HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP TouchSmart 520-1100z Desktop PC

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP TouchSmart 520-1100z Desktop PC

HP TouchSmart 520-1100z Desktop PC
Overall rating:
4.651 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(63 reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 63 reviews
5 Stars
47
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
60 out of 63(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP TouchSmart 520-1100z Desktop PC
Review 1 for HP TouchSmart 520-1100z Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing computer

PostedFebruary 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:LA, California
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This computer is very amazing, it is like a 23" Smart Phone. The HP Magic Canvas makes the Desktop like my Android phone, where you can scroll the desktop screen making it huge. You can toggle between the Magic Canvas and a regular Windows desktop but I prefer the Magic Canvas.
The touch feature is great. Anything you can do with the mouse you can do with your finger. I tried it on several websites and the touch feature works great.
This computer is also super fast. The screen resolution is very very good. The computer is very compact, so much so that I have it in my kitchen desk/nook.
Very pleased. Wouldn't buy any other brand.
User submitted photo
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP TouchSmart 520-1100z Desktop PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Neat idea space saver

PostedOctober 28, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Bentonville AR
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have only touched the surface of what this PC can do..I am looking forwards to getting into all the features it has..For now I like what I see. The speakers are the only thing I see that could be improved for me anyway. They don't seem to be as loud and full, perhaps due to the fact they are all in one line. I hooked up peripheral speakers, ahh they sound much better. The features are pretty neat, the touch screen is cool, needing to get used to the fact it can do that I always seem to reach for the mouse. I like the "wire free" unit. Only one wire for power..to me that is awesome. I have a hard time with a messy desk top so the photos and other things on the screen need to be organized. I will learn about that when I can ..I am usually on the regular type desk top. I think HP his on the right track with this idea, I am sure they are taking this idea to new levels...I like what I see so far. Have no complaints, like I mentioned haven't really dove into all the features yet... Thanks for the opportunity to voice my opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP TouchSmart 520-1100z Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

PostedOctober 15, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Niceville, Florida
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My HP Touchsmart is great and does everything. The picture is so vivid. I can navigate so easy from website to website with ease. I was a little skeptical because some other customers said it was loud but mine is quiet. I'm using it for school and can't wait to see how it will do with all the projects. It's a good computer and investment as well. I recommend it to anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP TouchSmart 520-1100z Desktop PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not happy!

PostedOctober 1, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:NC
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Bought this touchscreen 21/2 yrs ago, had a service contract for 2 yrs.
Loved it, but then the screen went blank, nothing, not repairable, cheaper to but a new one, and worst of all, tech support wanted a credit card # before they would offer assistance. Guess what going elsewhere for my next computer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP TouchSmart 520-1100z Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome machine

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:SE Massachussetts
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
sily see why it has a 5 star rating . Once set up was completed I set upon the windowa 7 learning process and checking out all the features. Literally blown away by what this machine can do. Had one little glitch though. Inserted an MS card into the card reader to download some pics and it ate the card. Took a half hour to get it out with a pair of tweezers. Will use a USB card reader until I get this problem resolved with HP.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP TouchSmart 520-1100z Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great value!

PostedAugust 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:hendersonville,nc
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This computer so far seems like a GREAT buy. Good quality, beautifully packaged as a all-in-one with nice HD flat screen monitor. The touch screen so far was really fun to use especially when planning a road trip. I highly recommend this easy to set up and use desktop. I used "microsoft easy transfer" to wirelessly send all of my windows vista laptop music and photo files to this windows 7 system without a hitch.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP TouchSmart 520-1100z Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I have enjoyed the product since I unpackaged it

PostedAugust 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wasn't sure if I wanted to go back to a desktop...but I am glad I did. I have enjoyed the touchsmart 520 since day 1!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP TouchSmart 520-1100z Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lovin' it..

