HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop ENVY or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer

hp HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer

HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Print/Scan/Copy
Overall rating:
4.076 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(66 reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 66 reviews
5 Stars
40
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
3
1 Star
8
55 out of 66(83%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Review 1 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disappointing So Far.

PostedNovember 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Colorado Springs, CO
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Have used HP printers for over 20 years; this is my fourth one. Ordered two because my son also needed a new printer, and the reviews for the e4500 were very positive.
Extremely pleased with the amount of time it took for delivery--arrived three days after ordering. Set-up was easy using the provided DVD, but there were a couple of steps that were not clear and required some intuition about what to do next. My son had the same problem with his set-up.
Initial operation was unsatisfactory. Had to run several test pages, run and re-run printer alignment procedures, and scrub through the HP online support site for a couple of days to finally get decent printed products. The printer was not completing letters at the top left corner, middle of left edge, and bottom right corner of simple word documents and test pages. That problem seems to be fixed.
The time from turn on until the printer is ready to print is almost exactly 60 seconds. This is at least three times longer than the eleven year old HP I replaced because the new one includes acquiring the wireless signal. The modem it must find is less than three feet away. Was not prepared for that because I had not encountered any comments about boot time in the many reviews I read. So if you're going to run a print job and are in a hurry, turn the printer on first before going to your computer. Additionally, I cannot turn the printer on with a print command from either of my computers as was the case with my previous printer. Small point, but a technological step backward instead of forward.
On Day Four, I tried to print a document but found the computer and printer were no longer communicating with one other. Finally decided to download the installation program from the HP site instead of using the DVD again. As was true with the DVD install, the online program required some intuitive decsions about what to do, but nothing very difficult to figure out. Have been using the printer for about seven days since re-installing the software program--so far, so good.
The scan function is satisfactory, although I have to use the "TIFF Document" selection rather than PDF. Cleverly, you get to sign up with Adobe for a couple of dollars a month if you want to use their program to send a document to your computer. Another step backward, at least for the consumer.
Overall, I'm quite disappointed with my experience with the e4500 at this point of ownership. On the contrary, my previous printer, an HP Photosmart 7760, did not give me a speck of trouble in eleven years of use. Only replaced it because it was not compatible with the new Windows 7 computer I had to buy to replace a used up old XP-based soldier. My son hasn't used his e4500 much yet, but hasn't encountered the problems I've described. As they say, perhaps I got a lemon after years of having superb dependabilty from HP printers.
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very good printer scanner

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Mobile, AL
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I like to scan any receipts or medical papers I may need later. this print/scanner is very good and is easy to use. I bought 1 and junked my older printers. I bought 2 envy 5530 about 3 weeks ago; they are very good also. the 4500 was on sale for additional $30 off so I ordered it , so I now have 3 very good printers so I wont need one for a few years.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Impressive

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Racine, WI
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Although attempting to use on line set up did not work, using the included CD Rom disc, was just as easy. I like all the features including web printing or e-printing. The LCD for copying, scanning, or printing on the device is a nice feature. It has wireless and network capabilities. There is also included apps or pages that are included which I have chosen some to download when i want, that help my child learn. And i also like the convenience of an resupply of ink plan, based on pages printed out and not costing excessive amounts of money, that one would pay for cartridges in the store. My overall rating says it all. And it does photo printing as well as when doing a multipage document it prints on both sides of the paper.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Purchase an ink refill contract

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Cherry Hill, NJ
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wanted a small printer that would fit on my desk. Other than the small footprint, the reason I bought it was because of the automatic ink refill service. We print out around 200 pages per month. Ink on my other HP printer is averaging around $50 per month. Now I'm only paying $10 for up to 300 pages and the cartridges arrive at my door before they run out. It doesn't matter if I print in bIack & White or color or if it's a document or photograph. A page is a page. I think HP would sell a lot more of these printers if they did a better job of marketing the ink refill service. I don't recall seeing anything inside the packaging to promote the service.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Wireless Connection Problems

PostedSeptember 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:NC
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I would probably love this product if it would have printed for me. I have had it over a week now and I can print configuration and status reports out the ying yang but cannot get it to print anything from my documents or off the computer. It says its connected and everything looks good but will not print my stuff. I have bought HP products for years so I know they want to make this right. Besides, it's the third printer I have had in the past year and a half. They have to send me one that will work eventually, right? Don't get me wrong, I really love HP products, I am just having a few more problems than anticipated. I would like to know if anyone else is having the same problem I am...
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great printer!

