HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP ENVY Phoenix 800-070st Desktop PC (ENERGY STAR)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP ENVY Phoenix 800-070st Desktop PC (ENERGY STAR)

HP ENVY Phoenix 800-070st Desktop PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating:
4.556 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(99 reviews) 99
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 99 reviews
5 Stars
73
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
1
1 Star
3
90 out of 99(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP ENVY Phoenix 800-070st Desktop PC (ENERGY STAR)
Review 1 for HP ENVY Phoenix 800-070st Desktop PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Phoenix is a beast!!!

PostedMay 15, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:NC
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am very impressed with my Phoenix PC which I purchased to replace a 4 year old HP Intel quad core. My old PC still runs great, now it's my wife's computer. From the moment I touch the power button until I am looking at the Windows desktop it's about 6 seconds. The four flying color in DOS don't even complete to make the Windows logo when starting up! Even restarting the computer only takes about 8 seconds. This computer work great right out of the box, it is very quiet and runs cool.
Here is the configuration that I ordered it in:
i7-3770
16 GB Ram
AMD 7950 graphics card
160 SSD (It's an Intel model 320)
1TB secondary hard drive
Blu-ray writer
DVD drive as second drive
This computer is awesome... takes everything I've thrown at it & hardly breaks a sweat...for the price there's not much better out there.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP ENVY Phoenix 800-070st Desktop PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Real choices?

PostedSeptember 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Washington DC
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
If you bought a car or a home you are offered all the options before buying- why not the same when you buy a computer. True super fast these days requires a SSD card rather than the standard HD.
HP could really make money on expanding the options- even a year after purchase they could profit on " Hardware improvement ". This would also create product loyalty...
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP ENVY Phoenix 800-070st Desktop PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not what it used to be.

PostedSeptember 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Arizona
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I can not believe the so called keyboard and mouse you send now. worthless. I have used HP products for years, and this might make me look elsewhere.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP ENVY Phoenix 800-070st Desktop PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice powerful machine at a reasonable price

PostedAugust 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Clermont Florida
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
I would recommend going with the sold state drive on this build to round out a near perfect build. After receiving the HP ENVY Phoenix 800-070st I upgraded the memory to 32 gig also. In doing so l was impressed with the quality of this build. The power supply wires were all shrouded which you only see on top end builds. Also the liquid cooling was very impressive. After doing a processor stress test the maximum temperature it reached was 52 degrees C. Also the Beat audio is far superior to most standard on board sound processor.
The boot time on this computer with the SSD is 17 second. This is very impressive. Also after doing a little research I was happy to discover that the mother board will accommodate the 6 core intel processor should one decide to upgrade in the future.
My recommendation is to make sure you go with this model over the less expensive models without the liquid cool. I previous order and return one of these models that had the 4770 processor. This build was not available with the liquid cooling and actually ran at 85 C during the same stress test. Although this is the 4th generation processor and slightly faster at a lower clock speed, it really needs the liquid cool. If you are into gaming or video processing this is a good computer for both.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP ENVY Phoenix 800-070st Desktop PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

okay sofar

PostedAugust 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:eagle, id
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
okay so far, has only crashed twice in the first two weeks. Probably software issues not hardware.
Seems like the idea of "new" has taken over the concept of User Friendly. The software is becoming more complicated to navigate in part because the hardware can now handle more commands and operations. Wrong direction. I used to be able to turn off an app in one click, now turning off an app seems impossible.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP ENVY Phoenix 800-070st Desktop PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

New box good, new windows not so much

PostedJuly 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Baltimore MD
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I really like the Envy for gaming and web surfing. the only real problem is the new windows 8 interface and lack of support for the apps and browsers
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP ENVY Phoenix 800-070st Desktop PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding computer.

PostedJuly 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:California
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I use my desktop primarily for the Internet and for digital photography. This machine has the power, storage, and speed necessary to work efficiently with large digital files in sophisticated editing programs such as Photoshop. The installed graphics card also renders large photographic files quickly with the necessary resolution and color accuracy. Needless to say, it is an outstanding general purpose computer as well. It all worked perfectly out of the box and is a very good value.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP ENVY Phoenix 800-070st Desktop PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Gaming machine for the money!

PostedJuly 4, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Dearborn Mi.
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this PC! The power, the graphics and the speed are as good if not better than any machine in this price range. My Bose speakers have never sounded this good, thanks to Beats audio. Many great features. Thank you HP for putting together the ultimate PC!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP ENVY Phoenix 800-070st Desktop PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very loud fan

PostedJune 29, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Dearborn, MI
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The main fan of this computer is roaring loud. It's like a jet engine going mad. I returned this computer. I read a lot of complaints about the same problem on the forums of hp.com
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP ENVY Phoenix 800-070st Desktop PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

better than advertised!!!