PostedAugust 1, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Jacksonville, FL
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was counting down the days until I received my new hp all in one. It replaced an old Dell laptop that was about to die any day. The screen is amazing, I can see even more pinterest posts than I could ever imagine at one time and it is fast. I love the minimalistic look it really makes my desk clutter free which is good for an OCD person like myself. I haven't really played with the touch screen, still seems odd to touch the screen and most times I am sitting at the desk using the keyboard and mouse and don't really need to use the touch feature. But it definitely adds a cool factor. New visitors seems to be jealous and I have been recommending it all my friends and family.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP TouchSmart 520-1100z Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The ease of setup was amazing...

PostedJuly 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Alabama
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was so pleased with how quick and easy the setup was. You really do simply take it out of the box, plug it in, and follow the simple set up directions that pop up on the screen. I was online and working in no time...stress free computing!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP TouchSmart 520-1100z Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth your money

PostedJuly 18, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Planet, Earth
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
With the upgraded graphics card (I believe the Nvidia gt540) it runs almost any game in high quality. No real performance issues. The HP Carousel is fairly slow, and not useful to begin with, but otherwise the touch controls are fine. I would not go with this as a gaming pc, because it is hard to upgrade and not really built for gaming to begin with, but as I said, the gt540 lets you run most games very well. Convienent, has a fun touchscreen, and worth your money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP TouchSmart 520-1100z Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Everything about this is easy!

PostedJune 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Tallahassee, FL
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I upgraded my video card so that I could play World of Warcraft. It plays beautifully!!! I love the ease of setup and plan on traveling with this computer. Bought a rolling garment bag that it fits in beautifully so I get the laptop experience with tons more benefits.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP TouchSmart 520-1100z Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product and great price

PostedMay 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:WY
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
No trouble setting up. Lots of great features. Delivered ahead of schedule
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP TouchSmart 520-1100z Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Compy!

PostedMay 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This Computer is great! The price for it is excellent as well and you can customize what you want in it if you buy online! The touch screen is awesome too if you dont want to use your mouse or keyboard (you can also use you finger to write on the computer). Highly Recommend, I am able to play SIMS 3 on here on high quality and it has no problems! It also saves space and since the screen is big it makes watching TV shows and Movies so much better!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP TouchSmart 520-1100z Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

An Amazing New Techology

PostedMay 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Maricopa, Arizona
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This computer opens up a new world of computer techology. It is really an
amazing machine. It is extremely fast and very user friendly. I am very satisfied with my purchase. The computer is priced right compared to other models. And no other company has better tech support than HP
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP TouchSmart 520-1100z Desktop PC
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

This product is slower than my old pavillion that

PostedMay 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Rockaway, NJ
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I am having trouble with the touch screen. It works some time and not others. The touch screen I saw in the stores and tried worked by just touching the screen. This one does not. It took 2 and half hours to produces recovery disks. The broken one that I got first was faster and the touch screen worked better. Your tech support talked me into this one and I am not impressed. I still don't know if I am going to keep it
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP TouchSmart 520-1100z Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well designed for overall use

PostedMay 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Fort Lauderdale
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speed, excellent accessories, programs and ease of use highlight the value of the 520ZX computer
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP TouchSmart 520-1100z Desktop PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So far so good

PostedMay 11, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Easy to set up. Data transferred was easy. Had it two weeks now. Got rid of all my wires. My HP printer did not work with IE 9 so had to revert to IE 8.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP TouchSmart 520-1100z Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent all in one computer

PostedMay 3, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent features,beautiful design. Great Value.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP TouchSmart 520-1100z Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Glad I bought it!

PostedMay 2, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Campbell, CA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:40-54
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent product. Looks great and performs lightening fast. The touch screen is a huge hit with the grandkids. The touch smart applications are great! We considered the iMac but after comparing price for features, HP was the clear winner.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP TouchSmart 520-1100z Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

touch screen?

PostedApril 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Chandler, AZ
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
As a whole the unit works very well. It set up three different devices which the MS compatability test said would be problematic but set them up in no time. That's probably the Windows 7 working.
So far the touch screen has not shown itself to be of much value although it did add about 100.00 to the cost.
The screen, 23", gives a very clear picture.
All in all, I like it a lot but might forego the touch screen if I were to do it again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.