HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP ENVY Phoenix 800-070st Desktop PC (ENERGY STAR)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP ENVY Phoenix 800-070st Desktop PC (ENERGY STAR)

HP ENVY Phoenix 800-070st Desktop PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating:
4.556 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(99 reviews) 99
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 99 reviews
5 Stars
73
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
1
1 Star
3
90 out of 99(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP ENVY Phoenix 800-070st Desktop PC (ENERGY STAR)
Review 21 for HP ENVY Phoenix 800-070st Desktop PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

POOR RELIABILITY

PostedSeptember 28, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Ellicott City, MD
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Received HPE 1250t with the liquid cooling and NVIDIA GT 640. Video driver will not work with some software such as IE and TeamViewer by producing black screen. HP shipped replacement configuration with AMD Radeon HD 7950 video card (200 W). This configuration had a noisy fan on the liquid cooling radiator. PC crashed within 24 hours as the HD RAID controller (in Raid 1 configuration) reported 2nd disk failure. I was able to restore image on the second disk by using Intel RAID controller software. Intel RAID Controller software reported 63 parity errors in the newly restored image on the second hard drive. Either the Pegatron IPIWB-PB motherboard RAID controller was at fault or the hard drive. Sent back both configurations for refund to HP. HP promptly refunded both configurations. HP has great return service. With hope that the second configuration was subject of random device failure, I ordered HPE h9-1270t as the replacement.
Overall: Unreliable system with great features and capabilities.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for HP ENVY Phoenix 800-070st Desktop PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fast sleek and easy

PostedSeptember 15, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Topeka, KS
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This new PC has been a joy to get to know. The solid state drive that I had installed is very fast and makes a big difference. It's also quiet. It's only been a couple of weeks, but I couldn't be more satisfied.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for HP ENVY Phoenix 800-070st Desktop PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding performance and value

PostedSeptember 11, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Detroit, MI
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I recently purchased the HP Pavilion HPE h9-1210t Phoenix Desktop PC. This is actually my first HP computer purchase. I purchased this computer because I wanted a high-end desktop that could handle 3D design software, Photoshop, Illustrator, video editing programs and games.
Performance is outstanding. The liquid cooling is an amazing technology that keeps the CPU cool with almost no noise. The 600-watt power supply can handle the latest AMD / NVIDIA graphics card. The 3rd Generation Core i7 processor, 12GB DDR3-1600MHz SDRAM and 256GB SSD can handle all my applications without breaking a sweat.
Overall, I have been extremely happy with my purchase. Not only was it a breeze to order online, but the setup was simple. I was up and running in no time. My order arrived exactly when promised.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for HP ENVY Phoenix 800-070st Desktop PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good desktop

PostedSeptember 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Texas
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Most of the features are fine. The case is very quiet and with water cooling the temperature is cool and very acceptable. Based on the manuals I found on HP site, the case is supposed to have a top brace above the graphics card. Mine did not.
I also wish there were more documentation on the bios set up or how to use the HP diagnostics to review the setup/configuration.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for HP ENVY Phoenix 800-070st Desktop PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great computer, broken keyboard

PostedSeptember 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Akron Ohio
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had this computer for maybe a week and a half and it runs great, now admittedly I customized mine like crazy so it better run great lol. It has been able to run anything I can throw at it on max settings from notoriously laggy custom games in the starcraft 2 arcade to huge battles in Shogun 2 total war with no problems at all. Even the most poorly coded game of all time Empire total war runs fine... not that I'd want to play it as its awful (heads up)..... just installed to see how it'd do. Even while live streaming I'm golden. My only complaint is that the standard keyboard that came with it was broken. I already had a nice keyboard so it was no skin off my back but I was going to give the standard one to my brother since I was giving him my old comp (also an HP still runs great). so he was kinda bummed. You would think that if I'm going to spend this much on a computer they would make sure the keyboard works. Lesson? Buy HP computers.... their accessories though? Not so much.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for HP ENVY Phoenix 800-070st Desktop PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

EXCELLENT & HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

PostedAugust 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Boston, MA
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The HP Pavilion HPE h9-1210t has to be the best computer I have ever purchased!
I customized it to have the i7-2600K processor and went for the 16GB of RAM. I also went with 2 GB on the Video Card and this computer is extremely fast. I wish I would have done the SSD hard drive but I'll wait until they come down in price so I can upgrade it myself (which HP has made it really easy to do). The casing is of great quality and easily upgradeable. The ONLY ONLY ONLY complain I have is that it came with absolutely ZERO discs in the box. No Windows back up disc, no Norton disc, no Microsoft Office disc. Nada ! Luckily I know how to get copies of those myself. But it's annoying.
Oh, and the wired keyboard and mouse that it comes with are not that great. I should've gone wireless :/
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for HP ENVY Phoenix 800-070st Desktop PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Computer

PostedAugust 18, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Hallandale, Fl
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This computer comes with almost everything you want in a desktop. I upgraded the hardware and the video card to the Nvidia 640 and I was told that it will support 3 monitors, but it only supports 2 monitors. If you want to use it with 3 monitors you will have to get a different graphic card. Other tan that the computer is amazing. I recommend you also get the HP2711x monitor which in combination with this computer is simply breathtaking.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for HP ENVY Phoenix 800-070st Desktop PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this unit is greatthe features and it is a nice

PostedJune 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Leola PA
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this unit is great the features just like usb it has 2.0 and3.0 hub the tower is a very nice looking unit Im very happy that a stuck to my gun with this unit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for HP ENVY Phoenix 800-070st Desktop PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Words cannot say how great this computer is

PostedJune 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This by far is definitely this best windows desktop PC experience i have had so far. I mainly love that its i7 ivy bridge processor is blazing fast, the computer comes with with a FREE upgrade to 10gb of ram, and the graphics card is up to par (even with the lowest one bought) running all my games at max spec 1920 x 1080. Also, HP has done it again with the LED's, my god they are beautiful, so far i'm recommending this comp to almost everyone i know, THANX HP!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for HP ENVY Phoenix 800-070st Desktop PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good while it worked.....

