HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop ENVY or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer

hp HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer

HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Print/Scan/Copy
Overall rating:
4.062 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(65 reviews) 65
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 65 reviews
5 Stars
39
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
3
1 Star
8
54 out of 65(83%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Review 1 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

HP Envy 4500 Printer

PostedApril 13, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Baltimore
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This is a great all around printer as long as you use it for printing documents. If you intend to use it for printing pictures do NOT buy this one, you will be highly disappointed. The wireless feature is great and printing documents it works great. It did lack set up instructions but it was easy to set up. Right out of the box I tried putting it through its paces and attempted to print a few pictures. Time after time it left streaks
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Lousy printer

PostedApril 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Oakland,CA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
The printer would not print my photos in the portrait mode but only in landscape mode, cutting off the head. I made sure I had selected portrait mode. It stinks!
When trying to print a page from the internet, it won't do it until I copy the page to my computer, pasting into a Word document, unless I print from the Firefox browser command.
The LED screen is small and poorly set up. The command function buttons are very hard to see.
Avoid this printer! I won't buy another HP printer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent with only 1 problem

PostedApril 7, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Phoeniz, AZ
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is an excellent printer especially since it is eligible for the Instant ink program. The only problem that I have experienced is printing Tax forms generated by the HR Block tax program, It will only print 1/2 of the 2nd page of tax forms (both the Fed and State programs). It will always stop at the 1/2 point on the 2nd page. It does this every time. Other printing is fine. It will print multiple pages but not tax forms. If I save the forms as PDF in the HR Block program - it will print both pages correctly. Otherwise it is an excellent printer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ease of use

PostedApril 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Yuba City, CA.
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This printer is my 1st wireless and HP printer. By far the easiest to set up in every aspect. Love the wireless feature as sometimes I am on my laptop on the patio and need to print something, it works great, no wires to go connect, just click and print. Quality is outstanding for both text and pictures. It almost set itself up, I would recommend this printer to anyone who is an intermediate user. I have yet to use all the features but feel confident I will have no hick ups along the way.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product, wireless hookup problems

PostedApril 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Bellevue,NE
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been extremely happy with all HP products that I have and this printer so far is no exception. I did have to spend considerable frustrating hours trying to set up for wireless printing. We were trying to print using a Century link e-mail account and it will only work with certain e mail accounts. We now have to forward whatever we want to print from the Century Link account to our Gmail account in order to print it wirelessly then it works great. I also wish that it had a wakeup feature for when a print project is sent and the printer is turned off. Now you either have to leave it on all the time or print within 24 hours of sending the item to be printed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Everything I wanted

PostedApril 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Rural Minnesota
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I already had a HP printer but I had to get up and go plug it into my laptop everytime I wanted to print something so I decided to check into a wireless. I went with HP again because I have always had good luck with their products. I was not looking to spend a lot of money on one so didn't know what features I would be able to get while staying withing my price range. The Envy has everything I want and is very reasonably priced. I am very happy with it. I love being able to print whatever I want and know it's waiting back in my office. It was also easy to set up and if you can read and follow instructions it's a snap. You will not be disappointed with this purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

New printer

PostedApril 2, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Zapata Texas
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this printer because my 4680 was giving me grief. Had it for 4 years and assumed it was getting old. Setup was a snap, not like the older ones. This one is not any noisier than the old one. Used it yesterday and much to my surprise it notified me that there was an upgrade. Clicked upgrade and the printer did the upgrade without me having to go through the computer. Wonderful. Couldn't beat the price and I needed new ink cartridges for my 4680. If this one lasts as long as the last one I will be really happy. Recommend to anyone looking for a nice sized printer with HP quality and convenience.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best new printer

PostedMarch 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Hackettstown, NJ
Gender:Female
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
works perfectly! I've used it to to scan documents and directly upload them to my computer. and it's always connected right to my network.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good print quality

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Walnut Creek, CA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This printer has really good print quality. I am very pleased with the printer. I was a little disappointed i couldn't get the wireless connection to work, but that wasn't a big deal to me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing; Highly Recommend

