HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop ENVY or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer

hp HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer

HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Print/Scan/Copy
Overall rating:
4.116 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(95 reviews) 95
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 95 reviews
5 Stars
58
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
5
1 Star
10
79 out of 95(83%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Review 1 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disappointing So Far.

PostedNovember 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Colorado Springs, CO
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Have used HP printers for over 20 years; this is my fourth one. Ordered two because my son also needed a new printer, and the reviews for the e4500 were very positive.
Extremely pleased with the amount of time it took for delivery--arrived three days after ordering. Set-up was easy using the provided DVD, but there were a couple of steps that were not clear and required some intuition about what to do next. My son had the same problem with his set-up.
Initial operation was unsatisfactory. Had to run several test pages, run and re-run printer alignment procedures, and scrub through the HP online support site for a couple of days to finally get decent printed products. The printer was not completing letters at the top left corner, middle of left edge, and bottom right corner of simple word documents and test pages. That problem seems to be fixed.
The time from turn on until the printer is ready to print is almost exactly 60 seconds. This is at least three times longer than the eleven year old HP I replaced because the new one includes acquiring the wireless signal. The modem it must find is less than three feet away. Was not prepared for that because I had not encountered any comments about boot time in the many reviews I read. So if you're going to run a print job and are in a hurry, turn the printer on first before going to your computer. Additionally, I cannot turn the printer on with a print command from either of my computers as was the case with my previous printer. Small point, but a technological step backward instead of forward.
On Day Four, I tried to print a document but found the computer and printer were no longer communicating with one other. Finally decided to download the installation program from the HP site instead of using the DVD again. As was true with the DVD install, the online program required some intuitive decsions about what to do, but nothing very difficult to figure out. Have been using the printer for about seven days since re-installing the software program--so far, so good.
The scan function is satisfactory, although I have to use the "TIFF Document" selection rather than PDF. Cleverly, you get to sign up with Adobe for a couple of dollars a month if you want to use their program to send a document to your computer. Another step backward, at least for the consumer.
Overall, I'm quite disappointed with my experience with the e4500 at this point of ownership. On the contrary, my previous printer, an HP Photosmart 7760, did not give me a speck of trouble in eleven years of use. Only replaced it because it was not compatible with the new Windows 7 computer I had to buy to replace a used up old XP-based soldier. My son hasn't used his e4500 much yet, but hasn't encountered the problems I've described. As they say, perhaps I got a lemon after years of having superb dependabilty from HP printers.
+9points
11of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Even after that I still love it

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Beaufort, NC
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Bought this printer to replace a B209a that I had for 4 years. A great printer, built like a tank and just as large, but was an inkaholic. Got the ENVY on sale and also went with the HP Instant Ink Plan. The printer arrived but would not 'power up". Called tech support and told them I had already done everything recommended by the HP website. They sent me a new printer (overnight) and it has been a great printer so far. Prints great pictures and is much smaller and quieter than the B209a. Gave the B209a to someone who needed a printer. Been with HP for 9 years and this is the first time I have had a problem...but it was resolved quickly and to my satisfaction.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pretty cool two-sided printing

PostedAugust 31, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Jacksonville, FL
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I haven't used all the features of this printer yet, but it wasn't too hard to set up. It was more difficult to obtain the "CODE" to link it with HP than anything else. The first thing I printed was two-sided and WOW - it pulls the paper back in to print the reverse. Unfortunately that movement causes the backside to be printed upside down - which is no problem if you attach the pages at the top - otherwise it can be inconvenient. You can print reverse by manually turning you pages over and resetting them in the paper tray - but the paper tray must be pulled out in order to complete that action.
The color is great on this machine - and the scanning is also super convenient. Right now, I think it's pretty great. I really like it - and I am negatively-technically inclined - believe it.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very good printer scanner

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Mobile, AL
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I like to scan any receipts or medical papers I may need later. this print/scanner is very good and is easy to use. I bought 1 and junked my older printers. I bought 2 envy 5530 about 3 weeks ago; they are very good also. the 4500 was on sale for additional $30 off so I ordered it , so I now have 3 very good printers so I wont need one for a few years.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Impressive

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Racine, WI
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Although attempting to use on line set up did not work, using the included CD Rom disc, was just as easy. I like all the features including web printing or e-printing. The LCD for copying, scanning, or printing on the device is a nice feature. It has wireless and network capabilities. There is also included apps or pages that are included which I have chosen some to download when i want, that help my child learn. And i also like the convenience of an resupply of ink plan, based on pages printed out and not costing excessive amounts of money, that one would pay for cartridges in the store. My overall rating says it all. And it does photo printing as well as when doing a multipage document it prints on both sides of the paper.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Purchase an ink refill contract

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Cherry Hill, NJ
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wanted a small printer that would fit on my desk. Other than the small footprint, the reason I bought it was because of the automatic ink refill service. We print out around 200 pages per month. Ink on my other HP printer is averaging around $50 per month. Now I'm only paying $10 for up to 300 pages and the cartridges arrive at my door before they run out. It doesn't matter if I print in bIack & White or color or if it's a document or photograph. A page is a page. I think HP would sell a lot more of these printers if they did a better job of marketing the ink refill service. I don't recall seeing anything inside the packaging to promote the service.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Wireless Connection Problems