PostedJune 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
A solid performer for about 2 weeks. Then the hard drive crashed. This happened shortly after I spent many hours moving my media over. I contacted support and they'll replace the hard drive...but the 2TB replacement was not available for ordering (very strange)....so now I have to wait some more. Argh.
Not looking forward to having to start over. I chose the liquid cooling option. The fan is louder than expected.
I'm a Dell customer for years and first time going with HP so this is not making a very good first impression.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for HP ENVY Phoenix 800-070st Desktop PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This Machine Is Very..Very Good

PostedJune 17, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Wisconsin
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Nice Machine Quiate/Sound Very Nice/Fast ...Love It...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for HP ENVY Phoenix 800-070st Desktop PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice run

PostedJune 8, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Lynnwood, WA
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was skeptical about ordering from HP because I wasn't sure if the computer unit would survive the delivery from TX to WA state but when it arrived I plugged everything in and it worked without a hitch! As for the performance, it is very fast, graphics are fluid, the performance is smooth, and the unit is quiet. I mostly game and the HD 7770 was the best video card choice with WoW, Starcraft and Diablo3 with all graphic settings defaulting to high/ultra! Other than gaming, applications open fast, boots up fast, photoshop fast, CAD programs fast, HD video..WOW! I'm very pleased with my customization and I couldn't be more happier! The wireless HP keyboard and mouse are great, especially for only $10 more!
Thend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for HP ENVY Phoenix 800-070st Desktop PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic performance and value

PostedJune 8, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:West Palm Beach, FL
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I needed to replace an aging HP desktop running Vista, which always ran great even with VIsta. I was planning on building my own with top components, then looked at what HP and Dell offered. I purchased the h9-1120t based on it's configuration and price and I could not be happier. Loaded up all my photography and video editing software and everything loads fast and works great. On the old pc I was limited to working with 10 high res photos in Photoshop at one time, with the pc I loaded over 100 photos (35 mb each) with no issues at all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for HP ENVY Phoenix 800-070st Desktop PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Top of the line at a reasonable cost

PostedJune 7, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:lebanon,oregon
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excelllent computer. Looks great ,runs fast can be easily upgraded.HP youv'e really come through twith this model. Many options to choose from if ordering custom.In my opinion the closest thing Dell has to offer is no where near in quality and price.I recommend you purchase the HP mutlmedia wireless deluxe desktop-keyboard and mouse.I ordered mine with windows 7 ultimate and I am glad I did.I recommend this computer if you are a gamer or just need fast speed for burning dvd 'movies and editing photos.Plenty of power to add extra hard drives if needed.The liquid heatsink cooling easliy handlles the cooling. Top notch computer , would highly recommend it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for HP ENVY Phoenix 800-070st Desktop PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really nice system. And VERY Fast.

PostedJune 2, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Missouri
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After having an initial problem with my order, HP customer service went out of their way to help me, allowing me to return the original computer and re-order the correct one I wanted. Truly outstanding customer service on their part, and they've earned a loyal HP customer.
As far as the HPE h9-1120t Phoenix computer. WOW- Simply fantastic!!! The i7 3770 is a screaming fast processor and it will do anything and everything you need of it. It doesn't hurt having an SSD either, which makes this thing boot up in seconds after pressing the power button. I added my own graphics card (a Radeon HD 6950 2GB), making this a truly premiere gaming rig. I couldn't be happier- and I wholeheartedly recommend this system to anyone even considering another brand or similar set-up in this price range. Look no further- this is what you need. Thanks HP!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for HP ENVY Phoenix 800-070st Desktop PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great but

PostedJune 2, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:NC
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PC is great but I hate flat button wireless keyboard and mouse. PC is great but I hate flat button wireless keyboard and mouse. System is on 160g solid sate, would be nice if 2nd drive is pre configured for data, my pictures, my documents, my music etc.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for HP ENVY Phoenix 800-070st Desktop PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful!

PostedMay 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Colorado Springs, CO
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this computer! It's quiet, fast and slick looking!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for HP ENVY Phoenix 800-070st Desktop PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Superior in Many ways

PostedMay 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall value was outstanding. I got more features for SUBSTANTAILLY less money than anything quoted from Dell. The delivery time was about one third that of Dell and some of the features excelled. For instance I opted for the TV tuner and DVR. Yours is completely self contained, they offered it as an external component. The list goes on, but suffice it to say once again that your product was a superior VALUE and experience over all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for HP ENVY Phoenix 800-070st Desktop PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Yep...

PostedMay 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pretty badass... especially for Diablo 3 ;) new ivy bridge processor is great, but RAM leaves a little bit left to be desired. Like anything, do your research. Spend the extra $1 to swap in the GeForce GTX 550ti, way better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for HP ENVY Phoenix 800-070st Desktop PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very fast response

PostedMay 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Pueblo, CO
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sleek looks, great performance. Convenient access to internal components for cleaning and expansion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.