HP Ratings and Reviews
HP Recommends Windows.

Customer reviews for hp HP Pavilion 14z-b100 Sleekbook

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

hp HP Pavilion 14z-b100 Sleekbook

HP Pavilion 14z-b100 Sleekbook
Overall rating:
3.611 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
3
1 Star
1
13 out of 18(72%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP Pavilion 14z-b100 Sleekbook
Review 1 for HP Pavilion 14z-b100 Sleekbook
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

very frusterated

PostedApril 30, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I enjoy the computer if i could use it, I've had to buy two chargers for the stupid thing! and for some reason best buy and staples don't carry these chargers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP Pavilion 14z-b100 Sleekbook
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Laptop is great, but windows 8 is not

PostedApril 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Rochester, NY
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The touch pad is super touchy, i.e. the app screen will sudenly zoom in when using the touch pad. I don't care for windows 8, however thw desktop app somewhat solves that problem: except they forgot to include the start menu on the desktop. It would also would be nice if you could start in the desktop mode. The only reason I bought this laptop was my other one was 11 years old. I have owned an iPod Touch for 3 years and was almost going to but an iPad or iPad mini (wish I had) as MS Surface is to spendy & I wanted to stay with windows (what a mistake) to be compatable with my two HP desktops I own. I quess it's time to start thinking about Apple.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP Pavilion 14z-b100 Sleekbook
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Ok Laptop but windows 8 is horriable

PostedMarch 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I like the look of this laptop. and the fact that it is so light weight. However, Windows 8 is so unuser friendly that it completely takes away from the good aspects that this computer has.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP Pavilion 14z-b100 Sleekbook
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Basic Laptop

PostedMarch 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
As a college student spending time surfing the web and watching movies as well as using my laptop for my classwork, I'd say this is a good computer for the lower price. I really like windows 8, after taking some time to get used to it, and the computer itself is very lightweight and easy to carry around. If you aren't looking for something to use every minute, but need every day this is a good choice.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP Pavilion 14z-b100 Sleekbook
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor

PostedMarch 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Iowa
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I can't seem to get my computer to work in a functional way. I'm pretty sure it's the Windows 8. I absolutely HATE it!!! The page I'm on will disappear & another takes its place. Then I can't find my original page. Sometimes the URL box is on the top; sometimes it's on the bottom. When it's on the bottom, I can't close the window. I cringe every time I have to open my laptop! HATE IT!!!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP Pavilion 14z-b100 Sleekbook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Desktop replacement

PostedMarch 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Baltimore, MD
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
I shopped and waited for a laptop that was in the $500 range and still had the memory and clock speeds that I need both for school and to replace my ancient desktop build. I am no gamer, but I do like to run multiple browsers and my financial software at the same time... all while connected to cloud media files. This Sleekbook build with 8Mb RAM @ $500 was enough to impress my IS classmates. My brother is envious and wishes he could have one at the same price.
I am pleased, indeed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP Pavilion 14z-b100 Sleekbook
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

solid but somewhat slow

PostedMarch 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Bellingham, WA
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
This computer is significantly slower than my two-year-old higher-end pavilion computer. I wish I had spent a bit more for a more powerful machine. Otherwise, it ran well and set up fairly easily. I've been running it completely on a wireless network and its performance may be better if connected to ethernet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP Pavilion 14z-b100 Sleekbook
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A Very Portable Sleek-Book

PostedMarch 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Provo, UT
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This product is very good in terms of portability in an every-day use basis. Its lightness and dimensions make it easy to carry it around. You won't even feel you're carrying a notebook in your backpack!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP Pavilion 14z-b100 Sleekbook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great performance and quality from a sleekbook.

PostedFebruary 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Lexington, KY
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I LOVE this laptop. It's lightweight and has great performance. A major upgrade from my previous laptop. The keyboard is very responsive. The screen has a great appearance. Everything that I need without the bulk. This has nothing to do with the laptop itself but, Windows 8 I could do without. My screen flips to different tiles and screens while I'm on a web page. Love the laptop.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP Pavilion 14z-b100 Sleekbook
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

One Disadvantage

PostedFebruary 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Petaluma, CA
Gender:Female
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I just recently got this laptop and I found the only disadvantage is the fact that I had to purchase an external dvd drive.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP Pavilion 14z-b100 Sleekbook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love my Pavilion Sleek Book!

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Visalia, CA
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love my new Pavilion Sleek book! It is sleek looking, as well as being lightweight. I also love the Windows 8 Tiles. However, I am disappointed that there is no application that comes with the computer for creating documents.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP Pavilion 14z-b100 Sleekbook
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Power chord connection design flaw

PostedJanuary 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Sleekbook was lightweight and had desired features. However, my sleekbook was not able to get power from the power chord 3 days after purchase. The power chord connection to the notebook is poorly designed and even felt unreliable even on the initial successful use. Was not impressed with Windows 8 in first 3 days of use. Decided to ditch the sleekbook and try another model.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP Pavilion 14z-b100 Sleekbook
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Everyone commented how light it was

PostedJanuary 4, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Frisco TX
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Everyone that picked up the laptop was amazed at how light it was. For an entry level notebook in the sleekbook/ultrabook market, it was a good deal at a great price. Windows 8 takes some getting used to, but the laptop comes pre-installed with most of your must have applications so set up is really plug and go.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP Pavilion 14z-b100 Sleekbook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Happy with this Sleekbook

PostedJanuary 4, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:North Haven, CT
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was purchased for my 15 year old daughter. She loves it. She went through the set up process on her own and had no problems. She loves it! It's only been a week, but so far so good. The weight and size make it easy for her to bring to school.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP Pavilion 14z-b100 Sleekbook
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nice laptop, but slightly lacking in performance

PostedDecember 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Cleveland, Ohio
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Its not a bad laptop at all. Looks very nice among those at similar price and size. Once I received it, I noticed one thing. Its fairly slow when multitasking. It seems to slow down quite extensively when I try doing 2 simple things at once. It is just fine when I do one thing at a time. The lack of performance brings it down to 3 stars for me. If it was a little better, I would give it a 5 star.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP Pavilion 14z-b100 Sleekbook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good for just about everyone

PostedDecember 2, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Arizona
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've had this computer for a few weeks. Yes, it's not like I'm a long time user. I am upgrading from an 8 year old Dell Inspiron. My wife has a 2 year old Inspiron and the new HP knocks its socks off. It is faster, smaller, lighter and the keyboard is much better. The keyboard is the "key" for me as I am a writer. This laptop runs Office very well and I hope I get a few years out of it. Good features for the price ($365 retail is what I paid) and runs what I use it for and does it as well as my buddy's $1200 ultrabook and not much heavier or bigger (atleast not $700 worth). It is stylish enough where you will not get the sneers at the coffee shop or in the board room. If you are on the fence, get it. You will not be disappointed.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP Pavilion 14z-b100 Sleekbook
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Flimsy Build

PostedNovember 28, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Huntington Beach, Ca
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Sent this one back. Really, plastic hinges ? For sure would not last long. If it has to be all plastic at least make it a thicker plastic. And Windows 8, not for me.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP Pavilion 14z-b100 Sleekbook
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good for office work

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:jagdalpur
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
i bought this laptop last week its good in speed but windows 8 is not to familiar like vista and 7 basically problem is with windows 8 and amd processor is not good as Intel not good for gaming but good for office use and is very light and portable .
quality of hp is the best very nice display and average battery backup ,cost effective.But RAM is less as per new trend
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.