HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop ENVY or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer

hp HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer

HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Print/Scan/Copy
Overall rating:
4.109 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(92 reviews) 92
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 92 reviews
5 Stars
57
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
5
1 Star
10
76 out of 92(83%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Review 21 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

a PAIN

PostedMay 31, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Indiana
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
My daughter who is very tech savvy had a difficult time getting the printer to work.It took her over an hour and a half to get it to work halfway. It won't connect to my phone for eprint. The scanner will work ONLY if you do TWENTY MILLION things to make it work...go here. Do this. Do that. Close this. A PAIN. I won't use it.. So far, the printer works well. I should send it back, but there is NO WAY I'll be able to set it up by myself. All I really wanted was the printer and scanner. Guess I can live with one of them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Ok so far.

PostedMay 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I bought the printer looking for small footprint, unfortunately did not check the requirements.
My old computer is running XP 64 bit which is NOT supported...
Seems like it would be pretty simple to port over but no...
Printer had a paper jam the 3rd time I used it. Other than that it works ok...
It could come with more documentation.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Real Good Printer!

PostedMay 7, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Colorado
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have only been using this HP ENVY 4500 for about a month but am very impressed so far. It was easy to set up and connected to my wifi without any problem. HP printers have consistently performed well for me and this one is no exception!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good product

PostedApril 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Longview, WA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Beginner
Primary use:Personal
The Envy 4500 does a great job printing and copying. I have not yet been able to scan a document into my computer.
Help?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Did not work

PostedApril 25, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Florida
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I always bought HP products as all my computers are HP, however this printer bough recently was the first time I had any problem. It simply would not work so therefore I returned the printer.
I'm not through trusting HP product but the printer I ordered on-line was a defect so I sent it back.
Thank You
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happy Customer!

PostedApril 24, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Printer arrived earlier than promised.
Unpacking and setup took 5 minutes.
Hooking up to the wireless in my home was easy and painless - and worked at first try.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Printer

PostedApril 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Lehighton, Pa.
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Does everything I need it to do. Easy to setup. Very Quiet. Prints well. I highly recommend this printer. Thank you HP.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

HP Envy 4500 Printer

PostedApril 13, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Baltimore
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This is a great all around printer as long as you use it for printing documents. If you intend to use it for printing pictures do NOT buy this one, you will be highly disappointed. The wireless feature is great and printing documents it works great. It did lack set up instructions but it was easy to set up. Right out of the box I tried putting it through its paces and attempted to print a few pictures. Time after time it left streaks
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Lousy printer

PostedApril 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Oakland,CA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
The printer would not print my photos in the portrait mode but only in landscape mode, cutting off the head. I made sure I had selected portrait mode. It stinks!
When trying to print a page from the internet, it won't do it until I copy the page to my computer, pasting into a Word document, unless I print from the Firefox browser command.
The LED screen is small and poorly set up. The command function buttons are very hard to see.
Avoid this printer! I won't buy another HP printer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent with only 1 problem

PostedApril 7, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Phoeniz, AZ
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is an excellent printer especially since it is eligible for the Instant ink program. The only problem that I have experienced is printing Tax forms generated by the HR Block tax program, It will only print 1/2 of the 2nd page of tax forms (both the Fed and State programs). It will always stop at the 1/2 point on the 2nd page. It does this every time. Other printing is fine. It will print multiple pages but not tax forms. If I save the forms as PDF in the HR Block program - it will print both pages correctly. Otherwise it is an excellent printer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ease of use

PostedApril 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Yuba City, CA.
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This printer is my 1st wireless and HP printer. By far the easiest to set up in every aspect. Love the wireless feature as sometimes I am on my laptop on the patio and need to print something, it works great, no wires to go connect, just click and print. Quality is outstanding for both text and pictures. It almost set itself up, I would recommend this printer to anyone who is an intermediate user. I have yet to use all the features but feel confident I will have no hick ups along the way.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product, wireless hookup problems

