HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop ENVY or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP ENVY 5530 e-All-in-One Printer

hp HP ENVY 5530 e-All-in-One Printer

HP ENVY 5530 e-All-in-One Print/Scan/Copy
Overall rating:
4.221 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(95 reviews) 95
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 95 reviews
5 Stars
58
4 Stars
19
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
5
1 Star
7
77 out of 95(81%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP ENVY 5530 e-All-in-One Printer
Review 1 for HP ENVY 5530 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great great printer

PostedSeptember 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:NYC,NY
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have to start at the beginning:: customer service helped me pick out this printer since I already had an HP printer, just wanted to upgrade. Well Support got back to me and suggested this printer & I could use the same ink cartridges. So I have waited a couple of weeks before posting since I needed to use some of the features. One thing I did have a problem seeing was where was the paper feeder? Its below the output of paper..and for a city dweller, it saves a huge amount of room, I actually have it set up on the shelving next to the computer. The only wire to this is electric, everything else is WiFi d.You don't need have your computer on to print some things, use the great HP App for printing from my tablet.. Since its connected to the internet, it has its own email.,all that means, you can send anything from anywhere that has an internet connection.one thing I really like is the touchscreen which has all the things you need/one thing is access to printing oragami puzzles which get sent to the printer weekly for free and you set that up..also has coupons/Disney things/blank forms., it's endless & I have never been this happy about a printer
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP ENVY 5530 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This Product is well made

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Warren, MI
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
For being an inexpensive printer, this printer is well made, very fast print time, and has nice features. The Wi-Fi was a snap to set up. I got rid of a competitors printer after six months use, and I wish I hadn't waited that long. I would recommend this printer.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP ENVY 5530 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth every penny!

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Irvington, NJ
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From the ease of ordering to the fast delivery, then quick setup in less than 10 mins, I'm completely happy with the Envy 5530! It works properly everytime without fail. I easily print from anywhere on my wifi network, including from my smartphone. HP eprint is an added bonus that allows remote printing from anywhere with an internet connection. Great size & print quality. Very happy.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP ENVY 5530 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

support was great

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:northern Michigan
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
I ordered an ENVY 5530 printer. When it came, I tried to install it and had trouble getting it to go to its "home" position. Nothing on the left side of the screen would light up or function. H.P. support worked with me to try to resolve it . She passed me to a supervisor who determined to replace the printer. I had a new one on my doorstep the following day and I live in remote northern Michigan ! The new one plugged in and is working fine. Their support after the sale was exceptional !
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP ENVY 5530 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I wanted

PostedNovember 30, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Sullivank, Maine
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
that HP ENVY 5530 E-all in one series is a great machine and exactly what I was looking for mainly the E print as I have two tablets, two smart phone and two laptops. Not only was the envy 5530 easy to set up for also the E print was very easy to set up by going to HP connected.com where you create an account and once set up they will send you a password and then you are good to go. It doesn't matter where I am whether it be with my smart phone or my tablet as long as there is a Wi-Fi at the restaurant or wherever and I need to print something off I just sign in to my HP connected account and when I get home the papers waiting for me all printed out very convenient.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP ENVY 5530 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for busy moms - so many creative features!

PostedJune 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Yakima, Wa
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ok - I'll be honest. I'm not a print-quality snob. I've been through a ton of printers in the past few years {I run a web business from home: blogging, freelance writing, brand ambassadorship, consulting.} I'm not impatient enough to notice a few seconds different in printer speed. I don't notice a big difference in the color or sharpness in most of the printers I've used. They just always seemed like.... Well... a printer?
But this baby - I'm in love. I did receive one free from HP as part of a blogging campaign, just to be transparent. But I had no obligation or suggestion to leave a review here - I'm just a very frequent Amazon shopper, and rely on the reviews here, so I try to leave as many helpful ones as I can too :)
Here are the main things that make this stand out above and beyond any printer I've used before:
Even though I work online and in tech all day - I can be tech challenged at times. But this printer was crazy-easy and so fast to set up - even though it's got some amazingly cool features.
The cool features! You can print pics wirelessly right from your phone. I can snap pics of the kids all day by the pool, from the patio, print my favorites, and have them ready when I go back in the house. I also love that when we have parties, I can get photos of my guests, quickly turn them into fun photos cards with backgrounds and graphics, or collages, print them off - and send them off as thank you notes with a message I write on the back, or just as party favors. SO fun!
This printer gives you access to all of the cool HP apps and printables - coloring pages for kids. Schedule it to print a new crossword puzzle for you every morning {yes, you can SCHEDULE your printables!} Print coupons right from the app. And so, so, so much more.
And - the best part.... INSTANT INK. This is a new service from HP, that works with this printer. You sign up. Your printer automagically lets them know when you're running low on ink. They ship new ink to your door before you run out. This honestly saves big money - you don't have to buy it in the store, at the closest/sometimes most expensive place, just because you're in need at the moment. You pay a monthly fee depending on how many pages you print - so even if you use tons of color ink to print photos all day, it doesn't cost more. I'm a frugal type, and compare prices like crazy. Trust me, I analyze the prices on everything - and this ink deal makes this printer a better choice, price-wise, than almost any others in the long run!
Perfect pick for super-busy moms like me.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP ENVY 5530 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

