HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop ENVY or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer

hp HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer

HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Print/Scan/Copy
Overall rating:
4.111 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(81 reviews) 81
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 81 reviews
5 Stars
50
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
4
1 Star
9
67 out of 81(83%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Review 21 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product, wireless hookup problems

PostedApril 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Bellevue,NE
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been extremely happy with all HP products that I have and this printer so far is no exception. I did have to spend considerable frustrating hours trying to set up for wireless printing. We were trying to print using a Century link e-mail account and it will only work with certain e mail accounts. We now have to forward whatever we want to print from the Century Link account to our Gmail account in order to print it wirelessly then it works great. I also wish that it had a wakeup feature for when a print project is sent and the printer is turned off. Now you either have to leave it on all the time or print within 24 hours of sending the item to be printed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Everything I wanted

PostedApril 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Rural Minnesota
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I already had a HP printer but I had to get up and go plug it into my laptop everytime I wanted to print something so I decided to check into a wireless. I went with HP again because I have always had good luck with their products. I was not looking to spend a lot of money on one so didn't know what features I would be able to get while staying withing my price range. The Envy has everything I want and is very reasonably priced. I am very happy with it. I love being able to print whatever I want and know it's waiting back in my office. It was also easy to set up and if you can read and follow instructions it's a snap. You will not be disappointed with this purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

New printer

PostedApril 2, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Zapata Texas
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this printer because my 4680 was giving me grief. Had it for 4 years and assumed it was getting old. Setup was a snap, not like the older ones. This one is not any noisier than the old one. Used it yesterday and much to my surprise it notified me that there was an upgrade. Clicked upgrade and the printer did the upgrade without me having to go through the computer. Wonderful. Couldn't beat the price and I needed new ink cartridges for my 4680. If this one lasts as long as the last one I will be really happy. Recommend to anyone looking for a nice sized printer with HP quality and convenience.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best new printer

PostedMarch 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Hackettstown, NJ
Gender:Female
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
works perfectly! I've used it to to scan documents and directly upload them to my computer. and it's always connected right to my network.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good print quality

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Walnut Creek, CA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This printer has really good print quality. I am very pleased with the printer. I was a little disappointed i couldn't get the wireless connection to work, but that wasn't a big deal to me.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing; Highly Recommend

PostedMarch 16, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Norwalk, CT
Gender:Female
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I highly recommend this product. As a college student, I need a very reliable printer that had most of the feature I required, but was also affordable. This printer is perfect. It is small and does not take up too much space. The printing speed is close to perfect. The thing that got me was: THE SETUP! It was FAST & EASY. The printer recognized my Wi-Fi right away and like I stated: SETUP WAS EASY AS 1,2,3. Absolutely love this printer. It can be a little noisy when printing things, but that's not a huge deal when it does everything I need it to. :)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great printer!

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Raleigh, NC
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have read other reviews on this printer and I don't see where the issues are. I love my new printer and recently upgraded from an old HP printer that I've had since 2008 that still works great for prints (just doesn't align correctly). The only issue I had when I received my printer was that the black ink took a while to fully kick in but otherwise have had no issues. I love the instant ink feature as well as the additional features that allow you to choose when they print so you can have weekly items automatically print each week or daily. I also love the e-print feature. You can email an attachment to custom email address that you choose for your printer and the document will print as soon as the email is received. A confirmation email is also sent once the email is received. Overall, this was a great buy for the price that I purchased it for and I will continue to buy HP products!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Printing quality is great!

