HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP TouchSmart 520-1140t Desktop PC

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP TouchSmart 520-1140t Desktop PC

HP TouchSmart 520-1140t Desktop PC
Overall rating:
4.535 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(43 reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 43 reviews
5 Stars
33
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
38 out of 43(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP TouchSmart 520-1140t Desktop PC
Review 1 for HP TouchSmart 520-1140t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedAugust 9, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:AZ
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product is great. It's fast and the most easy computer to set up I ever had. It's great not having to have a seperate CPU sitting on the floor gathering dust. These all in one computer are the way to go. Highly recommend this product to anyone looking for a new computer
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP TouchSmart 520-1140t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent!

PostedOctober 17, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:southern Illinois
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I custom ordered this PC with the 3.1 Ghz Intel I-7 quad core processor coupled with a 256gb solid state drive (SSD) and 8gb RAM. This PC is a solid and fast performer. The PC cold boots within 30 seconds. So far so good with the applications I have installed and used so far. The all-in-one design is clean, stylish, and eliminates a lot of desk clutter. Since I have a networked attached 1TB HD for long term file storage the relatively smaller capacity size of the SSD is not an issue.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP TouchSmart 520-1140t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

PostedOctober 17, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Ontario, CA
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
I have had this for over a week now, and so far I am loving it. Set up was so easy; i just followed the prompts on the screen and i was working on it in no time. I love the wide screen because i can work with two or three windows at a time. So far i have not had too much chance to use the touchscreen extensively, but i have tried it and it is a very nice touch. I still need to use a stylus if i want precision when choosing links, but it is so cool.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP TouchSmart 520-1140t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Featues, Very easy to set up and use.

PostedOctober 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Cincinnati, Ohio
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this computer (Touchsmart 520-1145t) for my wife who has a lot of experience using tablets. This is perfect for her. It was so easy to set up and once she got used to the touchscreen it was really intuitive for her to use. Excellent screen quality, very bright and vibrant.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP TouchSmart 520-1140t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Machine - HP Support Very Helpful

PostedAugust 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Philadelphia PA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I'm a long-time Dell User buying first HP machine. Very satisfied with tech support. All India so far but very knowledgeable about both HP hardware and software. No problem there.
This Touchsmart system makes a great first impression. 23" screen is amazing. Machine is fast with I5 optional processor. No complaints.
HP did an admirable job providing recovery capabilities. More than compensates for the bloatware they installed.
It was very important to me to have at least 6 USB ports and to HP's discredit most of the reps I spoke with confirmed that it only came with two 3.0 ports on the left side. I wouldn't have bought it if that were true but I happened onto a schematic of the motherboard which clearly shows 4 2.0 USB ports on the rear. Their "specifications" as shown on the web site are incorrect for most Touchsmart models.
The wireless keyboard/mouse combo does not have an obvious "receiver". Their setup instructions are non-existent but did have a picture indicating insertion of the receiver as a requirement. Turns out it was preinstalled by the factory in a hidden compartment on the back of the case. It uses a motherboard port so that you still have 6 USB ports available.
I would recommend their Touchsmart series of machines to anyone but especially to a person using a computer for the first time. It's set up well and will assist their learning process.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP TouchSmart 520-1140t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

it is working well but..

PostedAugust 1, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
the "smart screen" does not work really well ... but it is good product at competitive price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP TouchSmart 520-1140t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Didn't work

PostedJuly 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:La Porte, IN
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
It came with a bad hard drive & wouldn't even boot up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP TouchSmart 520-1140t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Beautiful Product

PostedJuly 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Ohio
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Only reason it's not a five star is that quality control needs to be beefed up. The receiver for the mouse and keyboard was not included and caused a three day delay in installing the system. The problem was quickly resolved after I talked to supervisor in support. Unfortunately the lady answering the phone intially was completely unintelligable.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP TouchSmart 520-1140t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

PostedJuly 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This computer is great, comes with a built in camera and everything, fast processor, great touchscreen technology, and came with a free xbox. Overall very satisfied with the product, and would reccomend it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP TouchSmart 520-1140t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great touchscreen experience

PostedJuly 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Cary, NC
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love the 23" screen, so clear and the definition is amazing. The setup could not have been
easier. I was up and running 15min. after the computer was delivered. The touchscreen
aspect is wonderful, a couple of taps and I can review my e-mail without ever touching
a mouse or keyboard. It has only been a little over a week, but I'm convinced this computer
was the perfect choice!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP TouchSmart 520-1140t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great buy and have great features

PostedJuly 11, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Silver Spring, MD
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is an excellent product and has great features. Setup was great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP TouchSmart 520-1140t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome computer

PostedJuly 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Albuquerque
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance exceeds expectations. Touchscreen monitor provides unusually sharp resolution; great for one having moderate visual limitation. All-in-one takes up no more space than a large laptop;
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP TouchSmart 520-1140t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Finally works.

