HP Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for hp HP Deskjet 2540 All-in-One Printer

hp HP Deskjet 2540 All-in-One Printer

HP Deskjet 2540 All-in-One Print/Scan/Copy
Overall rating:
4.387 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(31 reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 31 reviews
5 Stars
20
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
26 out of 31(84%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Deskjet 2540 All-in-One Printer
Review 1 for HP Deskjet 2540 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product!

PostedApril 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Plymouth, OH
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We bought this printer for its size and for the wireless capability. I sell things on eBay and I no longer have to turn on the Desktop and wait for it to boot up to print a shipping label - I can just buy the label on my laptop and print it from the living room. We had a different all-in-one, the only difference is that this one doesn't fax, but something I can live without for the price and the MUCH smaller size MUCH faster printing. Even though our old one was about 10 years old and we did get our money's worth out of it, I really like this one much better and it's much easier to operate. Just put the CD in your computer and download it and you're ready to go! We didn't buy it on this site, but love that we can buy ink here and get free next day shipping. I also have an HP Photo Printer that I LOVE and I get all of my ink here, also free next day shipping. I would recommend this product to everyone that needs a no-nonsense, easy to use printer--copier-scanner for home use. We've had it for about four months now and I'm VERY pleased with it. The Wi-Fi capability is a HUGE plus!! I can sit in the living room and type a letter, buy a postage label or make a greeting card and print it from my recliner. Highly recommended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Deskjet 2540 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid less expensive home use product

PostedApril 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Winter Park, FL
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This printer replaced my HP 1200 All in One printer that finally died. Prints well and quickly, with easy setup, including wireless connection. Arrived much faster than projected delivery date, which was great! A good light weight printer at the price. It contains most of the features of the 1200 except for fax capabilities (which I don't need). Only issue was my space for printer, which is very small. While it's the same overall size as 1200, had to rearrange to accommodate upright paper tray. Have to remember to open output tray when printing (always open in 1200). If you don't and try to print you get a clear message re problem.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Deskjet 2540 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Product for the Price

PostedMarch 30, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Broken Arrow, OK
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent printer for simple home use with few printing requirements.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Deskjet 2540 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

HPDeskjet2540

PostedMarch 13, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Very disappointed in printer---print quality inferior, grinding noise when printing,cannot print multiple copies, not up to HP's usual quality. I have used HP printers for years and this one is not of the
same high standard.
I would prefer that this review not be printed.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Deskjet 2540 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Product for the Price

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Wisconsin
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This printer was great for the price as compared to other similar products and brands. Scan well and copies effortlessly. Print out is of superior quality and very bold!! One draw back is the amount of squeaky noise coming from feed wheels. It does not effect the quality of the print in anyway, just very annoying and disruptive. Otherwise a GREAT PRODUCT!! I would recommend this product to anyone!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Deskjet 2540 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good printer for my needs

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:CO
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I needed a reliable, affordable All-in-One printer with affordable cartridges for basic home use. It was easy to set up (especially after watching the YouTube video.) No problems and easy to use. The shipping was quick, too. I am happy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Deskjet 2540 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Doesn't work with my computer

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Atlanta, GA
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have worked with this printer for days now and it still doesn't work. I have uninstalled and reinstalled it numerous times and it still is not working properly. Sometimes it will print a page or two then other times it won't do anything.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Deskjet 2540 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this product for the scanner, but fell in love with the color printer portion of it. I use the scanner also, but use the printer more often. The set-up was easy. I added two laptops via wi-fi very easily. Love it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Deskjet 2540 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Inexpensive All-in-One

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Portland, OR
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The printer was easy to set up. The printing quality is good. I haven't had it long enough to find out how it holds up to use and I also haven't scanned photos yet. While printing it makes more noise that the ink jet HP that this replaces. One note - the color ink cartrige that came with the printer didn't work. The printer wouldn't recognize it. I'm glad I had ordered extra ink when I bought the printer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Deskjet 2540 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

VERY Disappointed!

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Angleton, TX
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
I bought this printer and at first I was pleased. I got about 4 uses out of this thing before it started jamming. I think one of the feeder wheels busted because it pulls the paper in on one side causing it to jam. I am really disappointed I ever bought this. Unfortunately I was not able to take it back, had a helpful family member throw away the box, there goes $$ down the drain.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Deskjet 2540 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Satisfied

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Radcliff, KY
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good purchase for the price. Installation was as easy as 1-2-3. Very happy with my HP Deskjet 2540. I needed a wireless printer and the price on this one was great. I like the availability of the ink cartridges (my last printer wasn't a HP and could only get ink with online purchases). This printer comes with a short 18" USB cable; so, if you cannot connect directly to the front of your CPU during initial wireless setup, you may want to buy a longer cable with your purchase.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Deskjet 2540 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I like all of the features

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:East Berlin, PA
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The scanner is so easy to use. I like the wireless feature, too
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Deskjet 2540 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

nice printer

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Vermont
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It took me a while to download this printer, but I am enjoying it. It prints a bit slow compared to my old deskjet, but overall am very happy with it so far...
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Deskjet 2540 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good all-in-one for the price

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Hillsborough county, Florida
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It prints fast and prints out decent color photos.
Its copy and scan features are convenient and easy to use.
I've had HP all-in-one's for years and hope to continue to use them for several more years.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Deskjet 2540 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good printer

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Jacksonville, FL
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been very happy with this printer particularly because the price was so reasonable. It was easy to set up and has printed great. If you are looking for a simple printer at a reasonable price this is for you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Deskjet 2540 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

nice machine

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Long Beach, CA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I'm pleased with fine printer/scanner
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Deskjet 2540 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good price/performance BUT

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:DFW
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The printer must run as either a wireless printer or a USB printer. There is no option to configure both simultaneously. Good price and performance for the money.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Deskjet 2540 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

can't figure it out

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Gifford IL
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The old printer you just had to push the black or color button for however many copies. I can't figure out this little screen selector thing. I got a 5520, and I'm figuring it out a little better. Wishing technology wouldn't change things so fast. For now, the 2540 is back in the box, just sittin' there.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP Deskjet 2540 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great printer for the money

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Key Largo, Florida
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
excellent wireless printer at a very good price point!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP Deskjet 2540 All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product ...

PostedDecember 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Naperville,IL
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought it on sale ,50% of from HP store >A fantastic value.Very user friendly, easy to set up and very good copies.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.