HP Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for hp HP Deskjet 2540 All-in-One Printer

hp HP Deskjet 2540 All-in-One Printer

HP Deskjet 2540 All-in-One Print/Scan/Copy
Overall rating:
4.293 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(41 reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 41 reviews
5 Stars
26
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
3
1 Star
2
34 out of 41(83%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Deskjet 2540 All-in-One Printer
Review 1 for HP Deskjet 2540 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product .. love it!

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Sarasota FL
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Couldn't be more pleased with this all-in-one printer, copier, fax. Delivered in record time, easy setup using the web .. absolutely great service and a great product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Deskjet 2540 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

HORRIBLE!!!

PostedJune 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This is quite simply the worst printer I have ever owned. I have had nothing but trouble with it from the 1st time I used it. The ink cartridges are a pain to install, heaven forbid we switch internet companies..because trying to re-connect it to the new Wi-Fi network has been a disaster, trying to simply copy isn't simple at all...I hate this printer. I wouldn't recommend anyone to purchase it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Deskjet 2540 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great

PostedJune 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:TN
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Setting up the wireless features gave me a little difficulty, but that was probably me. It works great as a wireless printer. Color is good. Have paid a lot more for printers of this quality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Deskjet 2540 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Meets basic needs, light weight

PostedMay 30, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I ordered this printer to save me from multiple trips to the local FedEx office for documents
requiring signature. It does the job at a low cost. It is easy to set up. Quality is good for
ink jet printing. I plan to donate the printer when I leave for my next assignment. HP service and
delivery far exceed that of Amazon vendors. I paid more for shipping, but received the printer
as promised in two business days. All parts were in box, scanner glass was intact. I will order
printers, ink, scanners, etc now on from HP rather than Amazon because the printer from
the Amazon vendor arrived minus the power cord, ink cartridges, printer cable, and with
shards of glass from the broken scanner field. Thank you, HP.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Deskjet 2540 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great affordable printer

PostedMay 25, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Waupaca, WI
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Contrary to some of the reviews I read, for me, this is a great printer. Affordable price, very easy wireless set up & very satisfactory print quality. For everyday personal home use, you can't go wrong with this printer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Deskjet 2540 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Ptoduct is good for the home office user.

PostedMay 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Laurel, MD
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I needed to replace a printer and I had just purchased ink. So I wanted to find reliable Deskjet printer and the Deskjet 2540 ,et my needs.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Deskjet 2540 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disappointing

PostedMay 2, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New York
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Every HP printer I buy ends up being flimsier and and tinier than its predecessor. I suspect this will be my last HP purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Deskjet 2540 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Glad

PostedMay 1, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Florida
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
The printer arrived in 2 days. I was surprised and pleased. My experience with it is still young, but all is as I expected. Setup was not difficult. The included usb connecting wire was short for my purposes, so I just used the one from my former printer. (Opted out of wireless).
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Deskjet 2540 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Fair Performance

PostedApril 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
It is pretty slow, expected. Mine has paper feeder problem, even when there is only one sheet of paper. The prints are not very sharp. It probably is OK for ordinary use at home at a price which is considered very good price with all the functions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Deskjet 2540 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great buy.

PostedApril 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Wilmington, NC
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
This printer was easy to set up and use from the start,and I am definitely one of those technically challenged with something new and different. It has just the features I was looking for and at such a great price. HP has never let me down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Deskjet 2540 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product!

PostedApril 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Plymouth, OH
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We bought this printer for its size and for the wireless capability. I sell things on eBay and I no longer have to turn on the Desktop and wait for it to boot up to print a shipping label - I can just buy the label on my laptop and print it from the living room. We had a different all-in-one, the only difference is that this one doesn't fax, but something I can live without for the price and the MUCH smaller size MUCH faster printing. Even though our old one was about 10 years old and we did get our money's worth out of it, I really like this one much better and it's much easier to operate. Just put the CD in your computer and download it and you're ready to go! We didn't buy it on this site, but love that we can buy ink here and get free next day shipping. I also have an HP Photo Printer that I LOVE and I get all of my ink here, also free next day shipping. I would recommend this product to everyone that needs a no-nonsense, easy to use printer--copier-scanner for home use. We've had it for about four months now and I'm VERY pleased with it. The Wi-Fi capability is a HUGE plus!! I can sit in the living room and type a letter, buy a postage label or make a greeting card and print it from my recliner. Highly recommended!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Deskjet 2540 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid less expensive home use product

PostedApril 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Winter Park, FL
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This printer replaced my HP 1200 All in One printer that finally died. Prints well and quickly, with easy setup, including wireless connection. Arrived much faster than projected delivery date, which was great! A good light weight printer at the price. It contains most of the features of the 1200 except for fax capabilities (which I don't need). Only issue was my space for printer, which is very small. While it's the same overall size as 1200, had to rearrange to accommodate upright paper tray. Have to remember to open output tray when printing (always open in 1200). If you don't and try to print you get a clear message re problem.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Deskjet 2540 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Product for the Price

PostedMarch 30, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Broken Arrow, OK
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent printer for simple home use with few printing requirements.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Deskjet 2540 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

HPDeskjet2540

PostedMarch 13, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Very disappointed in printer---print quality inferior, grinding noise when printing,cannot print multiple copies, not up to HP's usual quality. I have used HP printers for years and this one is not of the
same high standard.
I would prefer that this review not be printed.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Deskjet 2540 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Product for the Price

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Wisconsin
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This printer was great for the price as compared to other similar products and brands. Scan well and copies effortlessly. Print out is of superior quality and very bold!! One draw back is the amount of squeaky noise coming from feed wheels. It does not effect the quality of the print in anyway, just very annoying and disruptive. Otherwise a GREAT PRODUCT!! I would recommend this product to anyone!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Deskjet 2540 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good printer for my needs

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:CO
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I needed a reliable, affordable All-in-One printer with affordable cartridges for basic home use. It was easy to set up (especially after watching the YouTube video.) No problems and easy to use. The shipping was quick, too. I am happy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Deskjet 2540 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Doesn't work with my computer

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Atlanta, GA
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have worked with this printer for days now and it still doesn't work. I have uninstalled and reinstalled it numerous times and it still is not working properly. Sometimes it will print a page or two then other times it won't do anything.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Deskjet 2540 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this product for the scanner, but fell in love with the color printer portion of it. I use the scanner also, but use the printer more often. The set-up was easy. I added two laptops via wi-fi very easily. Love it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Deskjet 2540 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Inexpensive All-in-One

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Portland, OR
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The printer was easy to set up. The printing quality is good. I haven't had it long enough to find out how it holds up to use and I also haven't scanned photos yet. While printing it makes more noise that the ink jet HP that this replaces. One note - the color ink cartrige that came with the printer didn't work. The printer wouldn't recognize it. I'm glad I had ordered extra ink when I bought the printer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Deskjet 2540 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

VERY Disappointed!

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Angleton, TX
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
I bought this printer and at first I was pleased. I got about 4 uses out of this thing before it started jamming. I think one of the feeder wheels busted because it pulls the paper in on one side causing it to jam. I am really disappointed I ever bought this. Unfortunately I was not able to take it back, had a helpful family member throw away the box, there goes $$ down the drain.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.