PostedApril 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Bellevue,NE
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been extremely happy with all HP products that I have and this printer so far is no exception. I did have to spend considerable frustrating hours trying to set up for wireless printing. We were trying to print using a Century link e-mail account and it will only work with certain e mail accounts. We now have to forward whatever we want to print from the Century Link account to our Gmail account in order to print it wirelessly then it works great. I also wish that it had a wakeup feature for when a print project is sent and the printer is turned off. Now you either have to leave it on all the time or print within 24 hours of sending the item to be printed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Everything I wanted

PostedApril 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Rural Minnesota
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I already had a HP printer but I had to get up and go plug it into my laptop everytime I wanted to print something so I decided to check into a wireless. I went with HP again because I have always had good luck with their products. I was not looking to spend a lot of money on one so didn't know what features I would be able to get while staying withing my price range. The Envy has everything I want and is very reasonably priced. I am very happy with it. I love being able to print whatever I want and know it's waiting back in my office. It was also easy to set up and if you can read and follow instructions it's a snap. You will not be disappointed with this purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

New printer

PostedApril 2, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Zapata Texas
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this printer because my 4680 was giving me grief. Had it for 4 years and assumed it was getting old. Setup was a snap, not like the older ones. This one is not any noisier than the old one. Used it yesterday and much to my surprise it notified me that there was an upgrade. Clicked upgrade and the printer did the upgrade without me having to go through the computer. Wonderful. Couldn't beat the price and I needed new ink cartridges for my 4680. If this one lasts as long as the last one I will be really happy. Recommend to anyone looking for a nice sized printer with HP quality and convenience.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best new printer

PostedMarch 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Hackettstown, NJ
Gender:Female
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
works perfectly! I've used it to to scan documents and directly upload them to my computer. and it's always connected right to my network.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good print quality

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Walnut Creek, CA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This printer has really good print quality. I am very pleased with the printer. I was a little disappointed i couldn't get the wireless connection to work, but that wasn't a big deal to me.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing; Highly Recommend

PostedMarch 16, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Norwalk, CT
Gender:Female
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I highly recommend this product. As a college student, I need a very reliable printer that had most of the feature I required, but was also affordable. This printer is perfect. It is small and does not take up too much space. The printing speed is close to perfect. The thing that got me was: THE SETUP! It was FAST & EASY. The printer recognized my Wi-Fi right away and like I stated: SETUP WAS EASY AS 1,2,3. Absolutely love this printer. It can be a little noisy when printing things, but that's not a huge deal when it does everything I need it to. :)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great printer!

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Raleigh, NC
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have read other reviews on this printer and I don't see where the issues are. I love my new printer and recently upgraded from an old HP printer that I've had since 2008 that still works great for prints (just doesn't align correctly). The only issue I had when I received my printer was that the black ink took a while to fully kick in but otherwise have had no issues. I love the instant ink feature as well as the additional features that allow you to choose when they print so you can have weekly items automatically print each week or daily. I also love the e-print feature. You can email an attachment to custom email address that you choose for your printer and the document will print as soon as the email is received. A confirmation email is also sent once the email is received. Overall, this was a great buy for the price that I purchased it for and I will continue to buy HP products!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Printing quality is great!

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Fort Walton Beach FL
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Unit is a bit noisy but to get the quality of print, I will forego the noise. I haven't got the scanner set up to scan to my computer but I will one day soon. For the price and all it's attributes, I think I made a wise choice in purchasing this printer.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very good printer scanner

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Mobile, AL
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I like to scan any receipts or medical papers I may need later. this print/scanner is very good and is easy to use. I bought 1 and junked my older printers. I bought 2 envy 5530 about 3 weeks ago; they are very good also. the 4500 was on sale for additional $30 off so I ordered it , so I now have 3 very good printers so I wont need one for a few years.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.