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Henderson KY
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Product did not boot on initial installation. First "Intel" based computer in 20 years. Other five computers were AMD machines which all have run without problems for years until hard drive failure. This is the third computer I have ordered from HP shopping online. Repaired machine seems to be performing to expectations. I HATE windows 7; give me back XP.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP TouchSmart 520-1140t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I enjoy this computer more than any other I owned.

PostedJune 28, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Skagit Valley, WA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is very good computer in most areas. The only thing is, the touch screen sometimes freezes up.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP TouchSmart 520-1140t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedJune 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Lake Tapps, A
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quick and easy setup and performs better than expected. Love the crisp screen, sixe and compact All in one features. Used a wireless router to connect the printer and internet access Added a simple subwufffer and the sound is fantasic. I also like the wireless keyboard and mouse. great product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP TouchSmart 520-1140t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice machine

PostedJune 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Lincoln City, Oregon
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We have only been using our Touchsmart 520 in our bookshop for a few days, but so far it is great. I am mostly surprised at how sensitive the screen is. Not only nice, but really fun. Also nice to save so much space behind the counter.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP TouchSmart 520-1140t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful Computer

PostedJune 9, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Monte Vista, CO
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had been watching the touchsmart computers for 6 months just waiting until I could figure out what one I wanted. I LOVE not having a tower. The speakers that are part of the computer work just fine for me. Now IF I listened to music from the computer, I might want to buy speakers. This was EXTREMELY easy to set up, I had no issues doing it at all. Set up & was ready to go in about 10 minutes. I'm still working my through programs understanding them (all that is new with windows 7)..........hopefully the learning curve isn't too too hard for me to learn! Love this computer & have had no issues with it at all. Quiet & beautiful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP TouchSmart 520-1140t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HP Touchsmart 520-1140t

PostedJune 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Central Florida
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It was difficult to choose between a tower and All-In-One, but I am totally satisfied with the Touchsmart. I ordered the 520-1140t with 6Gig memory, NVIDIA GeForce 520m video card, and TV Tuner with remote. Regular 5-7 day shipping was free and easy.
The 520 comes with many touch and fun features and setup was super easy. It was an instant hit with our 19 year old granddaughter as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP TouchSmart 520-1140t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The all in one is a great space saver.

PostedMay 24, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Dyersburg, TN
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I like the all in one touch screen. I would have preferred a quad four processor but this model did not have that option. The processor is a bit slow for what I need but it will work. I would have been just as happy with an all in one that did not have the touch screen but the screen size was too small and it does not offer the memory and hard drive that I wanted.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP TouchSmart 520-1140t Desktop PC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

TouchSmart 520t - good machine

PostedApril 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Bay Area, CA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Age:55+
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What shocks me is that any reasonably mid-to-high-end computer is being put out on the market without any HDMI outlets. That was not a showstopper for me, obviously, but this is a standard feature on even cheap laptops. There's no reason not to do it. Plenty of USB ports, though. The Dr. Dre/Beats Audio - dubious as I am that this is little more than a boosted bass - still does at least sound better than anything else using built-in speakers.
All-in-one computers are expensive for what they are - but I was buying the totally wireless aspect of the machine. I needed a big screen, small footprint and good speakers for my music notation software but I also needed the ability to move to any location in the house within range of my router without lugging a bunch of cables and peripherals around. When I'm done, I shove the unit behind my couch.
The only thing I wish this (and other all-in-ones) would accomodate is the ability to turn the monitor in a portrait orientation for use in working with documents. That's not an HP issue though. My desktop monitor does this and is great for working on music scores and anything else that is based on portrait display.
Sales and Service was excellent when ordering the machine. Delivery was prompt. Really, it is a good machine and HP was a breeze to work with. The HDMI thing is a minor complaint but my wife said she would have walked away from HP over that.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.