HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop ENVY or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer

hp HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer

HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Print/Scan/Copy
Overall rating:
4.111 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(81 reviews) 81
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 81 reviews
5 Stars
50
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
4
1 Star
9
67 out of 81(83%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Review 1 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Unreliable

PostedJuly 3, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New York , NY
Gender:Female
This Envy has been a nightmare. I've used HP printers for decades, without problems, but this one is a lemon. I've spent hours and hours on the phone with tech, and am now ready to throw it out. The only thing it has going for it is good looks---and that's not enough.
-5points
4of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent product so far.

PostedJuly 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
after initial set up difficulties ,not attributable to the printer,rather a software issue,it is working fine. i must compliment your tech department for helping me through the matter and getting me going. they deserve a lot of credit. shipping was also excellent. thank you
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy setup

PostedJuly 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:San Diego
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quick response on wireless network
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

not a photo printer

PostedAugust 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:maryland
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
nice eprinter prints plain paper very nice
photos are poor quality and use alot of ink
if you print with windows 7 photo gallery or picture veiwer you get two streaks
makes picture look like you cut into three pieces and taped it back together
User submitted photo
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GS4 + This Printer = Win

PostedAugust 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Wisconsin
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
After spending days researching Wifi and Wifi-direct printers, I went to the local BestBuy and picked this one up. I was expecting setup to be a nightmare given the various reviews I'd read regarding reported Smartphone-to-Printer experiences by some.
It couldn't have been easier. Once the printer itself was set up (really simple), using the imbedded Print functionality of the GS4 (android smartphone), printing was a no-brainer. Try to print from phone, let it find the printer, print. No installation, no messing with settings, just print.
Although I can't see using it at this point, I set up ePrint because it was there. It was easy to setup and use.
After downloading HP's "Printer Control" app, scanning directly to the GS4 was cake and at 300dpi, the quality is very nice. Preview/Crop/Scan, all from the phone; no interaction with the printer beyond loading the scanner bed.
Print quality/speed isn't top-shelf, but at $80, I didn't expect it to be either.
Amazing product at this price point.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't buy it. Not Compatible with MS Office!

PostedAugust 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I purchased this printer to replace a broken printer. Thinking this was a great buy, I didn't realize that Envy 4500 is NOT compatible with Microsoft Office 2007. I spent 2 hours on HP tech support via phone troubleshooting and got no success.
Microsoft Office is the bread and butter of what I do, and though I wish I could upgrade to 2010 or 2013 (and HOPE those work), I can't because I'm in the military and I can only work with the software the Army gives me, so I'm stuck with 2007 and a printer that isn't compatible with some of the most common software.
FYI, I am using Windows 7, 32 bit.
+2points
8of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great compact full featured printer

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Philadelphia, Pa
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Positively surprised by the features available at this price point. Very happy so far.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I ordered this one on Aug.19. Receive it on Aug 24. Set it up on Saturday night. Printed out documents. Everything was so easy, and I didn't need any help from my husband. I wouldn't change for the world. The setup was very easy, and the sleekness of the printer is far better looking than my old Photosmart.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

ITS GREAT; IT BROKE TWO DAYS LATER

PostedAugust 29, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I REGISTERED IT 8/28. 8/29 IT WENT INTO CARRIAGE JAM AND AFTER 55 MINUTES WITH HELP IT WAS AGREED IT WAS FAULTY AND HAD TO BE RETURNED. I USED IT FOR MAYBE FOUR DAYS.
I WILL SAY A REPLACEMENT WAS TO BE DELIVERED IN TWO DAYS SHOULD I WISH. AND RETURN WAS TO BE EASY SINCE DEFECTIVE PRINTER WAS TO BE RETURNED IN NEW REPLACEMENT'S BOX WHICH WOULD COME WITH SELF MAILER LABEL.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

PostedSeptember 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This printer is an excellent tool and has a great number of features. The compact size saves a lot on space and the wireless feature is great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

many features

PostedSeptember 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:San Diego
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
But I Have a lot of paper jamming for no good reason.
AND it is very difficult to remove and replace the "pinched
bar" when a jam occurs. Feel I'm apt to break something,
cause the replacement of this bar is so difficult!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Wireless Connection Problems

PostedSeptember 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:NC
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I would probably love this product if it would have printed for me. I have had it over a week now and I can print configuration and status reports out the ying yang but cannot get it to print anything from my documents or off the computer. It says its connected and everything looks good but will not print my stuff. I have bought HP products for years so I know they want to make this right. Besides, it's the third printer I have had in the past year and a half. They have to send me one that will work eventually, right? Don't get me wrong, I really love HP products, I am just having a few more problems than anticipated. I would like to know if anyone else is having the same problem I am...
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome!!!

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great printer, really thin, fast, and the performance is just outstanding.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

JUst right

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Freeport, NY
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to set up and use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love this new printer

PostedOctober 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Chicago suburbs
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was unaware of this printer until speaking with Customer Service. I love this printer for its size, clarity of print and the options I need and use. Best of all - it is a great package reasonably priced. Thank you CS rep for your recommendation and expertise.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product takes care of our current needs.

PostedOctober 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Kentucky
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Beginner
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
When the time comes to get an all-in-one w/ fax and load tray, we will choose a HP.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy Setup

PostedOctober 21, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:wisconsin
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have tried multiple wireless printers and they all hook up to the network initially but then stop working. I am very pleased that this product was not only easy to set up but it is still working :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

A great disappointment

PostedOctober 28, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The first printer I was sent lost the ability to find a wireless network after 10 days. HP insisted on sending a replacement, which came up with paper jam messages when it was not jammed and did not do duplex printing correctly. Needless to say, the replacement went back to HP, and I will not be trying again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does everything I need it to do.

PostedNovember 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Miami, FL
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Was easy to set up and connect to my wifi. Prints great and takes up very little space. Just what I needed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Features, But Some Problems!

PostedNovember 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:St. Louis, MO
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
I have had some problems with paper jams. The paper loading seems to be very fast, but sometimes jams in back of system. It is fairly easy to clear out!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.