HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop ENVY or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer

hp HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer

HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Print/Scan/Copy
Overall rating:
4.121 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(99 reviews) 99
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 99 reviews
5 Stars
61
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
6
1 Star
10
82 out of 99(83%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Review 1 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

not a photo printer

PostedAugust 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:maryland
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
nice eprinter prints plain paper very nice
photos are poor quality and use alot of ink
if you print with windows 7 photo gallery or picture veiwer you get two streaks
makes picture look like you cut into three pieces and taped it back together
User submitted photo
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfect for my needs

PostedSeptember 26, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
fast color very good love the wireless feature A-1 in my book thanks
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect

PostedSeptember 25, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Austin
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works great. Installation was a breeze. How is it possible that
such a fine printer is available at such a low price? $75 or so.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

great features if yiu know how.

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Astoria Or..
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Beginner
Primary use:Personal
I do-not how to program the hp Envy 4500 e-all-in-one Series with the disk. I guess if you are 35 instead of 81 and a male you can do it.
I will do better. I will wait for my brother in-law ( my daughter's other half ) to come to see me.
He will fix it for me the HP Envy 4500 e -all - in - one Series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

works good

PostedSeptember 21, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:kansas
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
out of 75 pages printed it occasionally sends 2 sheets, 1 blank. not much of a problem, just reload blank papers when finished printing!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very Good Printer

PostedSeptember 13, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Charleston, SC
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
this a very good air printer. it works great at home. it was easy to setup not to many problems. it does get tired, a student I print a lot of papers. my papers can be 13 or more pages one sided as the evening wears on it gets tired. I rest it about 15 mins then it is good to go.
the only problem I have had is: out of town for the summer it would not connect to my hotspot, library WI-FI, or someone's home WI-FI. so for 3 months I was not able to use it. It is not so small as to be a mobile printer but I need my own printer (less family conflicts), I was not a happy camper. I get home plug in, WI-FI on and it prints just like it had been printing everyday. it works well with my hotspot at home too, weird dude it is. So it loves having a home not traveling around the US. so I call it homeboy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wonderful Printer (Print, Scan, Copy and Photo)

PostedSeptember 10, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Virginia
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PRO:
You can't find a better wireless duplex printing machine at this price. It is resonably fast and produces excellent color photos. When setup for Wireless (WiFi) it can support all your printers on your home network. Within minutes of setup my daughter sent 15 pages that she wanted printed duplex (duplex color printing both sides). To prevent any smearing on the flip side of the page, this printer automatically pauses for a few seconds to allow the ink on side one to dry. As it pauses, it will send an onscreen message to the requestor that it is paused for drying (about 5 seconds).
CON:
The black ink cartridge supplied with this printer is extremely small in capacity. This is not a problem as larger ink cartridges are available at retail (low cost.) If you want to avoid changing them just buy the XL (Hi Yield). The unit did not have a printed manual to describe operation of the printer/paper handling but an online version is available.
Comment: some people report paper jamming but I have none. I have seen this complaint on many printers and the cause is usually paper weight and quality. I always use 24 lb Bright White and among all printers including this one - have not experienced jamming. I would avoid using 20 lb low cost paper as it is low in fabric content and tends to be slick.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Compact

PostedSeptember 10, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Bridgeton, N.J.
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
I like all the features it has in one Printer/ Scanner Easy to use .Highly recommend to others
The price is Right !
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pretty cool two-sided printing

PostedAugust 31, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Jacksonville, FL
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I haven't used all the features of this printer yet, but it wasn't too hard to set up. It was more difficult to obtain the "CODE" to link it with HP than anything else. The first thing I printed was two-sided and WOW - it pulls the paper back in to print the reverse. Unfortunately that movement causes the backside to be printed upside down - which is no problem if you attach the pages at the top - otherwise it can be inconvenient. You can print reverse by manually turning you pages over and resetting them in the paper tray - but the paper tray must be pulled out in order to complete that action.
The color is great on this machine - and the scanning is also super convenient. Right now, I think it's pretty great. I really like it - and I am negatively-technically inclined - believe it.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

couldn't get past set up.

PostedAugust 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Long Beach, CA
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Was sent a defective printer, very upset because although instructions seem simple, the actual printer constantly told me I had a carriage jam, when it clearly was not jammed and there was nothing inside to cause this. Customer support took me 1 hour, repetitive instructions that didn't solve the problem, and I now have to deal with exchanging it. Maybe I'll give the product a better review once I get one that actually works. Not a good start, it might end up being a simple return.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Gets the job done.

PostedAugust 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I was really pleased with the purchase process and the delivery of the product. The product was easy to set up and has great print quality. However, we are having problems with the paper jamming in the printer causing errors during printing. The paper jams several times before a print can be made. Once printing begins the quality of the print is good. Its a little frustrating, but it gets the job done.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Printer

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Warner Robins, GA
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It is a good all in one printer
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It is a great purchase,

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:ALb, nm
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
easy to set up, use, and operate.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Set-up Easy, Printing great!

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Charleston, SC
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was very pleased with the fast shipping process.
The printer was very easy to set-up and use.
The printing goes slowly but I do not need to print very much so it works for me.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simple to use

PostedAugust 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Vermont
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great price and performance
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

DOESN'T PRINT ON CARDSTOCK

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Wausau, WI
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I've had HP Printers for as long as I can remember. My old printer started having paper jams and seeing as I'm getting married and need to print out invites, I thought I would buy a printer that I could depend on. Boy was I wrong... I set-up the printer and that was easy enough, I had no problems getting a wireless connection, and was pretty excited that I could print from my phone.
I got my invites all ready to print, and tried a few rough drafts on regular paper to make sure my trim marks were all in place. I then started to print on card stock. It jammed. I cleared it and tried again. For some reason it only printed the last half of my image on the first half of the page. I reset my settings and tried again. This time it printed a pool of ink n the end of the page... I tried again with regular paper and it worked fine. May be a good printer for everyday use, but not was I had intended it for. :(
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good product for the price

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Coral Gables, FL
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It fulfills our expectations and has the basic features to run a home office
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great printer

PostedJuly 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Aurora, Co
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I like that it has direct WIFI and will print on both sides of the paper automatically. The printer is very quit and has a lot of good features and it was not to expensive.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So far so good.

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Kansas City, MO
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy set up and it works. My old 3520 just flat out died. A bit slow hooking up when printing but not that bad. Very good resolution. It appears HP printers last 3 years and just die out. Good buy for the price I'd guess.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Even after that I still love it

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Beaufort, NC
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Bought this printer to replace a B209a that I had for 4 years. A great printer, built like a tank and just as large, but was an inkaholic. Got the ENVY on sale and also went with the HP Instant Ink Plan. The printer arrived but would not 'power up". Called tech support and told them I had already done everything recommended by the HP website. They sent me a new printer (overnight) and it has been a great printer so far. Prints great pictures and is much smaller and quieter than the B209a. Gave the B209a to someone who needed a printer. Been with HP for 9 years and this is the first time I have had a problem...but it was resolved quickly and to my satisfaction.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.