HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP TouchSmart 520-1100z Desktop PC

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP TouchSmart 520-1100z Desktop PC

HP TouchSmart 520-1100z Desktop PC
Overall rating:
4.651 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(63 reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 63 reviews
5 Stars
47
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
60 out of 63(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP TouchSmart 520-1100z Desktop PC
Review 1 for HP TouchSmart 520-1100z Desktop PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not happy!

PostedOctober 1, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:NC
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Bought this touchscreen 21/2 yrs ago, had a service contract for 2 yrs.
Loved it, but then the screen went blank, nothing, not repairable, cheaper to but a new one, and worst of all, tech support wanted a credit card # before they would offer assistance. Guess what going elsewhere for my next computer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP TouchSmart 520-1100z Desktop PC
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

This product is slower than my old pavillion that

PostedMay 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Rockaway, NJ
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I am having trouble with the touch screen. It works some time and not others. The touch screen I saw in the stores and tried worked by just touching the screen. This one does not. It took 2 and half hours to produces recovery disks. The broken one that I got first was faster and the touch screen worked better. Your tech support talked me into this one and I am not impressed. I still don't know if I am going to keep it
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP TouchSmart 520-1100z Desktop PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

noisey and questionable featured

PostedMarch 31, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Hot Springs VG., AR
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I purchased this computer for it's screen size, (23"), for use in photo printing and building dvd shows. I don't like the touch screen being able to be in the background and ready. I'm sure that I am out of touch with the folks that use these features. My particular machine becomes noisey and internally the hard drive rubs. I then need to change the angle of the screen and all back or forward to stop the noise.
I do like the fact that my older programs and my epson photo printer are useable and any updates that will come won't negate this.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP TouchSmart 520-1100z Desktop PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Neat idea space saver

PostedOctober 28, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Bentonville AR
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have only touched the surface of what this PC can do..I am looking forwards to getting into all the features it has..For now I like what I see. The speakers are the only thing I see that could be improved for me anyway. They don't seem to be as loud and full, perhaps due to the fact they are all in one line. I hooked up peripheral speakers, ahh they sound much better. The features are pretty neat, the touch screen is cool, needing to get used to the fact it can do that I always seem to reach for the mouse. I like the "wire free" unit. Only one wire for power..to me that is awesome. I have a hard time with a messy desk top so the photos and other things on the screen need to be organized. I will learn about that when I can ..I am usually on the regular type desk top. I think HP his on the right track with this idea, I am sure they are taking this idea to new levels...I like what I see so far. Have no complaints, like I mentioned haven't really dove into all the features yet... Thanks for the opportunity to voice my opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP TouchSmart 520-1100z Desktop PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So far so good

PostedMay 11, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Easy to set up. Data transferred was easy. Had it two weeks now. Got rid of all my wires. My HP printer did not work with IE 9 so had to revert to IE 8.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP TouchSmart 520-1100z Desktop PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

love it

PostedApril 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:New Jersey
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The people in customer service were very helpful calling is the way to go . I love the product the touch screen I think is not as sensitive as i would have thought but still nice the kids love drawing with it.I I would recommend puting the TV option on the kids will love to watch movies on it the screen is plenty big enough for that.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP TouchSmart 520-1100z Desktop PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Satisfactory

PostedApril 16, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I am enjoying my new computer, but its been an interesting journey.
I first purchased this machine on QVC. However, that itteration did not have a HDMI input which I wanted to use to view my HD cable channels. While discussing this matter with HP tech support, I found that I could get a faster machine with more memory and storage buying directly from HP for less money. As a result, I sent that machine back to QVC, and ordered the upgraded machine from HP, including the HDMI input.
Well, I love the new machine. The screen produces vibrant images, it's fast, and I really like the touch screen feature. There are numerous capabilities which I have yet to discover, but i'm enjoying what I know to date; with one big exception:
The HDMI input.
The HDMI device appears to be an after-market add-on, and when in use, you only have use of the HDMI device. All computer function is disabled, and control is limited to the option buttons on the HDMI input device. I guess I was hoping for some kind of split-screen control, where I would still have use of the computer.
And, after connecting the cable box, I was unable to connect to the cable box signal without attempting the connection multiple times . . sometimes as many as 20, before it would pick up the signal. I would quite frequently get an image of the TV signal right before it would automatically switch back to PC mode after displaying a "no signal" message. Well, this just became a pain in the butt, so I've given up on using my computer to watch my cable TV, and will purchase a stand-alone TV.
Needless to say I was very dissappointed with this feature, and the tech people I spoke to could not help me.
I switched back to connecting the cable directly to the computer and the Windows media center works perfectly; I just can't get my premium cable stations using this connection.
I have no complaints regarding the computer function, in fact am very happy with the performance. I love the all-in-one feature, but with the separate keyboard, which is much easier for me to use than a laptop. And the overall footprint is not much more than a laptop, so it works perfectly on my desk next to my work computer.
Overall I think this is a terrific machine, and would recommend to anybody wanting a larger screen than a laptop, but with a similar footprint.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP TouchSmart 520-1100z Desktop PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good purchase