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Raleigh, NC
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have read other reviews on this printer and I don't see where the issues are. I love my new printer and recently upgraded from an old HP printer that I've had since 2008 that still works great for prints (just doesn't align correctly). The only issue I had when I received my printer was that the black ink took a while to fully kick in but otherwise have had no issues. I love the instant ink feature as well as the additional features that allow you to choose when they print so you can have weekly items automatically print each week or daily. I also love the e-print feature. You can email an attachment to custom email address that you choose for your printer and the document will print as soon as the email is received. A confirmation email is also sent once the email is received. Overall, this was a great buy for the price that I purchased it for and I will continue to buy HP products!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Printer working great

PostedNovember 29, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Denver, IA
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ordered this online and received it in two days. Had went with the normal 5-7 business day free shipping. Easy set up, however I haven't set it up for the wireless feature as of this time. Much easier to install the ink cartridges than my old HP printer. Quality of printing & scanning is good. Have enjoyed checking out all of the features. The book and the set up wizard very easy to follow. So far I have been very satisfied with the Envy 4500 printer and would recommend it to others.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer

PostedNovember 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Maryland
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the best printer I have owned I love HP products they seem to always out do other competitors since 1998 with my first HP desktop. This printer was a easy set up straight out of the box, with no wires needed. All wireless which I love I can print from anywhere in my house on any computer or smart phone thanks to my HP Envy! Another feature I love is the professional looking photos. I bought the HP photo paper to go along with the printer. I also enjoy HP photo creations it makes it just tops everything off.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent product so far.

PostedJuly 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
after initial set up difficulties ,not attributable to the printer,rather a software issue,it is working fine. i must compliment your tech department for helping me through the matter and getting me going. they deserve a lot of credit. shipping was also excellent. thank you
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

paper jams up often

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:pittsburgh pa
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
the paper jams up often and ink rail sticks quite a bit.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't buy it. Not Compatible with MS Office!

PostedAugust 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I purchased this printer to replace a broken printer. Thinking this was a great buy, I didn't realize that Envy 4500 is NOT compatible with Microsoft Office 2007. I spent 2 hours on HP tech support via phone troubleshooting and got no success.
Microsoft Office is the bread and butter of what I do, and though I wish I could upgrade to 2010 or 2013 (and HOPE those work), I can't because I'm in the military and I can only work with the software the Army gives me, so I'm stuck with 2007 and a printer that isn't compatible with some of the most common software.
FYI, I am using Windows 7, 32 bit.
+2points
8of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

not a photo printer

PostedAugust 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:maryland
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
nice eprinter prints plain paper very nice
photos are poor quality and use alot of ink
if you print with windows 7 photo gallery or picture veiwer you get two streaks
makes picture look like you cut into three pieces and taped it back together
User submitted photo
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

ITS GREAT; IT BROKE TWO DAYS LATER

PostedAugust 29, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I REGISTERED IT 8/28. 8/29 IT WENT INTO CARRIAGE JAM AND AFTER 55 MINUTES WITH HELP IT WAS AGREED IT WAS FAULTY AND HAD TO BE RETURNED. I USED IT FOR MAYBE FOUR DAYS.
I WILL SAY A REPLACEMENT WAS TO BE DELIVERED IN TWO DAYS SHOULD I WISH. AND RETURN WAS TO BE EASY SINCE DEFECTIVE PRINTER WAS TO BE RETURNED IN NEW REPLACEMENT'S BOX WHICH WOULD COME WITH SELF MAILER LABEL.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good print quality

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Walnut Creek, CA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This printer has really good print quality. I am very pleased with the printer. I was a little disappointed i couldn't get the wireless connection to work, but that wasn't a big deal to me.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Printing quality is great!

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Fort Walton Beach FL
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Unit is a bit noisy but to get the quality of print, I will forego the noise. I haven't got the scanner set up to scan to my computer but I will one day soon. For the price and all it's attributes, I think I made a wise choice in purchasing this printer.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

like to e-print

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Apalachin, NY
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The reason i bought this was for the eprint. Do not care for the print coupons and have not figured out how to delete the program. Uses to much ink
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is perfect for small spaces.

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Decatur, GA
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am moving to a new address and I did not want to add weight to my packing. This is perfect. It is the size I wanted. The weight is perfect. It is easy to operate.
Only one number to remember when replacing an ink cartridge.
I purchased the Combo-pack. (2 HP Ink Cartridge)-61 The printer arrived on schedule.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Printer

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Whitehall, Ohio
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I received this printer for Christmas. I wanted one that had color and would also copy and scan. It does all this with no problems.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice low cost printer!

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Uniontown, PA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought the printer on line around Christmas. The entire process was pleasant, everything as stated and more. Delivered on time, set up a breeze, and the printer works as expected, meets specs, + some additional free software from HP makes it an excellent buy for our use.
I don't know how they can offer a printer with all these features for the price of this 4500 all in one. It's not a heavy duty machine like their larger office units but for the average home user it is great, has all the features we need, and the price is fantastic!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I like it. It tells me what it is doing.

PostedNovember 25, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:REhoboth,DE
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
I like it.However the plug in cord does not stay in and I have to tape it to the top of the printer.However, it tells me what to do and what it is doing. I would recomend it/
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.