stops printing frequently

PostedMay 13, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Baltimore, MD
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Don't buy this to save money, you will waste tons of ink and paper! Without exaggeration, every 2nd or 3rd page is cut off in the middle. This is a huge problem when you are printing multiple pages or two-sided. Save yourself.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP ENVY 5530 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Printer, but Not Always Convenient

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Chicago suburbs
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The ENVY basically works fine, reasonable speed, good price. Duplex printing is pretty easy.
It's nice that the ENVY can either be wireless or wired. BUT, we have two ENVYs in our house, and when I tried to connect my PC to the new ENVY as wireless, it connected to the other ENVY downstairs. Didn't offer me a choice of which ENVY to link to. So I'm using the new one wired only.
Also, IMHO, envelope printing is a serious pain. You have to pull out the paper tray, remove the paper, insert the envelopes and adjust the guides, push the paper tray back in, print the envelope, and then reverse the whole process to return to regular printing again. My old HP allowed you to just slide an envelope in on top of the paper in the tray, flush right, and it worked perfectly. Sure don't see how the new way of doing things is an improvement!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP ENVY 5530 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor function not easy to use.

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New York
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Product does not reset automatic to use.
Product once setup does not keep until reset.
Product has default to hp online usage and go through take over.
Product worked fine 3 hour set up became unplugged now unusable.
Unable to use wifi mode or print direct
No longer direct coupon print was printing direct now must go through hp site. Old printer works new does not.
Will not work with 1 year old I pad from last birthday march 2013
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP ENVY 5530 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product did NOT work with Windows 8.1

PostedMarch 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This product was a complete disaster as soon as I plugged it in and attempted to scan a document. The scanner could not communicate with my computer in a wireless environment. Working with tech support we were unable to resolve the issue. Could not print a multi page document in landscape mode. Printer just cancelled the print job right in the middle of a page. Tech support did a lot of work with drivers and we finally got it to work. However I don't have any confidence that it will continue to work.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP ENVY 5530 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Better use one first!!

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Memphis, tn
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Wife wanted a new wireless printer, so I started looking around. Having had HP printers in the past I thought I couldn't go wrong. The first one I bought was the 5525, only after getting it home did I find out that I could not remove the print head for cleaning. So back to the store I went. After talking to a few people that knew nothing about what they were selling, I decided on the 5530. Mainly because I popped open one on display and looked to see if the print head would come out. The print heads are part of the ink tank, so you get fresh heads every time you put in a new tank.
Reading the box it sounds like you have found printer heaven. Lots of neat features for a little money. It IS a wireless printer and works well at doing just that, but don't expect to print from your older android devise without paying for an app to do so. If you want to scan, you have image and PDF file formats. This is fine until you want to scan text as an image that has a header logo. All you will get is the logo. The next thing I noticed was that if you are scanning something that has to be spot on for scale, such as a sectional chart, or map, forget it. It will print off scale just enough to make things difficult.
Last but not least, it scans uneven!! While trying to scan and print a form I noticed that it kept coming out crooked. No matter how I tried I couldn't get it to come out straight.
As we have had the printer too long now to take it back, we will keep it and use it for those things that don't matter and consider it a lesson learned. After all, it does print nicely, things you have not scanned with it.
Lots of features, yes. Quality? NO.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP ENVY 5530 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I like it