PostedMarch 28, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Maryland
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have had the PC for only a couple of weeks now, but I feel very satisfied.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP TouchSmart 520-1100z Desktop PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great but some program problems

PostedMarch 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Cleveland, Ohio
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We purchased our 520z through HP shopping. Love the machine but have some problems with certain programs. Both HP Notes and HP Photo are programs that supposedly give you the opportunity to "create magnets" and place them onto the "magic canvas". Well you can create the magnet, but no matter how I trieds, the "magnets" will not go on the magic canvas. I tried dragging and dropping, and also clicking on the create magnet button and clickiing the upper right hand corner of the note or picture. Nothing works, It works in other programs such as the video program, but not in either of these. After 3 and 1/2 hours of online chat with HP support, no resolve. Very disappointing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP TouchSmart 520-1100z Desktop PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

DESKTOP COMPUTER

PostedMarch 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
THIS TOUCHSMART DESKTOP IS AN EXCELLENT DESKTOP COMPUTER, HOWEVER, THE STATE OF THE ART QUAD PROCESSOR IS SLOWER THAN MY OLD DUAL CORE PROCESSOR. IS THERE A DIFFERENCE IN QUALITY OR AM I DOING SOMETHING WRONG?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP TouchSmart 520-1100z Desktop PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

touchSmart 520z customized

PostedFebruary 11, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very good system. The touch smart features need to be understood.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP TouchSmart 520-1100z Desktop PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good deal for the money.

PostedDecember 25, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Philadelphia, Pa.
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Purchased it two weeks ago. Easy to set up. Touch Smart features are great.
The 23 inch screen is outstanding.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP TouchSmart 520-1100z Desktop PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

520 Touchsmart

PostedDecember 11, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Canton Ga
Gender:Female
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Had to restore the computer after loading the mail capability. Delivery was total confusion. The computer itself is, as always, an HP with innovative technology.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP TouchSmart 520-1100z Desktop PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very Pleased

PostedDecember 10, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Winston Salem, NC
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am happy with the HP touchsmart 520 PC. Transition of my data and program was one of the easiest that I have had, inhibited only by Widows 7. The equipment works seamlessly. The touchscreen seems to be the wave of the future. The monitor screen is excptionally and I find the HP better for watching DVDs than my television. I have Bose computer speakers, which provide excellent sound, and usually play classical music from one of the on-line FM stations.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP TouchSmart 520-1100z Desktop PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Like it fine, but....

PostedDecember 4, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I like a lot of the features. Very thin on provided applications, perhaps because there are so many "touch" applications. The "magic" background works very poorly with the touch. It mostly won't scroll and then suddenly goes whoosh. So very uncontrollable. Touch doesn't work well if you set your text to 150%. Seems OK with 125%.
Mostly good. Setup with Windows 7 was very easy, unlike Vista which crashed and crashed during setup. Not sure I like everything "7" but that's not HP's fault. I mostly fault the inconsistancy of the touch.
The big screen is very nice, but it's very heavy compared to Dell. It won't work for using during music gigs, like I'd like to use it. Too bad. But until I run into anything else, I would probably recommend HP.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP TouchSmart 520-1100z Desktop PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Best product

PostedOctober 22, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:JP
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:Under 25
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is best product I ever purchased, it is vary easy to handle and vary pleasant to use.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP TouchSmart 520-1100z Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing computer

PostedFebruary 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:LA, California
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This computer is very amazing, it is like a 23" Smart Phone. The HP Magic Canvas makes the Desktop like my Android phone, where you can scroll the desktop screen making it huge. You can toggle between the Magic Canvas and a regular Windows desktop but I prefer the Magic Canvas.
The touch feature is great. Anything you can do with the mouse you can do with your finger. I tried it on several websites and the touch feature works great.
This computer is also super fast. The screen resolution is very very good. The computer is very compact, so much so that I have it in my kitchen desk/nook.
Very pleased. Wouldn't buy any other brand.
User submitted photo
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP TouchSmart 520-1100z Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

PostedOctober 15, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Niceville, Florida
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My HP Touchsmart is great and does everything. The picture is so vivid. I can navigate so easy from website to website with ease. I was a little skeptical because some other customers said it was loud but mine is quiet. I'm using it for school and can't wait to see how it will do with all the projects. It's a good computer and investment as well. I recommend it to anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP TouchSmart 520-1100z Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome machine

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:SE Massachussetts
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
sily see why it has a 5 star rating . Once set up was completed I set upon the windowa 7 learning process and checking out all the features. Literally blown away by what this machine can do. Had one little glitch though. Inserted an MS card into the card reader to download some pics and it ate the card. Took a half hour to get it out with a pair of tweezers. Will use a USB card reader until I get this problem resolved with HP.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP TouchSmart 520-1100z Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great value!

PostedAugust 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:hendersonville,nc
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This computer so far seems like a GREAT buy. Good quality, beautifully packaged as a all-in-one with nice HD flat screen monitor. The touch screen so far was really fun to use especially when planning a road trip. I highly recommend this easy to set up and use desktop. I used "microsoft easy transfer" to wirelessly send all of my windows vista laptop music and photo files to this windows 7 system without a hitch.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.