PostedSeptember 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:NC
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I would probably love this product if it would have printed for me. I have had it over a week now and I can print configuration and status reports out the ying yang but cannot get it to print anything from my documents or off the computer. It says its connected and everything looks good but will not print my stuff. I have bought HP products for years so I know they want to make this right. Besides, it's the third printer I have had in the past year and a half. They have to send me one that will work eventually, right? Don't get me wrong, I really love HP products, I am just having a few more problems than anticipated. I would like to know if anyone else is having the same problem I am...
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product very user friendly

PostedJune 21, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Anderson, IN
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Envy 4500 Series Printer is very easy to set up. I love that it only has 2 cartridges and not multiples. I have used it to print from phone, lap top, desktop, kindle, and i pad, works well with all of them. Would definitely recommend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Printer

PostedApril 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Lehighton, Pa.
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Does everything I need it to do. Easy to setup. Very Quiet. Prints well. I highly recommend this printer. Thank you HP.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great printer!

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Raleigh, NC
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have read other reviews on this printer and I don't see where the issues are. I love my new printer and recently upgraded from an old HP printer that I've had since 2008 that still works great for prints (just doesn't align correctly). The only issue I had when I received my printer was that the black ink took a while to fully kick in but otherwise have had no issues. I love the instant ink feature as well as the additional features that allow you to choose when they print so you can have weekly items automatically print each week or daily. I also love the e-print feature. You can email an attachment to custom email address that you choose for your printer and the document will print as soon as the email is received. A confirmation email is also sent once the email is received. Overall, this was a great buy for the price that I purchased it for and I will continue to buy HP products!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Printer

PostedJune 16, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Wyoming
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to set up, easy to print from any device. Really like the print plan. Can't get it to connect wirelessly to my laptop, but I suspect that it is the a laptop and not the printer. This is a great printer and scanner.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Printer working great

PostedNovember 29, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Denver, IA
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ordered this online and received it in two days. Had went with the normal 5-7 business day free shipping. Easy set up, however I haven't set it up for the wireless feature as of this time. Much easier to install the ink cartridges than my old HP printer. Quality of printing & scanning is good. Have enjoyed checking out all of the features. The book and the set up wizard very easy to follow. So far I have been very satisfied with the Envy 4500 printer and would recommend it to others.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

DOESN'T PRINT ON CARDSTOCK

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Wausau, WI
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I've had HP Printers for as long as I can remember. My old printer started having paper jams and seeing as I'm getting married and need to print out invites, I thought I would buy a printer that I could depend on. Boy was I wrong... I set-up the printer and that was easy enough, I had no problems getting a wireless connection, and was pretty excited that I could print from my phone.
I got my invites all ready to print, and tried a few rough drafts on regular paper to make sure my trim marks were all in place. I then started to print on card stock. It jammed. I cleared it and tried again. For some reason it only printed the last half of my image on the first half of the page. I reset my settings and tried again. This time it printed a pool of ink n the end of the page... I tried again with regular paper and it worked fine. May be a good printer for everyday use, but not was I had intended it for. :(
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great features

PostedJune 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Central Illinois
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The ability to tie two computers, an ipad and smart phone to printer without having the change hard wiring to use each on.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Price

PostedJune 10, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Davenport, Iowa
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality print, easy to use. Easy to connect to WIFi. However, I wish it had a memory card slot.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

HP Envy 4500 Printer

PostedApril 13, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Baltimore
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This is a great all around printer as long as you use it for printing documents. If you intend to use it for printing pictures do NOT buy this one, you will be highly disappointed. The wireless feature is great and printing documents it works great. It did lack set up instructions but it was easy to set up. Right out of the box I tried putting it through its paces and attempted to print a few pictures. Time after time it left streaks
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer

PostedNovember 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Maryland
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the best printer I have owned I love HP products they seem to always out do other competitors since 1998 with my first HP desktop. This printer was a easy set up straight out of the box, with no wires needed. All wireless which I love I can print from anywhere in my house on any computer or smart phone thanks to my HP Envy! Another feature I love is the professional looking photos. I bought the HP photo paper to go along with the printer. I also enjoy HP photo creations it makes it just tops everything off.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent product so far.

PostedJuly 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
after initial set up difficulties ,not attributable to the printer,rather a software issue,it is working fine. i must compliment your tech department for helping me through the matter and getting me going. they deserve a lot of credit. shipping was also excellent. thank you
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

paper jams up often

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:pittsburgh pa
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
the paper jams up often and ink rail sticks quite a bit.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't buy it. Not Compatible with MS Office!

PostedAugust 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I purchased this printer to replace a broken printer. Thinking this was a great buy, I didn't realize that Envy 4500 is NOT compatible with Microsoft Office 2007. I spent 2 hours on HP tech support via phone troubleshooting and got no success.
Microsoft Office is the bread and butter of what I do, and though I wish I could upgrade to 2010 or 2013 (and HOPE those work), I can't because I'm in the military and I can only work with the software the Army gives me, so I'm stuck with 2007 and a printer that isn't compatible with some of the most common software.
FYI, I am using Windows 7, 32 bit.
+2points
8of 14voted this as helpful.