PostedJune 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:South Point, Ohio
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What an upgrade. Was using a HP pavilion running Windows XP. Still was working great, just slow & pretty much obsolete soon. Treated myself to this fine, awesome desktop & am totally happy, thrilled with it. Paired it with a new HD monitor from HP. Little over $1000.00 for the pair on sale. Couldn't be happier. Would recommend to anyone. Would never own anything but an HP. Have a customer for life!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP ENVY Phoenix 800-070st Desktop PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very satisfied with purchase and computer

PostedJune 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Goshen, Indiana
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I ordered my HP E h9 Phoenix desktop computer online with the HP Home Office Store on 5/13/2013 and received it on 5/24/2013 without any issues or problems. it arrived with a lot of unwanted games and software that took some time to uninstall. Other than that the setup went smoothly setting up my prefences, installing programs and updating Windows 7 files.
I selected this computer because I felt it offered the most for the price, suited my needs and didn't have Windows 8 OS. My primary interest is in editing pictures, video files and flight simulators.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP ENVY Phoenix 800-070st Desktop PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very satisfied

PostedMay 31, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance is great, no issues with with hardware.
My only complaint is that it came bundled with Norton Anti-virus.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP ENVY Phoenix 800-070st Desktop PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

minor problems

PostedMay 28, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Orlando, FL
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very happy to find a PC that comes with Windows 7. That's what I use at work and so I want to use it at home too.
One minor frustration- keyboard numberic keypad default is ARROWS instead of numbers, So I must remember to hit "Num Lock" before typing in my password. I've tried two suggestions from message boards so far, but the instructions were incorrect. I'll probably keep trying; but it's not really important.
PC came with two memory boards (slots 1 & 3). System information told me that I had 4G RAM, so I bought 8G more. PC would not boot with added memory in slots 2 & 4. Discovered that both new 4G boards worked in slot 4 (giving me 8G). So I replaced the OEM in slot 1 with new 4G board. Thought I'd have 10G but System information said I had 12G; so I thought I had a bad OEM board or a bad slot. So I tried OEM RAM in slot 2 and System information said 16G! So I'm guessing RAM in slot 1 wasn't fully seated.
Usual headaches loading new software and getting accustomed to Office 2013, but it is fun to start with a blank slate.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP ENVY Phoenix 800-070st Desktop PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Cheap parts.

PostedMay 24, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Needs a better graphics card to keep up with the competition.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP ENVY Phoenix 800-070st Desktop PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A very powerful machine with outstanding features

PostedMay 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Little Egg Harbor, NJ
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The HP Pavilion HPE h9-1215t Phoenix Desktop PC will do everything you need and want to do and more. From simple everyday e-mail operations to high performance gaming, the h9-1215t Phoenix will do it with ease. The only down side was that it did not have Bluetooth. Bluetooth had to be added separately from an outside vendor.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP ENVY Phoenix 800-070st Desktop PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I'm enjoying it!

PostedMay 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well I expected to hate Windows 8 but I really don't. Some features of the OS are just weird and unnecessary but overall, it's ok. The computer runs the video games I bought it to run and I haven't had any software conflict issues. I'm really liking the hardware so far. Only been a few weeks but all is well so far.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP ENVY Phoenix 800-070st Desktop PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

OK hardware, Horrible customer service

PostedMay 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Michigan
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Used the HP web site to configure myself up a brand new PC.
Placed the order and when it arrived, the monitor that was shipped with the PC would not connect to the tower. They did provide a cable, but it would not connect to my monitor.The web site provided no warning of this. In this state, the PC is unusable. Called customer service and after a very lengthy phone call, they told me tough luck, go buy the proper cable.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP ENVY Phoenix 800-070st Desktop PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works great

PostedMay 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Lynbrook,NY
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very powerful computer for a relatively inexpensive price tag. All Steam games work well and the Beats audio is excellent. I may upgrade my monitor to an HP IPS 27" also. A lot of HP bloatware, but thats expected. RAM upgrade too expensive (cheaper to add it yourself).
Delivery date was protracted, but got here eventually.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP ENVY Phoenix 800-070st Desktop PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very Quick Machine

PostedMay 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Rochester, NY
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The computer was very easy and quick to setup. The processor is amazingly fast. Numerous connection points with USB2 and 3 ports. The liquid cooler is quiet and the machine seems to run cooler than if it had fans. All in all a nice desktop.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP ENVY Phoenix 800-070st Desktop PC (ENERGY STAR)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good performance, but irritating noise

PostedMay 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Santa Clarita, CA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
This computer was intended to replace a 5-year-old HP desktop, which was very quiet. In spite of the liquid cooling, the H9-1215T has an irritating hum from the fans. Otherwise, performance is satisfactory.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.