HP Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At HP
Shop Calculators or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for hp HP 12C Financial Programmable Calculator

hp HP 12C Financial Programmable Calculator

HP 12C Financial Programmable Calculator
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(70 reviews) 69
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 70 reviews
5 Stars
55
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
6
62 out of 70(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for HP 12C Financial Programmable Calculator
Review 1 for HP 12C Financial Programmable Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

25 Years And Still Going!

PostedNovember 8, 2010
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Sedona, AZ
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought my HP 12C in 1985 when I started in real estate. It has been my financial calculator for 25 years and has never failed. I think I've only had to replace the batteries twice in all that time. It easily handles all real estate, banking, mortgage lending, investing and any other financial calculations you can think of. If you're so inclined you can program it for particular problems that you do repeatedly.
This is such a great calculator that I'm thinking of buying another one, just in case my 25-year-old stops working. (It's shown no such signs, but I wouldn't want to be without it.) If you're thinking about buying a financial calculator, look no further. You won't be disappointed with this one.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HP 12C Financial Programmable Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HP-12

PostedApril 4, 2009
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought one of the first HP-12's out (I think it was 1978 & cost
$119.95). I still use it today as I have every day since then. I have been a real estate broker, appraiser, & mortgage auditor. I have even taught classes in the use of the HP-12. The use has been terrific ! I have a couple of programmed functions I use all the time. The numbers have worn off the back; HP has replaced the pad several times, but the calculator never fails. It is impossible to outdo this unit for the money. Howelse could it still be in production this long?
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HP 12C Financial Programmable Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Calculation Corrections

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've used this product for almost 20 years for financial and accounting applications and it remains as reliable as ever. For those who referenced incorrect mortgage calculations, you have your settings programmed to calculate at the 'Beginning' of the monthly billing cycle, rather than the 'End'. To change, simply press the blue 'G' key and then the #8 key (end). In your scenario, the $200,000 mortgage at 5% interest for 30 years will result in $1,069.12 if you have it set to calculate at the Beginning cycle or will result in $1,073.68 if set to calculate at the 'End' cycle. You can toggle between Beginning and End cycles by pressing the blue 'G' key then pressing 7 (for Beginning) or 8 (for Ending).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HP 12C Financial Programmable Calculator
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Flawed keyboard

PostedJanuary 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Salt Lake City, Utah
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Sticky keys!
To Temporarily fix it Reset the device by powering on while holding the minus sign. Make sure to hold the minus key for at least 10 seconds after releasing the ON button or else the sticky key syndrome returns.
I wish I realized the sticky key problem sooner so I could have returned it during the one year warranty period. I also that wish they still made the scientific version that let's you delete one digit at a time instead of clearing x entirely.
My 30+ year old 10c and 11c scientific calculators are FAR SUPERIOR made in USA products. They operate perfectly still to this very day.
The new 12c financial calculator is completely unreliable because of the sticky key problem. For example, enter 1 2 3 then look at the screen it will indicate 112233..
BEWARE!!!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HP 12C Financial Programmable Calculator
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

miss calculation

PostedSeptember 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Houston
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
I am in real estate and use hp-12c to calculate mortgages and other financial calculation for clients and am surprised that I have not been sued yet. THIS CALCULATOR GIVES OUT WRONG ANSWERS, FOR EXAMPLE $200,000.00 MORTGAGE AT 5% OVER 30 YEARS THE CALCULATOR'S ANSWER IS $1,069.19, BUT THE CORRECT ANSWER IS $1,073.68 OR 300,000.00 AT 5.875% OVER 15 YEARS THE CALCULATOR ANSWER 2,499.12 AND THE CORRECT ANSWER IS 2,511.36.
I own 2 HP-12c and they both give out the wrong answer. I figured this out when I bought my own house and noticed a big difference in my actual payment with hp-12c's number and ran the numbers in the MS-Excel. Excel's number match my actual mortgage payment.
Am I not using my HP correctly or HP is that careless?
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HP 12C Financial Programmable Calculator
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

The display is bad

PostedAugust 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Connecticut
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
In natural light the display is difficult to read. Numbers appear where they should not and the comma shows through the period. It's blurry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HP 12C Financial Programmable Calculator
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fast 12C, flawed keyboards from CY factory

PostedJuly 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Exeter, Znh
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
The HP 12C, now in "+" form 150x as fast as original HP12C. The HP 12C remains the icon of financial mastery even today, and the lightening fast speed is a delight. Production runs from the Inventec CY factory (with the large % sign) can have unresponsive or sticky keys, though. Mine repeats numbers. I have used HP 12C's daily since the USA 1982 model. Other manufacturers may have calculators that run PV's, but only HP made a real-world financial calculator.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HP 12C Financial Programmable Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HP 12C

PostedJune 28, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Kelso, TN
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
I have used the HP 12C since the mid 1980s and prefer the 12c over other calculators. My first 12c worked for more than 20 years before being damaged and replaced. The 12c Platinum does not come close to the original as since 2009, I have had to replace three (3) of them that became unreliable. Of course, I am going to buy another HP 12C, but hope to get more than two years use from it. It is still the best.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HP 12C Financial Programmable Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Still the best one out there.

