HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop ENVY or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP ENVY 5530 e-All-in-One Printer

hp HP ENVY 5530 e-All-in-One Printer

HP ENVY 5530 e-All-in-One Print/Scan/Copy
Overall rating:
4.194 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(103 reviews) 103
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 103 reviews
5 Stars
61
4 Stars
22
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
5
1 Star
8
84 out of 103(82%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP ENVY 5530 e-All-in-One Printer
Review 1 for HP ENVY 5530 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible for students

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I got this printer because of the wireless feature. It wasnt until I got to school that I found out it wont print wirelessly because I'm on my schools wifi. The only thing that could possibly put this printer above the rest is its "wireless" feature but without that it is below average. I definitely would not recommend to anyone. Connecting my computer to the printer every day is a complete hassle and waste of my time - if anyone had let me know that it cant connect wirelessly then I would have just gotten a $30 printer that works the same as this piece of junk.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP ENVY 5530 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

stops printing frequently

PostedMay 13, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Baltimore, MD
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Don't buy this to save money, you will waste tons of ink and paper! Without exaggeration, every 2nd or 3rd page is cut off in the middle. This is a huge problem when you are printing multiple pages or two-sided. Save yourself.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP ENVY 5530 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Lacks good directions

PostedApril 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Reading, PA
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
I really do not recommend this printer. They do not give you simple instructions. My old printer was very easy to use with it's instructions.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP ENVY 5530 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor function not easy to use.

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New York
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Product does not reset automatic to use.
Product once setup does not keep until reset.
Product has default to hp online usage and go through take over.
Product worked fine 3 hour set up became unplugged now unusable.
Unable to use wifi mode or print direct
No longer direct coupon print was printing direct now must go through hp site. Old printer works new does not.
Will not work with 1 year old I pad from last birthday march 2013
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP ENVY 5530 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product did NOT work with Windows 8.1

PostedMarch 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This product was a complete disaster as soon as I plugged it in and attempted to scan a document. The scanner could not communicate with my computer in a wireless environment. Working with tech support we were unable to resolve the issue. Could not print a multi page document in landscape mode. Printer just cancelled the print job right in the middle of a page. Tech support did a lot of work with drivers and we finally got it to work. However I don't have any confidence that it will continue to work.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP ENVY 5530 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Compact design but poor performance

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Madison Hts. MI
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
It quit working in the middle printing a file page. After approx. 1 1/2 hours on the phone with a
service tech it worked fine until the last page of a 24 page report and it quit mid page. It is very
slow communication with the computer I would wonder if it was going to print or not. Power button has to be press several times to power up or down. Holding 5 seconds doesn't always work.
Very unreliable machine. I am very disappointed in this purchase.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP ENVY 5530 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

VERY VERY DISAPPOINTED

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Auburn, pa
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I had a perfectly good working HP Photosmart printer that I gave to a friend to get this one because of the instant ink capabilities. I am so sorry I did! Cheaply made output paper tray & only one tray for paper, you can't also have your photo paper loaded at the same time like with the photosmart. Prints fine but will not scan or copy anything for me. Tech support helped but that was only a temporary fix, it's not working again. I am shipping this thing back ASAP & getting myself another photosmart. Wish that had the instant ink capabilities.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP ENVY 5530 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Sadly a failure

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Printer works OK for basic documents, however drivers cannot handle complex documents. Today my daughter downloaded some pictures from the internet, pasted them in a MS Word document and added some descriptive text.
Printer was able to print only 2 of the pages (1 and 5), the others were "too complicated". Total for the 9 page document was 22MB, which should not be an issue.
Driver (revision 30 - the latest) seems to be the major problem (on Windows Vista). It shows a maximum resolution of 600dpi and an installed memory of 32MB (only options are 16MB and 32MB).
Will likely return it to the store tomorrow and get another manufacturer product.
-5points
2of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP ENVY 5530 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

It is not what I expected

PostedMay 7, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
I need a better printer and especially one with a fax. Love that it prints from all of my devices, but I can only print out one page at a time. For multiple page printing I have to print one page at a time which is time consuming and frustrating. If the document has 3 pages it will print out one page then on the second page stop printing and give me a have of a page. Need something better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP ENVY 5530 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Better use one first!!

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Memphis, tn
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Wife wanted a new wireless printer, so I started looking around. Having had HP printers in the past I thought I couldn't go wrong. The first one I bought was the 5525, only after getting it home did I find out that I could not remove the print head for cleaning. So back to the store I went. After talking to a few people that knew nothing about what they were selling, I decided on the 5530. Mainly because I popped open one on display and looked to see if the print head would come out. The print heads are part of the ink tank, so you get fresh heads every time you put in a new tank.
Reading the box it sounds like you have found printer heaven. Lots of neat features for a little money. It IS a wireless printer and works well at doing just that, but don't expect to print from your older android devise without paying for an app to do so. If you want to scan, you have image and PDF file formats. This is fine until you want to scan text as an image that has a header logo. All you will get is the logo. The next thing I noticed was that if you are scanning something that has to be spot on for scale, such as a sectional chart, or map, forget it. It will print off scale just enough to make things difficult.
Last but not least, it scans uneven!! While trying to scan and print a form I noticed that it kept coming out crooked. No matter how I tried I couldn't get it to come out straight.
As we have had the printer too long now to take it back, we will keep it and use it for those things that don't matter and consider it a lesson learned. After all, it does print nicely, things you have not scanned with it.
Lots of features, yes. Quality? NO.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP ENVY 5530 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Quality of product is less than I expected from HP

