HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP Pavilion dv6-6c50us Entertainment Notebook PC

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Pavilion dv6-6c50us Entertainment Notebook PC

HP Pavilion dv6-6c50us Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
10 out of 12(83%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Pavilion dv6-6c50us Entertainment Notebook PC
Review 1 for HP Pavilion dv6-6c50us Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best notebook PC I've had

PostedMay 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Dallas, TX
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a fast, well-built laptop. It is the fastest booting Windows 7 PC out of the 5 computers I own. I don't know what HP did, but they have definitely improved the overall performace of this Win 7 computer. I also love the built-in fingerprint security; it is fast and reliable. The island type keyboard with built in number pad is the best I've used. The burnt-umber colored aluminum case looks nice and doesn't show fingerprints. This laptop is also much more battery efficient than any laptop I've used in the past. The LED backlit display is bright with excellent contrast and uses considerably less power than the old CCFL type displays of the recent past. In short, I would highly recommend this notebook.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Pavilion dv6-6c50us Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Grad Gift

PostedMay 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Longmont, CO
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice machine for the money! We were up and running right out of the box without a hitch. This laptop is fast, clean, and will give my college bound daughter years of use through all of her classes. The WiFi, WebCam, and DVD player work great and are super easy to manage. I could not be happier!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Pavilion dv6-6c50us Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Impressive

PostedApril 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Hammond In
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great laptop for the price. I had an experience with hp support pryor to this purchase and really wanted to take my business elsewhere but you arent going to find this laptop with these features cheaper anywhere , unless its hot !. My issues were resolved eventually and other than this laptop i also upgraded my desktop and printer. Im likin my system more everyday. Highly recommend this laptop . I wont say the same for their extended warranty, i did not purchase additional coverage for my computers. Thats my opinion and may not be the wisest so consider that option as it applies to you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Pavilion dv6-6c50us Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great deal, happy price!!!

PostedApril 18, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:UK
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:Under 25
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am very happy to buy the HP laptop which is contains beats sounds with it's high performance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Pavilion dv6-6c50us Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Last H.P. product im buying

PostedApril 1, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I've had this lap top for less than 2 months and the fan has gotten so loud I can't stand it. When I open the lid it will ocasionally start up with out the screen coming on, you have to shut it and wait for it to power down before try again. I've never had it not start up on the second attept though and the finger print scaner is nothing if not useless. Glad I bought a warrenty plan.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Pavilion dv6-6c50us Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Pros and cons

PostedMarch 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:VA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I wish I could say this had no cons, but i'm not that fortunate. When I first received this, the little black plastic back to the keyboard wasn't fully snapped in place but that fix took a few seconds and hasn't come loose since. However the gray plastic that goes around the outside of the laptop itself is not very sturdy. Mine broke (in the weakest spot) above the left speaker (directly beside the memory card reader). It is a small fracture, but not something that i expected. I bought this because of the metal case, and attributed that to ruggedness but I was wrong there. As far as function it functions like a dream... mostly. 95% of the time it is great. 5% of the time I have random little problems. For instance, the fingerprint scanner will stop completely, and the usb drives will stop working completely. This normally occurs after it has been asleep for a while (overnight or something) The only fix is to restart the computer. I would recommend this, but just barely. These aren't problems that I should have from a laptop barely over a month old. It is a great size for class as it will fit on even the smaller desks, and fits nicely in a backpack with laptop compartment, and the number pad is great as well. I am also particularly fond of the spacing between the keys. doesn't make you have the fat guy in a little coat syndrome when your fingers are competing for space on the keyboard. the touchpad is fine, i'm not sure what others had an issue with. Also this gets a lot of use as I am a computer science major
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Pavilion dv6-6c50us Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome PC

PostedMarch 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Nashville, TN
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am enjoying this laptop greatly one week into this purchase. The only thing that bugs me, which may bug you if you are picky like me is that as I have read on other reviews, you will need computer wipes handy at all times. The finish of the computer while very sleak, modern and cool - it is extremely sensitive to finger and palm prints. Again, this is ALL asthetic and does not reflect the computer's performance at all which is really what is important. This i5 processor is plenty fast enough for me and I am using Autodesk Revit and AutoCad as well as microsoft office often. Music, Videos and Movies have been a breeze as well. Obviously the i7 is going to be a bit faster, but this i5 is great too!
Thanks
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Pavilion dv6-6c50us Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Purchase Ever

PostedMarch 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Dunedin ,NZ
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my 2nd HP laptop and I find it extremely good . The pad everyone is
referring to is a wee bit slow at times to respond but as I use a wireless mouse
anyway this does not bother me , this is an awesome machine and great for playing good graphic games.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Pavilion dv6-6c50us Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great purchase, but a couple of bugs to work out

PostedMarch 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My USB port doesn't work so I can't hook up to broadband but I have Wifi now so that's ok. The touch pad is a little touchy; it doesn't always work right away, but it is manageable. Other than that, I am extremely pleased with the purchase of my first laptop! It's fast, the pictures are clear and crisp, and there are so many features that I haven't even been able to play with them all yet!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Pavilion dv6-6c50us Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Laptop series for price

PostedFebruary 15, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I only decided to leave a review after reading the review about this computer having a poor touchpad. Please don't be deterred by that, it it not the case. I can assure you that the touchpad works as well or better on this computer than on any of the the other 4 laptops (of varying brands) that I use. Perhaps that person got a defective unit or needs to just realize that they probably need an external mouse.
I really recommend going up to the full 1600x 900 display. Well worth the money.
I was a little disappointed that I had to do a bunch of configuring to get my separate video card to kick on when it was supposed to, but the hp support assistant actually laid the steps out to do this pretty simply.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Pavilion dv6-6c50us Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

No issues

PostedFebruary 9, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Nashville, TN
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is my 2nd HP laptop..and as usual, i love it. I searched around for the best PC for this price and found this out-weighed all others. Love the number keypad on the side and the overall smoothness of the startup/shutdown. This is also one of the only laptops I saw (again, for this price) that had expandable RAM to to 16gigs. The screen is very crisp and as far as i can tell, all the features are great and fast. This will be a laptop that will grow with me and i'll be able to use it for quite a while.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Pavilion dv6-6c50us Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

touch pad is garbage

PostedJanuary 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:25-39
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I like most things about this laptop but its touch pad is terrible. You spend more time trying to get it to register your motions than it would take to use a mouse or the scroll bar. The worst touch pad I have ever used. Yes, I am not recommending this laptop because of its mouse. its one of the most use aspects of a laptop and it completely fails. Terrible.
-1point
4of 9voted this as helpful.