PostedApril 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Jupiter, FL
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I started using the 12C in 1974 while working for a Big-8 Accounting firm. I still use one today and just purchased my 4th one. They last a long time. I even have a 12C app on my iPhone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HP 12C Financial Programmable Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

None better

PostedFebruary 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Chicago, IL
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've used this calculator for 30 years. Hasn't changed (except the speed) and it doesn't have to. Perfect for the financial or business pro.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HP 12C Financial Programmable Calculator
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Cheap compared to old one

PostedJanuary 25, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Have owned a 12C since 1983. Dropped my old one, thought I woud replace and use old one for backup. New one feels cheap, keys don't work, case is useless. It's going back and I'm going to be very careful with my old 12C. Very disappointed.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HP 12C Financial Programmable Calculator
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't buy it -

PostedJanuary 4, 2013
Customer avatar
Name:
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
It's not made in us like original keys are not hard like original but tommy, printed on so it will wear out not encasted like original but it does looks like the original a little bit !!
Don't waste your money it won't this calculator won't last like the original famous HP12C
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HP 12C Financial Programmable Calculator
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

this one works

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love the new 12c I just bought directly from HP. I had one bought for me at work last year and the keys were double entering numbers from day one. Hopefully this one will not have that problem. My first one bought in 1982 lasted 29 years! And I finally dropped it too hard, otherwise it would still be working.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HP 12C Financial Programmable Calculator
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Calculator=Great, Case=Not

PostedJuly 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:SE Texas
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Latest generation of calculator seems to process faster than my 7 year old predecessor (which I lost). IRR functions are quicker. Good thing the calculator is really works well, because the case is in a different class. I hate the case. It’s cheap, thin, vinyl material. It doesn’t hold its shape where I can easily reinsert the calculator without having to squeeze it in. The case was stuck to the package when I opened it. Peeling it off the package left material on the case, which will not come off. Now I have line running the length of the case. My old case was much better quality. Geez HP, I’m willing to pay top dollar for the unit. It would be nice to have a case that was of equal quality to the calculator.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HP 12C Financial Programmable Calculator
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Quality Concerns

PostedJune 17, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Clayton, CA
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have purchased several HP 12cs over the years but I'm afraid the quality has slipped substantially. When I opened my recently purchased 12c, the black 'pleather' case was stuck to the packaging and whatever black man made material was used to make the case came off so I have a case that is marred on a brand new unit! Still a fan of the features and functionality but the quality concerns are disappointing to say the least.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HP 12C Financial Programmable Calculator
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Commercial Real Estate Calculators

PostedApril 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:So-Cal
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Primary use:Business
Age:40-54
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I was told by many commercial real estate agents to buy the H.P. 12c calculator, it was worth the money and was a 'must have!' After purchasing it, I learned that it had limitted preprogramed functions for real estate and had nothing that a commercial agent would most commonly need for investment properties. i.e. R.O.I., Cash Flow, C.A.P. Rate, etc. Instead it was mainly for financing of loans, depreciation, and renting vs. owning affordability. Had I known that I would have to program it for commercial stats, especially having to learn how to program it which is unique in itself, I would never have bought this item. In fact, I am going to sell it to another person in the next class I take. If I can get my money back, I'll purchase instead the "Qualifier Plus IIIFX" for $79.95 + taxes, which does have the basics for commercial investment properties and it looks better. Technology has changed since the 12c was introduced in the 1980's and getting a calculator specifically designed for real estate is better than a financial calculator that can be used for commercial real estate.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HP 12C Financial Programmable Calculator
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great tool, but fix the buttons

PostedFebruary 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've been using a 12C for 25 years - its a great tool. When sadly mine went missing (this one after at least 15 years), I was pleased to see it is still available and immediately ordered one. It is in all respects the same calculator except for the feel of the buttons. I know it may seem fussy, but these buttons have a cheap, tinny, hollow feel to them when pressing - not nice. The previous model, by contrast, had a very solid feel.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HP 12C Financial Programmable Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very nice calculator.

PostedOctober 30, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wanted a good financial calculator that fits in my pocket nicely. This calculator fits perfectly, has all the functionality I need and is not heavy. It has a solid feel to it and is easy to use. My smartphone also does financial calculations but it is just not as nice as using my HP-12c.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HP 12C Financial Programmable Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best calculator

PostedOctober 9, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Location:Santa Monica, CA
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Primary use:Business & Personal
Age:55+
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have just gotten a HP 12C calculator and am completely satisfied. The reverse Polish notation is excellent for anyone who is serious about numbers. I have been happy with my prior HP calculators including the models 35,45,55, 67, 32SII,and 11C. To my mind, these calculators have been overwhelmingly important to my work and investing, second only to the development of the microcomputer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HP 12C Financial Programmable Calculator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Since MBA School

PostedSeptember 26, 2011
Customer avatar
Name:
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The calculator itself is ok, but the leather case is much too snug.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.