PostedFebruary 16, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Kinston, AL
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This is my third HP printer. All were in the same price range. This printer is of a far poorer quality than my previous HP printers. Set up is too difficult. Performance is slow. Cannot currently use the printer because I keep getting a message that it is "off line" when the diagnostics indicate that it is "ready" and "connected."
Unless HP does something to begin producing quality printers again, this is my last HP printer. Very disappointed in this one.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP ENVY 5530 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

On the fence with this one

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ok, so I bought this printer today because I needed to scan some important documents to my husband ASAP (which by the way, scanning images looked pretty good). My first few prints though were not that great. SEE PIC BELOW. Now, I'm not sure if it has to do with the paper that I used, or the ink cartridge, or if it's just this particular one that I bought that is making the prints look smudgy at the very beginning (the way it prints it starts from the bottom up, if that makes sense). I tried the "Clean Ink Smear" option but the problem still persists. Now, I'm not too savvy with printers and this is my very first printer that I have personally bought so bear with me LOL. The weird thing is, that it's only the black ink that smudges when it prints. The other colors look clean and crisp. I'm not sure if I will take it back yet. I'm really just hoping that the problem will not persist. Anyway... hope the pic helped. I would really love to hear from the more experts out there what their opinion would be about my case with this printer.
P.S. The only reason why I said I would recommend this product is because I am unsure if anyone else has had the same problem as I or if it's just my luck that I got the one bad printer. Overall, the printer looks nice, not noisy, and it will work for what I will be using it for which is mostly school work, emails, maps, etc. Maybe some pics but haven't tried those yet. Set up was easy.
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP ENVY 5530 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

NOT a Printer

PostedJanuary 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Vista, CA
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
This "printer" has more bells and whistles than it has printer capabilities. The paper feeder is poorly designed. Paper jams are frequent. The limited amount of paper that can be placed in the supply slot is very limited - no more than 20 sheets of paper can be accomodated. Sorry that I opted to buy this train wreck. HP tech support has gone overtime in an effort to "fix" this nightmare but it is still not a PRINTER. Support people are great but you cannot make a silk purse out of a sow's ear. Sorry HP your designers missed the point on this one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP ENVY 5530 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Difficulty with USB

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:San Francisco
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I could not get the USB to work with scanning. However it did work with WiFi.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP ENVY 5530 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Wish it didn't have the glitches

PostedApril 9, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Richmond, VA
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The machine looks great and has lots of good features. Easy to set up, but I had trouble almost immediately. When I went to print multiple pages, it would stop printing after a few pages and didn't finish the job. I need to be able to print multiple pages. After spending time with tech support, we loaded a "different" printer that I guess has different drivers. It worked, so that was good. My latest glitch came today when I printed a ~10 page doc. The printer "hiccupped" on the last page and then proceeded to reprint the entire 10-page doc! If it had stopped, I would have reprinted only the 1 incomplete page. I checked and I had only specified 1 copy, so that was very weird. Never seen a printer do that. Tech support can't tell me if it is the printer or my laptop. OK. The problem with this is that I have subscribed to the auto-ship e-ink monthly program that monitors pages printed and will charge extra if you go over your plan. Kind of like minutes with your cell phone. I have been left hoping it won't do this again. Otherwise the printer seems to be great. Since I've only had this printer for a couple of weeks, I am still unsure if I would recommend based on these issues. Too bad I already did before the problems emerged.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP ENVY 5530 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Printer is good looking but erratic

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Madison, WI
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
When the printer works, it works well, but it has an annoying habit of taking a nap once in a while, frequently when I print on both sides of a sheet of paper. The first page prints immediately, but the second page takes up to a minute before it prints.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP ENVY 5530 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not for printing photos

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Minnesota
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The ad bragged about printing great photos. I didn't find that to be true. There are lines going through the prints and the photos and very grainy. I was disappointed. It does print borderless and that feature was a necessity for me so that is one of the reasons I bought it but I print a lot of photos and it doesn't seem to be working well for that purpose.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP ENVY 5530 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not what advertised

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Very slow in printing. Cannot set to black ink, must be in color which is more expensive when just printing pdf, web pages, etc. Very hard to set up. Worked 3 hours in setting up Windows and Mac. Windows was easy, Mac required several re-installs. Have not been able to get iPhone or IPad to work with AirPrint. Like size and duplicate printing is good. VERY SLOW EVEN IN DRAFT.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP ENVY 5530 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great connectivity/support, average functionality.

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
What I like:
1. Easy to set up, can do via the web
2. Doesn't require cumbersome software to manage
What is average:
1. Print quality
2. Features
What I don't like:
1. I had to attach the CD drive and load the CD, only to be directed to the web to install
2. The scanner will randomly parse segments of documents, sending a set of images to the PC that appear to be modern hieroglyphs; why is there not a "scan whole page" function?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP ENVY 5530 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

disapointed

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:pennsylvania
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
the definition of envy is,wishes that it could be his.others longing to have. i have owned and still own hp printers. they were always my first choice because of the features and price.when i see the word envy i think that this is probably the top of the line item. in the case of the hp envy line i find this title not fitting. the printing is first rate but for anyone that also likes to do some photo printing i feel that this printer falls short in one respect in that it only has 1 paper tray which means one has to pull out the paper tray,take out the plain paper insert photo paper,adjust the guides(if needed) and then print .after which they have to go through the routine again.so i feel that this printer series named envy is not appropriate.
-1point
4of 9voted this as helpful.