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Fort Walton Beach FL
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Unit is a bit noisy but to get the quality of print, I will forego the noise. I haven't got the scanner set up to scan to my computer but I will one day soon. For the price and all it's attributes, I think I made a wise choice in purchasing this printer.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very good printer scanner

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Mobile, AL
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I like to scan any receipts or medical papers I may need later. this print/scanner is very good and is easy to use. I bought 1 and junked my older printers. I bought 2 envy 5530 about 3 weeks ago; they are very good also. the 4500 was on sale for additional $30 off so I ordered it , so I now have 3 very good printers so I wont need one for a few years.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

terrible

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
I print a lot of tax returns and bought this printer thinking it would be good my job. Every return I print stops in the middle of printing and will not allow me to print the last few sheets. I have tried adjusting all the settings and still get a printer error message each time. Very frustrating!
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Impressive

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Racine, WI
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Although attempting to use on line set up did not work, using the included CD Rom disc, was just as easy. I like all the features including web printing or e-printing. The LCD for copying, scanning, or printing on the device is a nice feature. It has wireless and network capabilities. There is also included apps or pages that are included which I have chosen some to download when i want, that help my child learn. And i also like the convenience of an resupply of ink plan, based on pages printed out and not costing excessive amounts of money, that one would pay for cartridges in the store. My overall rating says it all. And it does photo printing as well as when doing a multipage document it prints on both sides of the paper.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

like to e-print

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Apalachin, NY
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The reason i bought this was for the eprint. Do not care for the print coupons and have not figured out how to delete the program. Uses to much ink
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Purchase an ink refill contract

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Cherry Hill, NJ
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wanted a small printer that would fit on my desk. Other than the small footprint, the reason I bought it was because of the automatic ink refill service. We print out around 200 pages per month. Ink on my other HP printer is averaging around $50 per month. Now I'm only paying $10 for up to 300 pages and the cartridges arrive at my door before they run out. It doesn't matter if I print in bIack & White or color or if it's a document or photograph. A page is a page. I think HP would sell a lot more of these printers if they did a better job of marketing the ink refill service. I don't recall seeing anything inside the packaging to promote the service.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

paper jams up often

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:pittsburgh pa
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
the paper jams up often and ink rail sticks quite a bit.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Envoy printer

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Texas
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I was pleased with ordering online and my product is what
was needed for home office.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is perfect for small spaces.

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Decatur, GA
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am moving to a new address and I did not want to add weight to my packing. This is perfect. It is the size I wanted. The weight is perfect. It is easy to operate.
Only one number to remember when replacing an ink cartridge.
I purchased the Combo-pack. (2 HP Ink Cartridge)-61 The printer arrived on schedule.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst Printer Ever

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Age:Under 25
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I got this present as a gift for Christmas. I'm a university student and print A LOT. I was lucky if this printer printed a page without crumpling it up. It CONSTANTLY paper jammed AND on top of that, when I attempted to fix the jam, it cancelled the print instead of continuing it. What printer does that?? I made sure that nothing was in the way of the printer to make sure that wasn't the reason for the many crumpled up papers, but nope. All was fine. Just very poorly designed. If you want your papers to serve the purpose of a fan or accordion, this printer is perfect for you.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

not for me

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:n.c
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I ordered this product, it was a nice product . it did not go wifi like I thought that it would so I sent it back. would not even print. sorry hp I forgot and left the cartridges in the printer they are there though. to bad it wasn't for me maybe soon I can do something different and get it back.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DO NOT BUY

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Being a University student, I needed a printer to make it more convenient to print assignments at home. I had heard good things about HP, so I decided to try out this printer. It worked well the first couple times, but sadly after that it did NOT do its job. Only TWO DAYS after getting this printer I have had multiple printer jams and failed printing jobs. It seems to cut out in the middle of printing for no reason. I tried all of HP's services such as HP Print and Scan doctor and their help forums with no luck. I was really looking forward to using this printer and possibly purchasing more HP products. After this fiasco, I will probably never purchase anything with the brand HP on it again.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great features/Great price

PostedJanuary 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:port griffith
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WiFi ,Print, copy, and scan. Just what I wanted.Not to big unit (footprint) Easy to set up,wireless worked very well all I had to do was remove from the box .remove shipping material plug in, install ink and scan a few sheets. It basically set itself up. So simple a 10 year could do it. Very impressed with the printing it does.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.