PostedMarch 16, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Norwalk, CT
Gender:Female
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I highly recommend this product. As a college student, I need a very reliable printer that had most of the feature I required, but was also affordable. This printer is perfect. It is small and does not take up too much space. The printing speed is close to perfect. The thing that got me was: THE SETUP! It was FAST & EASY. The printer recognized my Wi-Fi right away and like I stated: SETUP WAS EASY AS 1,2,3. Absolutely love this printer. It can be a little noisy when printing things, but that's not a huge deal when it does everything I need it to. :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great printer!

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Raleigh, NC
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have read other reviews on this printer and I don't see where the issues are. I love my new printer and recently upgraded from an old HP printer that I've had since 2008 that still works great for prints (just doesn't align correctly). The only issue I had when I received my printer was that the black ink took a while to fully kick in but otherwise have had no issues. I love the instant ink feature as well as the additional features that allow you to choose when they print so you can have weekly items automatically print each week or daily. I also love the e-print feature. You can email an attachment to custom email address that you choose for your printer and the document will print as soon as the email is received. A confirmation email is also sent once the email is received. Overall, this was a great buy for the price that I purchased it for and I will continue to buy HP products!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Printing quality is great!

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Fort Walton Beach FL
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Unit is a bit noisy but to get the quality of print, I will forego the noise. I haven't got the scanner set up to scan to my computer but I will one day soon. For the price and all it's attributes, I think I made a wise choice in purchasing this printer.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very good printer scanner

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Mobile, AL
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I like to scan any receipts or medical papers I may need later. this print/scanner is very good and is easy to use. I bought 1 and junked my older printers. I bought 2 envy 5530 about 3 weeks ago; they are very good also. the 4500 was on sale for additional $30 off so I ordered it , so I now have 3 very good printers so I wont need one for a few years.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

terrible

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
I print a lot of tax returns and bought this printer thinking it would be good my job. Every return I print stops in the middle of printing and will not allow me to print the last few sheets. I have tried adjusting all the settings and still get a printer error message each time. Very frustrating!
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Impressive

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Racine, WI
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Although attempting to use on line set up did not work, using the included CD Rom disc, was just as easy. I like all the features including web printing or e-printing. The LCD for copying, scanning, or printing on the device is a nice feature. It has wireless and network capabilities. There is also included apps or pages that are included which I have chosen some to download when i want, that help my child learn. And i also like the convenience of an resupply of ink plan, based on pages printed out and not costing excessive amounts of money, that one would pay for cartridges in the store. My overall rating says it all. And it does photo printing as well as when doing a multipage document it prints on both sides of the paper.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

like to e-print

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Apalachin, NY
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The reason i bought this was for the eprint. Do not care for the print coupons and have not figured out how to delete the program. Uses to much ink
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Purchase an ink refill contract

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Cherry Hill, NJ
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wanted a small printer that would fit on my desk. Other than the small footprint, the reason I bought it was because of the automatic ink refill service. We print out around 200 pages per month. Ink on my other HP printer is averaging around $50 per month. Now I'm only paying $10 for up to 300 pages and the cartridges arrive at my door before they run out. It doesn't matter if I print in bIack & White or color or if it's a document or photograph. A page is a page. I think HP would sell a lot more of these printers if they did a better job of marketing the ink refill service. I don't recall seeing anything inside the packaging to promote the service.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

paper jams up often

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:pittsburgh pa
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
the paper jams up often and ink rail sticks quite a bit.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Envoy printer

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Texas
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I was pleased with ordering online and my product is what
was needed for home office.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP ENVY 4500 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is perfect for small spaces.

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Decatur, GA
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am moving to a new address and I did not want to add weight to my packing. This is perfect. It is the size I wanted. The weight is perfect. It is easy to operate.
Only one number to remember when replacing an ink cartridge.
I purchased the Combo-pack. (2 HP Ink Cartridge)-61 The printer arrived on schedule.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.