..because trying to re-connect it to the new Wi-Fi network has been a disaster, trying to simply copy isn't simple at all...I hate this printer. I wouldn't recommend anyone to purchase it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Deskjet 2540 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great

PostedJune 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:TN
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Setting up the wireless features gave me a little difficulty, but that was probably me. It works great as a wireless printer. Color is good. Have paid a lot more for printers of this quality.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Deskjet 2540 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Meets basic needs, light weight

PostedMay 30, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I ordered this printer to save me from multiple trips to the local FedEx office for documents
requiring signature. It does the job at a low cost. It is easy to set up. Quality is good for
ink jet printing. I plan to donate the printer when I leave for my next assignment. HP service and
delivery far exceed that of Amazon vendors. I paid more for shipping, but received the printer
as promised in two business days. All parts were in box, scanner glass was intact. I will order
printers, ink, scanners, etc now on from HP rather than Amazon because the printer from
the Amazon vendor arrived minus the power cord, ink cartridges, printer cable, and with
shards of glass from the broken scanner field. Thank you, HP.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Deskjet 2540 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great affordable printer

PostedMay 25, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Waupaca, WI
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Contrary to some of the reviews I read, for me, this is a great printer. Affordable price, very easy wireless set up & very satisfactory print quality. For everyday personal home use, you can't go wrong with this printer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Deskjet 2540 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Ptoduct is good for the home office user.

PostedMay 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Laurel, MD
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I needed to replace a printer and I had just purchased ink. So I wanted to find reliable Deskjet printer and the Deskjet 2540 ,et my needs.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Deskjet 2540 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disappointing

PostedMay 2, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New York
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Every HP printer I buy ends up being flimsier and and tinier than its predecessor. I suspect this will be my last HP purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Deskjet 2540 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Glad

PostedMay 1, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Florida
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
The printer arrived in 2 days. I was surprised and pleased. My experience with it is still young, but all is as I expected. Setup was not difficult. The included usb connecting wire was short for my purposes, so I just used the one from my former printer. (Opted out of wireless).
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Deskjet 2540 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Fair Performance

PostedApril 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
It is pretty slow, expected. Mine has paper feeder problem, even when there is only one sheet of paper. The prints are not very sharp. It probably is OK for ordinary use at home at a price which is considered very good price with all the functions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Deskjet 2540 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great buy.

PostedApril 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Wilmington, NC
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
This printer was easy to set up and use from the start,and I am definitely one of those technically challenged with something new and different. It has just the features I was looking for and at such a great price. HP has never let me down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Deskjet 2540 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product!

PostedApril 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Plymouth, OH
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We bought this printer for its size and for the wireless capability. I sell things on eBay and I no longer have to turn on the Desktop and wait for it to boot up to print a shipping label - I can just buy the label on my laptop and print it from the living room. We had a different all-in-one, the only difference is that this one doesn't fax, but something I can live without for the price and the MUCH smaller size MUCH faster printing. Even though our old one was about 10 years old and we did get our money's worth out of it, I really like this one much better and it's much easier to operate. Just put the CD in your computer and download it and you're ready to go! We didn't buy it on this site, but love that we can buy ink here and get free next day shipping. I also have an HP Photo Printer that I LOVE and I get all of my ink here, also free next day shipping. I would recommend this product to everyone that needs a no-nonsense, easy to use printer--copier-scanner for home use. We've had it for about four months now and I'm VERY pleased with it. The Wi-Fi capability is a HUGE plus!! I can sit in the living room and type a letter, buy a postage label or make a greeting card and print it from my recliner. Highly recommended!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.