HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP Pavilion dm4-3170se Beats Edition Entertainment Notebook PC

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Pavilion dm4-3170se Beats Edition Entertainment Notebook PC

HP Pavilion dm4-3170se Beats Edition Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating:
4.333 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
10 out of 12(83%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Pavilion dm4-3170se Beats Edition Entertainment Notebook PC
Review 1 for HP Pavilion dm4-3170se Beats Edition Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Met all my requirements and more!

PostedOctober 24, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Searching far and wide with other brands and HP, the dm4-3170se Beats Edition and HP had the privilege of receiving my hard earned dollars. This laptop is exceptional in quality and performance. My main requirements were: low weight, high resolution, SSD, backlit keyboard and long battery life - other shopped laptops didn't have the 1600x900 resolution on a 14" screen and didn't provide a backlit keyboard. So awesome is this laptop, I bought another one a few days later (this time for my wife). Enjoy! BTW, it was less than $800!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Pavilion dm4-3170se Beats Edition Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great improvement

PostedOctober 18, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Irvine, CA
Gender:Female
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Formerly had HP HDX16 which is a supreme laptop. But it has no battery life and was a pain to lug around my college campus. This one is MUCH lighter, gets six hours of battery and runs super fast. I also love the audio. I thought it wouldn't be as loud as my HDX but it's good - I LOVE IT!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Pavilion dm4-3170se Beats Edition Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT LAPTOP

PostedSeptember 16, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:NY
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great portable with great speed and excellent 1600 display,a+++performance,nice backlit red keyboard,this is my third one,returned first two because of computer glitches but so far this one is excellent,fast browsing and downloads!!!Dr.Beats is mediocre but have bose headphones and 500 watt logitech z906 which this 14 handles very well,but beats is adequate!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Pavilion dm4-3170se Beats Edition Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT laptop

PostedAugust 24, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Chicago
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased the predecessor model - the dm4-3050us. There are only a couple of differences between the 3050 and the 3170. The 3050 has the same design, Beats audio, dual i5, memory but does not have the SSD cache disk nor the backlit keyboard. However ....
this machine is GREAT - by far, the nicest laptop I've ever had. The keyboard is a joy, screen is bright, very compact form factor, GREAT sound, and all in a good looking package. HP did a GREAT job on this machine
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Pavilion dm4-3170se Beats Edition Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This computer is great!

PostedJuly 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Albuquerque, NM
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I ordered the dm4-3170se Beats Edition for college and have been using it to get used to its features lately and all I have to say is that this computer does everything I need it to. This computer is great it performs very well and is very stylish. I must say I enjoy the red backlight keyboard the most, in the past I've always had to turn a light on to do my work but now I can easily type now. The computer is a nice portable size also, with a 14" screen it is pretty great its not bulky at all and is very light weight. The beats sound is GREAT! I enjoy listening to my music a lot and this computers sound is awesome I really enjoy what beats has done to this computer and how they did it with style. The battery life on this computer is pretty good I can watch movies on this for a good 4 hours without having to plug it in, overall I think this is a great computer and good for someone who likes style and performance all in one.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Pavilion dm4-3170se Beats Edition Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Amazing Power-House

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Kurunegala, LK
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
When I heard about this HP beats Edition Notebook’s Specification I understand this is the best suit laptop for me. As I thought it was same. No need to think about more and this is the Laptop need for everybody. I’m very Satisfy with this product. I love this…
Pros-----
Matt Screen with Higher Resolution
Light Weight
Quality Sounds
Red Backlit Keyboard
DVD Drive
Cons----
Poor Web cam
No light in the front beats logo and HP logo
Shortcut keys on the Function buttons
Nothing so bad and I’m sure you can show up this laptop proudly when you are with others.
Enjoy!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Pavilion dm4-3170se Beats Edition Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

STYLISH AND SEXY

PostedJuly 16, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:DMM,IND
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Beginner
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Black and red combination is good.It is makes it to look stylish and sexy.
And the performance is good.
The fringer print reader works perfectly due to wide place in reading.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Pavilion dm4-3170se Beats Edition Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HP stands for Hello Party!

PostedJune 28, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:South Africa
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
HP stands for Hello Party!
Our favourite company has done it again! The boys and girls at HP give us what we want, in a notebook. Lets face it work is not the only thing we do with our laptop and Pc, that is just the compulsory bit somewhere between 8 and 5. the rest of the time it is just a pain when you want to be entertained but the silly thing just wants to work? Not any more, Hello Party has given us the tool to play and have a good time any time. The stylish new Pavilion dm4-3170se is in town! It is not a want any more it is a need!
-9points
4of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Pavilion dm4-3170se Beats Edition Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very nice laptop overall

PostedJuly 9, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a very nice laptop. The matte screen is quite bright and has a great resolution unlike most other laptops of this class in the market. The weight is just right. Its not ultrabook light but its not very far off compared to what all extras you get. The Hybrid drive enables the laptop to boot up very quickly but I do not understand why HP had to downgrade to a 5400RPM drive when the older generation DM4-3090se used a 7200 RPM. Also, it would have been better to put in 8GB of RAM instead of 6GB.. though the RAM is DDR3 1600 MHz (which is an improvement over the 1333MHz used in previous gen). The HP sleeve they give is a nice touch but it is pretty basic - you would still need to buy a proper sleeve. One issue I do have with HP is the excessive amount of HP software that they just cram in - most of it is not really useful at all. There are like dozens of softwares installed most of which don't really do much. It would be nice if HP would just install one software suite which would have all essential things instead of having a different software and service running for each of them.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Pavilion dm4-3170se Beats Edition Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Just OK Nothing Outstanding

PostedSeptember 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Pennsylvania
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The 500 RPM drive slows down performance. While the 32 GB cache is nice it can't make up for the slow hard disk drive. Tried making a system backup to a flash drive (this was one of the options). It appeared to work but the laptop would not boot from the flash drive and there was no way to do anyther backup. Somewhat heavy for its size. Should have done more research!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Pavilion dm4-3170se Beats Edition Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great laptop, but you might experience some proble

PostedAugust 17, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Hillsdale, MI
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Date 8/17/12
Date computer was received 6/17/12
I bought a HP Pavilion dm4t Beats Edition Entertainment PC before the promo for the xbox, but it's all good.
A month and a half after I had it the hard drive crashed. Great customer support, but of course, you get rerouted to India every time you call. Lost all my installed programs, but they sent me a new hardrive.When I installed windows on it the first time, I re-installed all the programs, and then I had to wipe the computer's slate clean again because of a problem that arose that caused me to have a BSOD everytime the computer woke up from sleep mode. One more problem that I have had is that the finger scanner pops out. Could be faulty glue. Not too thrilled with that :P
Pros:
I have 8GB memory installed. Boots up fast.
Core i5 allows for a lot of multitasking
Red back light on keyboard is great.
Screen is brilliant, a good laptop to look at overall
Cons:
might have some hardware issues.
Comes pre-loaded with a lot of bloatware
Fingerprints are a lot more visible, but comes with a fabric case that wipes them off easily
I paid pretty much the same as a mac pro 13 inch with 8gb memory added. Depends on what kind of software you would rather have. Macs might be made better too.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Pavilion dm4-3170se Beats Edition Entertainment Notebook PC
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Beware of Auto Update Issue

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Atlanta
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I purchased this notbook from HP on 8/21/12 and after a week, it began automatically running checkdisk at startup. This continued several days until I uninstalled and reinstalled an update.
It is happening again only 3 weeks later only worst, now I am getting BSD when trying to restore.
Trying to get a resolution, but thought prospective buyers should be made aware of issues.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.