PostedDecember 25, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Minnesota
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had many printers of various brands over the years (since 1999) and I have to say that I absolutely am satisfied with the HP Envy 5530e. The brand before this one made me start looking again, as every time it was on it would keep running its cleaning after start-up, before and after printing and even as it was sitting idle for awhile it would start going through it again (and depleting the expensive 5 ink tray).
Well later for this, so I started researching and reading. I saw this one in Best Buy and it caught my attention (nice compact size, not heavy, and the features I was looking for).
The real close was the instant ink program. Way to go HP!!!
I have put it through its paces this last week and am absolutely satisfied. Printing document text is sharp, colorful documents look great, and the pictures are on par with any other (even higher resolution) printers I have used (and I have had some 300 dollar ones). I do not print many pictures but when I do I want them to look nice and they do.
So far (hope this printer last for a while) I am totally satisfied and would recommend this if it has the features you're looking for in an all in one without fax (already have on of those).
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP ENVY 5530 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HP Envy HPeprint

PostedMay 31, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product! Great quality! What is so fun you can print anywhere in the world directly to your printer from your phone or tablet/computer..it is amazing, you come home to fun picturesm, notes just waiting for you.
You certainly cannot go wrong with this printer..I have had very high end and expensive printers, this beats them all..
Enjoy!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP ENVY 5530 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good but

PostedMarch 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Sugar Grove Illinois
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I bought this printer to take advantage of the monthly ink plan. I print a lot of photos when the photo has a lot of solid colors there are streaks in the image. Not always but often enough to be unusable. First print with new ink supply is great goes down hill after that. Its really bad when I print a 8 x 10 not as bad with 4 x 6. Set up was very easy just plugged it in ran the CD that's it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP ENVY 5530 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very nice printer

PostedFebruary 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Greenville, OH
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I brought the Envy 5530 printer to replace a HP Photosmart C5180. The picture quality of the Envy is much better then the Photosmart. It was easy to setup and connect and I had it running in no time. Both my laptop and desktop (both HP's) connected easily to the printer. The black text printing is extremely clear and sharp. I signed up for the Instant Ink program which seems quite economical and convenient. My only complaint is the lack of a separate photo drawer and the flimsy holder of pages after they have been printed. The double sided printing is quite nice and rather amazing. That feature can save money spent on paper and I won't have to reinsert the pages in order to print the second side. I would definitely recommend this printer.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP ENVY 5530 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not what advertised

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Very slow in printing. Cannot set to black ink, must be in color which is more expensive when just printing pdf, web pages, etc. Very hard to set up. Worked 3 hours in setting up Windows and Mac. Windows was easy, Mac required several re-installs. Have not been able to get iPhone or IPad to work with AirPrint. Like size and duplicate printing is good. VERY SLOW EVEN IN DRAFT.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP ENVY 5530 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Printer!

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Rockton, IL
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The all-in-one Envy network setup was quick & easy; downloaded the software from website & installed from my PC; setup did all the work for me.....took about 10-15 minutes total. I have Win 7 & my husband Has XP on his PC, so I also installed software on his pc, which also was quick & easy.
Also installed HP print app on my phone & tablet; now I can print from those devices as well.
I'm impressed! (I'm also 64 y/o & went through setup without a hitch)
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP ENVY 5530 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great wirless printing and scanning to ALL devices

PostedNovember 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New Jersey
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wireless setup took just seconds. The Envy effortlessly prints and scans with my MacBook Pro, iPhone and most importantly, my Microsoft Surface. For this price point, the quality of the hardware is impressive and the printing is fast. The automatic double sided printing feature works well and HP Connected offers other great features. The only thing that could make it better would be dual paper trays so both regular and photo paper could be loaded at the same time. Otherwise, extremely happy with this purchase.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP ENVY 5530 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice home printer

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
eprint is awesome, nice size, nice looking, easy set up, hp does it again
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP ENVY 5530 e-All-in-One Printer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So far so good

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Toccoa, GA
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Read a lot of reviews on 2 printers I was considering. Was iffy on it, but it had a couple of things in its favor and I purchased it. The setup was remarkably easy (wondered about that after reading some reviews). It connected to my wireless network immediately and we connected an ipad and mac easily. It was no louder than our previous printer (also an hp). Hope it will continue to do what we want. Would give it 5 stars if it continues to do well.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.